We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Ilikai Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #18 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A decent place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Ilikai last week just before beginning our cruise. I booked it for the price and the reviews here. The hotel is on the edge of Waikiki but not far from the attractions. The beach is inconvenient. THe price was right for the city. The first room they gave us was very musty. After complaining I was given another room which was passable. There was a bit of mustiness about it but opening the terrace doors aired out the room. The staff was very nice and accomodative

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    613
    540
    132
    34
    22
See reviews for
452
529
68
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here with family and it was a really good stay. Check in was a breeze. They have complimentary discount coupons to nearby establishments (forgot to use so can't comment too much on it) and free wifi everywhere. The room was very spacious and clean. It's not new but it's maintained. There's a microwave in the kitchen, which is a big plus. It's not beachfront but it's just right beside Hilton Hawaiian which is a beachfront hotel. The beach near it is also not that busy if you want some quiet time. They also provide beach chairs and towels. There's a bus stop right outside the hotel so it's pretty easy to get around Waikiki or Oahu for that matter. Ala Moana Center is just a 10 min walk away as well. Overall, would recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

First visit to Hawaii did not disappoint. Hotel famous for appearing in opening shot of Hawaii 5-O series. Lovely room balcony view of lagoon on beach, which provided excellent view of Friday night firework display on lagoon beach which was marvellous. Could not fault hotel at all , could perhaps do with a little coffee shop /cafe but bar served excellent meals and really good prices. There was a laundry room on each floor with washing machine and tumble drier both at $2.50 each . Entertainment on terrace a few nights a week. Few other restaurants in walking distance particularly liked the OUTBACK a couple of doors away. Hawaiian Village hotel next door had Luah's most night on the roof of their car park which we could also see from our balcony so we enjoyed a free show. Transport is easy the pink trolly line costs $2 and you get off where you like or just do the circuit. There are also 2 other lines which go to the outskirts of Waikiki .Buses - fare is $2.50 how ever far you ride and hotel gave us a list of bus nos and their destinations. Pearl HArbour is a must and don't worry if you have kids as there are some guns and submarine sections that they are allowed to climb on. Really moving experience.
Wifi at hotel was excellent and free. Main part of Waikiki beach is obviously busier with loads of shops etc which are open really late. Weather was superb around 30o with a nice breeze. Unfortunately the hotel had several empty shops which although we did not want to shop did not look so good . The little supermarket on site was reasonably priced and lots of people took food to their rooms as many like ours had a kitchenette with fridge cooker microwave etc.
Really pleased with out choice of hotel in Waikikit

Room Tip: Ask for a room on lagoon side - better views than harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent one night at the Ilikai. Knowing it was in the opening credits of the "old" Hawaii 5-0 television show, I was not sure how "current" it would be but decided to go with the majority of TA posts whoch praised it.
Our nicely updated room was immaculate, and the beds were very comfy. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff, and check-in and check-out were smooth and easy. We would certainly stay there again! Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at condo 1904 and liked it very much. I had a very early flight in and was on a plane for 3 days, so it was great that I was able to get an early check in and could rest. The condo was in good condition and the views are awsome.
The kitchen etc was all in perfect order. I stayed in the condos before and love the idea of walking to the beach, see the Hilton fireworks and be close to the action without being right in the middle of it. The food at the Ilikai Grill was nice and they to take away as well.
I had a problem with the TV (I am technically challenged:-) and someone came immediately to help me sort things out.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ilikai Hotel Condo 828 from May 30, 2013 to June 5, 2013. The condo was truly home away from home. We were so comfortable there. Everything was nice, check in and check out was hassle free, the condo itself was neat & clean and in a great location. We could not have asked for anything more. I look forward to coming back and staying here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a fabulous location. We had a wonderful stay at the Ilikai during the last week of May and the first week of June. Our unit was clean, nicely decorated and well kept. We had a wonderful view of the beach and lagoon. The hotel is steps from the beach. There are loads of restaurants within walking distance. We loved the location and were very happy with our unit.

Our only complaint would be the pool. The pool is older, but well kept and quite quiet. There are two or three condo owners who put their towels on the chairs under the only permanent canopy each morning hours before they arrive and then when they finally arrive the two or three older women run to the attendant every time someone jumps gently into the pool, leans on the divider rope or brings a floaty into the pool, yet two of the three women have floaties. They are relentless and talk loudly about "the Guests". They made sitting by the pool uncomfortable and unenjoyable. I watched dozens of people leave each day because they were basically run out of the pool because of these condo owners. I have never seen such militant pool rules. These women should realize that their unwelcoming and rude behavior is discouraging people from returning to this hotel. We spoke to dozens of guests who were very upset about this. We felt horrible for the pool attendants who had to enforce such silly rules. I agree that people should not be being rowdy and jumping lots, but leaning on a rope?

Room Tip: Make sure you're either beach view or marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Ilikai Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.