We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Ilikai Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #16 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Rosemount, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the condos at the Ilikai for 8 nights in March. For the price ($1400) & location, at the end of Waikiki beach, it's hard to beat. We had an ocean view, however a few blocks away, but still an ocean view at that. Even with 5 of us in the room, there was plenty of room. It was very clean & kept up well. The AC didn't work when we got there, but after a call to the Manager, they replaced it with a new one the same day. We ate at the bar & grill in the hotel & the food was excellent! The biggest downside is it's not right in the middle of all the action, but still only a mile or so away from the shopping & restaurants. If you want to stay at a place where you can simply walk outside & are on the beach, this isn't the place. However, if you want to save a few hundred to a thousand dollars, this is the place. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view, it's worth the ambiance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    603
    533
    130
    34
    21
See reviews for
441
521
68
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anten Mills, Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We rented a private condo on our second return to Waikiki via Waikiki Condo Rentals in the Ilikai Hotel & Suites. The private condo was # 520, was a nice clean studio upgraded but was still missing some things - futon in front of TV was terrible had to sit on bed to watch TV, the lanai was missing chairs so we couldn't sit out to eat but other than that it was a pleasant stay there except for having to deal with Scott the manager - whom I found VERY rude when I phoned for help and the fact that the check in/out times are just too rigid. It had a lovely view of the lagoon and the room was very quiet and clean. Due to our late flight times on our departure day, we were forced to rent a room in the hotel as we had to vacate the private condo @ 11AM. The staff in the hotel were VERY helpful and pleasant, especially Brandy at the valet parking desk. The hotel to us was perfectly located beside the Hilton Hawaiian, it was quiet and a nice walk to the busy shops through Fort DeRussy which my husband used for his daily jogs. Though not right on the beach it was a pleasant 5 min walk. We rented a Harley on our second day there and the valet staff were so helpful in securing parking for us. Highly recommend the coffee from the coffee shop in the lobby - local beans-was delicious & staff were very friendly. Also recommend eating at least once in the bar. We found the prices fair, the food very tasty and the service was exceptional. We would definitely return to this hotel

Room Tip: make sure you pick a room with an even number ie 520) The odd rooms overlook the mountain/street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Upscale setting at an affordable price. Super large rooms plus spacious balconies and a kid-friendly staff make this a welcome stop for vacationing families. The Ilikai is located at the west end of Waikiki, so away from the crowds, but a pleasant walk on the beach if you want to get to the excitement. Kid-friendly lagoon is a perfect ocean experience without the waves or deep water. Hotel pool is delightfully warm and adults only in the morning until 8:30 or so. They supply beach towels and chairs, so makes packing simple. We took only carry-on! Will definitely come here again! Also recommend Hikers cafe and Cheeseburgers -- both an easy walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Ilikai Hotel for 3 nights in one of the more affordable rooms with no ocean or marina view (303) but we were only in the room to sleep after our daily activities, so the view to the street wasn't an issue. The room was huge, with a kitchenette complete with blender, kettle, toaster, crockery, cutlery etc. The bed was large and comfortable and there was also a couch and armchair in the lounge area. There was no daily cleaning service, only the change of towels and removal of trash - which is fine by us as it was only for 3 nights. Plenty of towels, spare toiletries etc were available. Very conveniently located if you're there for shopping at Ala Moana shopping centre (10 mins walk) and about 20 minutes walk to Waikiki beach. A couple of ABC stores in the area, an iHOP, a couple of cafes, McDonalds and bars. There is a marina and a lagoon just in front of the hotel as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Ilikai last year and are looking to do the same this year. We booked the Ilikai because it is close to all that Waikiki has to offer. Close to the Ala Moana shopping centre, 10 minute walk to Waikiki beach. The rooms are spacious and have great views. It is nice sitting on the Lanai sipping a wine or beer of an afternoon. Great sports bar across the road. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Admittedly the rooms were a little old but for the price this was factored into our itinerary. We have always had a problem with the size of the pool it is a little too small for the amount of people that utilise it during the day. Overall though it is a great stay, that is why we keep coming back

Room Tip: Ocean view is great of an evening. You get to see the Luau next door at the Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband was assigned to work 2 days in Waikiki and we took two additional days for ourselves. The hotel staff was very kind and attentive. This hotel is old and does need some attention in the bathrooms and kitchen. Phone in our room was not working and needed repair. Room did not look clean due to age and bed was not comfortable. Pool area was not inviting and small. Easy access to the shopping mall and many other stores. Hotel unfortunately did not meet our expectation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside,U.K.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on 15th floor lagoon facing apartment and I felt like I had stepped into an advertisement for paradise. It was just heaven. The view was breathtaking, not just the fist time but every time I stepped on the oversized balcony. This was my location of choice and delight both early morning & early evening. It was amazing to see and feel the sun come up from that vantage point. Early evening gave a spectacular view of the Hilton Hawaiian Village luau & the torch bearers running around the village lighting the torches. General location at the Hawaiian Hilton Village is amazing. Stones throw from Waikiki Beach & shops in one direction & Ala Moana Mall on the other. The apartment had one room divided by a sliding door into a separate bedroom with a full size double on one side and a full size single on the other. Perfect for a family of three.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to AlaMoana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large 120 sq. ft. lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. Amenities include a heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.