We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun and beach for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sun and beach for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was our first time bringing our 3 kids age 4,8 and 10 to Hawaii. Our first impression at the Ilikai was that the front desk staff Marie and Riccia were very helpful. They really went out of their way to help us settle in. Our ocean front room on the top 25th floor had absolutely gorgeous views of the beach and marina. It was spacious, airy and clean. The beds were very comfy. The child friendly lagoon beach is just a few mins walk from the hotel. The kids loved this beach just right beside Hilton Hawaiian because there was no large waves and the water was fairly shallow at most places with tiny fishes swimming around. Just opposite the hotel are lots of food eateries, very convenient. The hotel pool is heated and is crowded on weekends. There was an unpleasant encounter with one of the regular pool users from the apartments that share the pool. We got into the pool at 8.30am( by our watch time), not knowing that the pool clock showed 8.25am. There were only 2 ladies using the pool at the time. This lady in her 60's went up to my 8 year old who was in the water and told her off saying hotel guests were only allowed to use the pool after 8.30am! Luckily the pool management staff David was very nice and smoothed things over. Other than that, we had a great stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to families with young children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    599
    141
    38
    25
See reviews for
508
573
72
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Ilikai last week just before beginning our cruise. I booked it for the price and the reviews here. The hotel is on the edge of Waikiki but not far from the attractions. The beach is inconvenient. THe price was right for the city. The first room they gave us was very musty. After complaining I was given another room which was passable. There was a bit of mustiness about it but opening the terrace doors aired out the room. The staff was very nice and accomodative

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here with family and it was a really good stay. Check in was a breeze. They have complimentary discount coupons to nearby establishments (forgot to use so can't comment too much on it) and free wifi everywhere. The room was very spacious and clean. It's not new but it's maintained. There's a microwave in the kitchen, which is a big plus. It's not beachfront but it's just right beside Hilton Hawaiian which is a beachfront hotel. The beach near it is also not that busy if you want some quiet time. They also provide beach chairs and towels. There's a bus stop right outside the hotel so it's pretty easy to get around Waikiki or Oahu for that matter. Ala Moana Center is just a 10 min walk away as well. Overall, would recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

First visit to Hawaii did not disappoint. Hotel famous for appearing in opening shot of Hawaii 5-O series. Lovely room balcony view of lagoon on beach, which provided excellent view of Friday night firework display on lagoon beach which was marvellous. Could not fault hotel at all , could perhaps do with a little coffee shop /cafe but bar served excellent meals and really good prices. There was a laundry room on each floor with washing machine and tumble drier both at $2.50 each . Entertainment on terrace a few nights a week. Few other restaurants in walking distance particularly liked the OUTBACK a couple of doors away. Hawaiian Village hotel next door had Luah's most night on the roof of their car park which we could also see from our balcony so we enjoyed a free show. Transport is easy the pink trolly line costs $2 and you get off where you like or just do the circuit. There are also 2 other lines which go to the outskirts of Waikiki .Buses - fare is $2.50 how ever far you ride and hotel gave us a list of bus nos and their destinations. Pearl HArbour is a must and don't worry if you have kids as there are some guns and submarine sections that they are allowed to climb on. Really moving experience.
Wifi at hotel was excellent and free. Main part of Waikiki beach is obviously busier with loads of shops etc which are open really late. Weather was superb around 30o with a nice breeze. Unfortunately the hotel had several empty shops which although we did not want to shop did not look so good . The little supermarket on site was reasonably priced and lots of people took food to their rooms as many like ours had a kitchenette with fridge cooker microwave etc.
Really pleased with out choice of hotel in Waikikit

Room Tip: Ask for a room on lagoon side - better views than harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent one night at the Ilikai. Knowing it was in the opening credits of the "old" Hawaii 5-0 television show, I was not sure how "current" it would be but decided to go with the majority of TA posts whoch praised it.
Our nicely updated room was immaculate, and the beds were very comfy. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff, and check-in and check-out were smooth and easy. We would certainly stay there again! Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at condo 1904 and liked it very much. I had a very early flight in and was on a plane for 3 days, so it was great that I was able to get an early check in and could rest. The condo was in good condition and the views are awsome.
The kitchen etc was all in perfect order. I stayed in the condos before and love the idea of walking to the beach, see the Hilton fireworks and be close to the action without being right in the middle of it. The food at the Ilikai Grill was nice and they to take away as well.
I had a problem with the TV (I am technically challenged:-) and someone came immediately to help me sort things out.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ilikai Hotel Condo 828 from May 30, 2013 to June 5, 2013. The condo was truly home away from home. We were so comfortable there. Everything was nice, check in and check out was hassle free, the condo itself was neat & clean and in a great location. We could not have asked for anything more. I look forward to coming back and staying here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.