We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here two nights in March before our cruise. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel given the reasonable price. We were upgraded, along with our friends to an oceanview room so we could enjoy the Friday night fireworks...which were great! The location was wonderful....the lobby and terrace area were delightful. The hotel is very close to the beach and the lagoon. We ate several meals in the hotel grill because the quality of the food and prices, plus the convenience were a pleasant surprise! We were staying 3 nights in Honolulu after our cruise and seriously considered cancelling our reservation at another hotel to stay here, we liked it so much.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view. It is somewhat limited, but delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    630
    146
    40
    26
See reviews for
530
596
74
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here last 2 weeks in Feb. Had an oceanview room on 25th floor looking out over the marina, lagoon and ocean. Decent sized balcony where we enjoyed breakfast every morning watching the surfers. Room was large with a comfortable very large king bed, large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and coffee machine (coffee provided). Two large wardrobes and a decent sized chest of drawers for storage. Iron and ironing board and a safe were also provided. Actual bathroom was quite small with shower over a very short bath,it was a bit shabby but functional. There was an outer area where I normally would have expected the sink to be but wasn't, just a large mirror and counter top. As most people have said the room was a bit tired looking and could do with a refurb. No real complaints about the room, the cleaner came in every day with clean towels etc. We left a tip for her at the end of the first week and near the end of our stay and its the first time that I have been thanked for doing this. Free WiFi worked well in the room. We thought the hotel was in a good position with regards to the beach and the Ala Moana shopping centre but it was a bit of a trek to the main Waikiki area. We did use the trolley service though which stopped just outside the hotel. We booked a couple of trips through the concierge who was very helpful. The only real negative was the pool which was very small considering the size of the hotel and it was difficult to find beds. The best positions were taken early in the day, usually by regulars, and we did see a lot of "booking" chairs with towels etc. Also we over heard someone saying that they didn't stay in the hotel but came to the pool every day. Overall we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean front as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in condo 828 at the Ilikai hotel over Christmas and enjoyed every minute. The accommodation was very comfortable for our family of three adults and one child. The kitchen is modern and easy to use. The bathroom was more than sufficient.

The view was spectacular en we were able to watch Friday night fireworks from our lanai. The laundry facilities on the same floor were more than adequate.

The hotel is within walking distance from the large Ala Moana Shopping centre.
I’ll go back I a heart beat.

Room Tip: A lovely Christmas holiday at a spectacular place. We stayed in Condo 828 at the Ilikai Hotel. Aloha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Best location ,close to everything . Really clean and well maintained. Enjoyed food,drinks and sevice at patio bar. Firework on Friday evenings was a plus. View and sunsets amazing. Hope to get back soon.

Room Tip: Try for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Check in was smooth and prompt. Had to Valet park our car, as only option available, at $28.00 per day which while efficiently managed rather pricey and made loading and unloading car a little awkard.
Room on 23rd floor overlooked other high rise buildings and road, not much else. It was definitely dated and in need of revamp but was clean and roomy. Bathroom also dated and a shower over small half bath. Free wifi worked well.
Have previously only stayed in condo's at opposite end of Waikiki and was looking forward to a different experience this end. View from other side to marina and ocean was very nice. Walk to central Waikiki was definitely further than I had anticipated after a busy day and meal and I would most likely not stay this end again by choice.
Housekeeping left a little to be desired with bed remade and towels changed but not much else,used glassed were left untouched, not washed or moved. Laundry was in constant use so not accessable with only one machine available. Small fridge and microwave which we did not use. Air conditioner blows on top of bed and needed to be turned down at night.
Overall I felt value for money was better staying in Condo at opposite end of beach like Banyan or Sunset and while satisfied with property would probably not stay here again.
Checkout was smooth and prompt.

Room Tip: View from non-beach side mostly buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Beautiful location- right on the beach and marina. Handy to lots of excellent restaurants, bars and shops. Walking distance to anything you could need. I had a beautiful spacious suite to myself, with a large balcony overlooking the marina and ocean. I was treated to amazing sunsets and magical sunrises every day. The staff were also so friendly and helpful. The housekeeping was excellent. I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Get a room on the opposite side to the Hilton, it is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my family of four. Our 2 bedroom suite was perfect for us. The second bedroom had two double beds which made my older children very happy. Lobby is quite a bit nicer than than the rooms, which were a bit dated, but super clean and comfortable. This is a great value for a suite and beats the heck out of the two room solution for a family of four. The location is ideal on the end of Waikiki beach proper--out of the crowd but still easy walk to the beach and the classic Waikiki stuff. Also right by Ali Moana park which is uncrowded and has a really nice protected lagoon and great views of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.