We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious landmark hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ilikai Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ilikai Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Glorious landmark hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

when I was a little kid, I learned about the Ilikai from seeing it in the opening of Hawaii Five-O. I said then that "one day, I will go stay there." And that day finally came this year! I could not be happier with my stay. They have spruced up this old gem. the entrance and lobby are beautiful. there is a patio area overlooking the marina, with multiple tables/umbrellas, that is most inviting. the Rooms are nothing fancy, but they are very clean, very comfortable, with everything needed. The lanais are large and perfect for afternoon relaxation and enjoying an incredible view. The location is terrific, close to both the bustle of Waikiki and also the shopping of Ala Moana Mall. It overlooks the marina, a lagoon, and the Beach. The best thing about this hotel is the people. Everyone was incredibly attentive, helpful, and responsive. the only suggestion for improvement that I have is that the pool area could be enlarged and updated (though what they have is totally fine - it just pales in comparison to the next door Hilton Hawaiian Village pool.)
Overall though, I could not have had a better stay. I will certainly be back. and I would tell people considering this hotel to: "Be there. Aloha." - (Jack Lord - Hawaii Five-O)

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor room. the views are incredible. my room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    570
    138
    37
    26
See reviews for
472
553
68
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 3 days after having a great experience in Maui at a condo. We stayed in a condo at the Ilikai. The furnishings were old and uncomfortable. There was very limited access to the beach. If you went to the pool, there were no chairs available unless you got there by 8:00am. The pool is too small for the size of the hotel!!! The air conditioning is a window unit instead of central air. The kitchen was not stocked with pans and utensils so you could not fix much in there. Even the TV was so small. I WOULD NOT RECCOMMEND THIS HOTEL AT ALL!!!!! The only thing I enjoyed was the balcony.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aloha,
You will be pleased to know that the Ilikai is building a second pool area with much needed loungers and gathering areas with fire pit that should be completed by end of this year. Being that you stayed in a private condo vs hotel, each one is stocked and furnished differently and sorry to hear of your disappointment with kitchen stock. Our hotel units are in the process of being completely renovated and you may wish to consider checking us during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a room with a kitchen facing the marina. The room was clean and had excellent housekeeping service everyday. Accommodations were basic and we had everything we needed, nothing fancy. The kitchen was clean and adequately stocked. The location was good as well with lots of shops, restaurant, etc. all on the same block. Hotel does not sit directly on the beach, but its maybe a 2 minute walk to the lagoon and the beach in front of the Hilton. My only real con was the noise from surrounding hotels and bars. If they had a band or music playing you can hear it from your balcony if not in the room on some occasions (but this was mostly during the day or evening). Maybe not the best place for a tranquil stay but overall a great hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Ilikai is not a bad hotel, I just wished they had paid a little more attention to detail. My biggest complaint was the fact that they used single pane glass in the rooms. Even though we were near the top of the hotel, you could still hear street noise. Waikiki is very busy. There's lots of traffic and delivery trucks are active in the morning. The beeping coming from those trucks could be heard easily. If you are a sound sleeper, this may not affect you. But if you're not, you'll find yourself waking up earlier than you want. The carpeting in the room was in need of updating and the pool is small for a hotel that size.

If you're not bothered by any of these, you will probably be fine at the hotel. It's nice overall, with an adequate restaurant and bar, but I would look around the area for other options before returning.

Room Tip: Stay in a room as far away from the main street as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We booked their 2 bedroom, seaview suite, which comes with 2 bedrooms, a living room, 2 bathrooms and a mini kitchenette.

The air-conditioner was weak and took a long time to cool down the suite. The bathrooms looked aged and bare, and the water pressure was weak. Another thing which I dislike was that the master bedroom's air-conditioner was directly facing the bed, and it was quite uncomfortable to have the cold wind blowing against your face and body the whole night long.

Another thing...this hotel compound doesnt provide any mineral water. There's a supermarket downstairs at the lobby level, and we had to pay and stock up our own mineral water.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHonolulu, General Manager at Ilikai Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aloha,
Sorry to hear your private condo was not up to standards and suggest considering staying with the hotel next visit as we are in process of refurbishing all units to new condition and have split unit air conditioners throughout all units that are both quiet and efficient at cooling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I both highly recommend staying at the Ilikai Hotel at the gateway to Waikiki. We found the very large and spaciously arranged rooms with a big balcony very relaxing and comfortable and for a relative bargain price!

Consider their available large rooms with a full kitchen too, which really comes in handy. This is especially so for longer stays where being able to cook on a full oven with stove top, as well as a Microwave in addition to being able to stock a full-sized fridge, makes the whole trip more easy going and saves a bundle on not having to eat out at each meal.

The staff was uniformly courteous, efficient and professional. Terry Dowsett, the Ilikai Hotel Manager, runs a solid and friendly ship there and it is perfectly located at the beginning of Wakiki for easy access to all that Waikiki, Magic Island and Ala Moana Beach Park has to offer. Not to mention, its only a stone's throw away from the huge Ala Moana Shopping center as well!

And all without being too cramped as some hotels right in the middle of Waikiki's Kalakaua avenue can feel.

The Ilikai Hotel offers the best bang for your buck that I know of in the area, and as a former 38 year resident of Oahu, I'm well familiar with the lay of the land in Waikiki.

S. Dickson

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

As a resident of O'ahu, I have stayed at many hotels in Waikiki. What impressed me most about my recent stay at the 'Ilikai was how everything went so smoothly: from room rervations to check-in. From the moment we stopped for on the hotel grounds, we were greeted and acknowledged by the staff and personnel. The rooms were immaculate and the view--breathtaking! We will definitely be staying here again. (Bonus points: this hotel is located on the cusp of Waikiki; therefore, you don't have to fight the crazy traffic, yet, one can begin their trekk into Waikiki from here without any problems)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Ilikai Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.