We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lanai with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ilikai Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ilikai Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Long Beach CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lanai with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We got an ocean view room which was an excellent choice. We spent most of our time on the balcony. The room was large and quiet, and everything worked. We had an enjoyable meal at the bar and grill, and enjoyed the friendly staff. The fireworks from the Hilton next door were a fun bonus. Loved the convenience store right in the hotel, and the small fridge and microwave were a pleasure to have.

Room Tip: If they offer to upgrade you to a higher floor for $10 a night, do it! We got a view of Diamond Hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    560
    135
    34
    24
See reviews for
460
537
68
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I went to hawaii for three weeks to get married and my honeymoon. After travelling to three islands this was a great end to the trip. Great location. We paid for an ocean view room which over looked the lagoon at the Hilton and the ocean. Very unique. We were walking distance to everything. The staff were friendly and helpful. We both decided to have a 1 hour massage before we checked out and it was a amazing I would highly recommend there spa. Will be staying at this hotel in the future when we return. Valet parking was 28dollars and you could leave your vehicle up until 11pm the day of check out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Convenient location, decent rooms for the price, excellent service, the bar & grill was a good value with some excellent meals (some not so good), nice pool. We stayed in the private condos, which get you a better price than the hotel itself, so my review is based on that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked this hotel for a 1 night stay before our cruise. We were coming in at 4 pm so I just wanted a clean quiet place to stay. What I got was a huge room huge bathroom , great view of the
MArina at a reasonable rate. We checked in, went to the 0utback for dinner, which is across the street. McDonald's and ABC stores were all very close by. We could not see the Friday night fireworks at the next door Hawaiian village, we should have gone down. It were exhausted due to
Jet lag. We woke up at 5;30 am to see the pride of America in the harbor. At 6 am we sat on our balcony ate our surprisingly good McDonald's breakfast , got our car from the valet $28 and went to Pearl Harbor . Since it is towards t he end of Waikiki it was an ez out. It did take an 1 1/2 hours
To get from the airport to the hotel because of some closing of roads due to a bomb scare. I could
Have walked faster. My husband preferred this hotel over the one that we stayed at after the cruise. It was in the middle of Waikiki and the area was very busy. It was also more money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in March 2013 and booked a sea view room with 2 double beds. It's a good hotel but there's nothing trendy or hip about it. What we enjoyed was the location (on the quieter side of Waikiki), view (24th floor),the good size of the rooms (probably because it's an older hotel) and the price.

The downside is the pool area which is adequate but nothing to write home about and is looking a little tired. It was mainly occupied by elderly permanent residents of the building and the kids weren't even allowed to jump into the pool - they aren't wild kids but do like to have a little bit of fun. There were never enough pool loungers for everyone - probably because it's a very large hotel and not much room has been allocated to the pool area.

I walked down Waikiki beach and wasn't terribly impressed with it but that might be because it was high tide and everyone seemed to be crammed onto a small section of the exposed sand.

If you are in Honolulu to shop then it's well located near the shopping complex which you can walk or take the trolley to. The trolley stop is outside the building (not to be confused with the bus stop) and it was a long time before we could actually get on one because they were mainly full. Most of the ones passing the hotel were privately run for Japanese tourists so we couldn't board them.

We tried out the restaurant on the top floor - the food was excellent and the view fantastic so try to get there for sunset dinner or sunset drinks and request a table with a view.

Stay here if you want space and a good location, but if you are looking for something a bit more swanky then try the Modern hotel next door ,although when I popped my head in there to have a look I noticed that all the double pool loungers were booked for VIP guests only - aren't all their guests VIPs?

Room Tip: when you book through the hotel website you can pay for an upgrade for room on a higher floor if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch new zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Husband and I spent 11 days at the Ilikai apartments after arriving in Honolulu on a cruise ship. We were very pleasantly surprised with our accommodation. The apartment was on the 12th floor. Had amazing views over the marina and out to sea. The furnishings were adequate, with the bed being very comfortable. Kitchen had everything we required and the bathroom had everything we needed plus very good storage space. The Ilikai is an older building but is in a great position. A short walk to the beach and a shorter walk to a lagoon which is excellent for swimming. Good restaurants nearby and walking distance to Ala Moana shopping mall. We have had a number of vacations in Waikiki and this was by far the best accommodation we have had and we much preferred this end of the beach. There is a great board walk along the sea to the centre of Waikiki. We booked through Ali'i Beach Rentals and couldn't have been more pleased with them. They went above and beyond to ensure we had a great vacation. We will certainly stay there again when we return to Waikiki.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the marina are very sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

when I was a little kid, I learned about the Ilikai from seeing it in the opening of Hawaii Five-O. I said then that "one day, I will go stay there." And that day finally came this year! I could not be happier with my stay. They have spruced up this old gem. the entrance and lobby are beautiful. there is a patio area overlooking the marina, with multiple tables/umbrellas, that is most inviting. the Rooms are nothing fancy, but they are very clean, very comfortable, with everything needed. The lanais are large and perfect for afternoon relaxation and enjoying an incredible view. The location is terrific, close to both the bustle of Waikiki and also the shopping of Ala Moana Mall. It overlooks the marina, a lagoon, and the Beach. The best thing about this hotel is the people. Everyone was incredibly attentive, helpful, and responsive. the only suggestion for improvement that I have is that the pool area could be enlarged and updated (though what they have is totally fine - it just pales in comparison to the next door Hilton Hawaiian Village pool.)
Overall though, I could not have had a better stay. I will certainly be back. and I would tell people considering this hotel to: "Be there. Aloha." - (Jack Lord - Hawaii Five-O)

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor room. the views are incredible. my room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Ilikai Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.