We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, but clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Ilikai Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #14 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Lake Elsinore, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No frills, but clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel and room was very clean and maintained. However, the rooms are outdated. Other side of the coin is that the room was much larger than the modern standard room and contained a small kitchen. Hotel is a short walk to Waikiki Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    568
    503
    124
    33
    21
See reviews for
411
498
64
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We are loving our stay at the Ilikai- it is a beautiful hotel in a great location- steps to the lagoon and beach, and walking distance to restuarants and grocery stores including Wal-Mart, which is critical when travelling with a family. We used our kitchen to cook for 18 of us, also barbecued at a nearby park a couple of times. We enjoyed the open air restaurant downstairs for breakfast, dinner, and just stopping in for a drink! The laundry rooms are very convenient. The staff here is very helpful and accomodating, and the room was always well cared for! This is a beautiful hotel and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We rented a Condo through VRBO.com (#103015). The price was fair. The unit was fantastic! Very comfortable bed. Nice TV. Kitchen with pans, flatware, dish-ware, microwave, 4 burner stove, dishwasher etc. The place is clean and includes everything you need for a week or two at Waikiki. The condo has secure, fast internet with a nice HP printer with scan feature.

The Ilikai is in a great location and this 20th floor unit has a great view of the ocean and marina.

The owner was great to work with from day one when we made our reservation. I high recommend rental of this unit. I know we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here last May and loved it! Clean room - easy beach access - amazing review all a round great hotel!

The hotel is located in a great place - though it's downtown you still get the quiet feel when you're at the beach or lagoon. Easy access to the street and beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room and hotel location were perfect for our mother/daughter get-together. Nearby was the beautiful Ala Moana beach, park and shopping on the Ewa side with interesting/attractive beach and grounds on the Diamond Head side - all nearby but nicely separated from nearby "touristy" Waikiki but yet was very tourist friendly. Room was very quiet and parking was convenient - all supported by a helpful/efficient/friendly Staff. Will not hesitate to recommend the Ilikai to anyone!

Room Tip: Room was perfect in every way for my daughter and I, especially with the beautiful ocean, Ala Moana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was awed by the picturesque view of the Ala Wai Harbor and the Ala Moana Beach! So beautiful!
The spaciousness and interior furnishings of the room allowed for my granddaughters to feel very happy and comfortable.
Chester, at the front desk, really came through in giving us a fantastic room, fit for royalty.
The friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff were noticeable and greatly appreciated.
The hotel's location is perfect because it is close to restaurants, stores, and the beach.
As locals, we don't stay in Waikiki very often, but we loved staying at the Ilikai and will return again! We will definitely recommend that our friends and family stay there!

Room Tip: "Higher floors have an awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent our evenings eating and having cocktails at the bar and grill. Big comfy rooms. Great staff. Great laundry facilities and all you want in the room. There was a charm about this place. I would come back here any time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai
Ilikai Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to AlaMoana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large 120 sq. ft. lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. Amenities include a heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.