We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had five nights at this great hotel at the end of Feb. The hotel is located around half an hour from the airport and I caught one of the shuttle buses (Speedi Shuttle) from outside the terminal. A round trip will cost about $30 USD and doesn’t need to be booked in advance. As the hotel is located close to the airport as far as the “Waikiki strip” is concerned, I was the first to be dropped off.
I checked in at 0930 and was initially told the room wouldn’t be ready until 1500, which I was expecting. Just before the registration process finished they found a room and off I went (2440) on the 24th floor (25 in total, plus the Penthouse). The room was huge with a large king sized bed. The bathroom was also big with a bath large enough even I could submerge myself in at 6’3”. The bathroom can be split in two with a sliding door separating the vanity & bath from the toilet & shower. The shower cubicle was long but a little narrow so you found yourself rubbing against the shower curtain. I didn’t find this a problem and besides, the bath also had a showerhead on a flexible hose so that was the preferred option. The room had both a safe and bar fridge which was empty; a great idea so you can fill it with whatever you want and not worry about taking something supplied by the hotel. The room had a large balcony with a table and two chairs with an “ocean view”. The hotel has three wings, like a Mercedes Benz symbol effectively. I was on the south eastern wing (Diamond Head side) so looked across to the hotel opposite but to the right and below were the pool, lagoon and ocean beyond. To be honest as good as it was, I have learnt that you don’t generally spend a lot of time in the hotel so if you want an ocean view the beach is 2 mins walk from the foyer! Those on the south western side would have perhaps had a better view across the marina and the sunset beyond.
Reception have both beach towels and deck chairs which can be gained by swapping them with a card given to you at check in. There is free wifi in each room but I used the computer next to reception. It was pretty fast and free. There is a bar as well as a number of shops in the lobby area including a general store and sight seeing booking desk.
I found both the lagoon and ocean great to swim in but didn’t try the pool.
Outside the hotel can be found numerous shops and restaurants. Two minutes from the hotel at the large intersection can be found one of the numerous ABC shops which sells everything from cold drinks to t shirts to band aids. Also opposite the hotel are numerous rental car companies including Enterprise, National and Alamo (which I used). Ten to fifteen minutes walk away back towards the airport can be found the Ala Moana shopping centre which has most things you are looking for. A Walmart is another five minutes beyond it. Alternatively, the main strip is ten minutes walk along the beach or the road behind the hotel.
I only encountered one problem during my stay; the air con in the room worked great but I woke up to it rattling away in the middle of the night. A couple of strategically placed wads of paper solved the problem and I reported it early the next morning before heading out on a day trip. I returned later that evening to find the air con had been replaced by a completely brand new unit. Talk about service!
It was pointed out to me by someone staying at another hotel that the Ilikai features in the opening credits to the original Hawaii Five-O TV show. I found it on youtube; the main character is zoomed in on in the hotel and even my room could be seen!
The hotel isn’t the most glitzy or newest on the beachfront but it oozes character in all the right ways and I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending it; the staff are fantastic and I can’t wait to return!

Just a couple of other thoughts; if you hire a car head around the island in an anti clockwise direction as it is much easier to find a car park on the beach side and you are right on the ocean for most of the way. Diamond Head has a small car park so you may need to park outside the crater and enter through the tunnel Allow 30 – 45 mins to climb to the top depending on your level of fitness. Traffic in Honolulu during peak hour is horrible so avoid driving during these times.
I went to the Chiefs Luau which was great. Reviews I’d read noted the food wasn’t particularly nice. I thought it was ok; if you are looking for burgers and fries you are in the wrong place! I had a Royal Package which means you get table service and front row. It isn’t in big area so no need to be up front. Although it is only 25 mins from Waikiki, you spend an hour driving around before leaving downtown after picking everyone else up. The other options would be the same though if not worst due to their locations.
A local bus to Pearl Harbour will cost $2.50 and take around 1.5 hrs each way. I thought I’d be clever and get on the Pearl Harbour Express. It cost $30 return and took a change of bus and an hour to get there so don’t bother! We were left stranded on return so a couple of us split a cab which cost $40 USD. Get there early if you want to get to the Arizona Memorial; you my have to wait for your turn to get out there by boat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    599
    141
    38
    25
See reviews for
508
573
72
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We arrived for a 3-day stay at the Ilikai after an overnight flight from Fiji and although it was only 8 am our room was ready and the pleasant front desk staff quickly checked us in. The room was unusually spacious with 2 clothes closets, a large bathroom with separate tub and shower and 2 sinks, updated furniture with a bright and beautiful colour scheme, microwave and small fridge, and a wonderful balcony overlooking the marina and oceanfront. We were on the 25th floor with a panoramic view. Comfortable bed. Great TV. Bathroom could use updating but was perfectly acceptable. Swimming pool is small but the beach isn't far away and the hotel provides beach towels and chairs.

Ilikai's location is beside Hilton Hawaiian Village and provides access to the Hilton's features (restaurants, shops, gardens etc) without the hubbub of that over-crowded property. Ilikai concierge will give you a discount booklet that we used at several local restaurants. Location is within easy walking distance of the Ala Moana shopping centre and is at the more upscale end of Waikiki.

We would definitely book here again. Reasonable price for an excellent ocean-view room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narre Warren, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great hotel with wonderful service. Clean, well appointed rooms with excellent bistro. The ocean/pool view was outstanding and the walk to the beach only a few minutes. Easy to catch public transport from outside the hotel and only a short distance to the main strip in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Ilikai for 4 nights before we headed to Ko'Olina to stay at Disney's new resort the Aulani. This hotel is a bit smaller than other hotel/resorts along Ala Moana and Waikiki and it can seem a little out dated depending on what you consider out dated. It seemed to be a bit of an older hotel but to be honest, we had a great time. We had a suite at the Ilikai and it was more than we could have asked for. The room was huge it had a kitchen and an amazing view! The hotel is located at the end of what I like to consider "hotel zone" but on the bright side is closer to Ala Moana shopping center. The trolley which I think its $3 or $2 stops right in front of the hotel. The service was great and the valet was very helpful in terms of directions and recommendations. Also, on Fridays aka "Aloha Fridays" they have fireworks and the fireworks go off in the cove at the Ilikai so if you don't have a view from your room just head on downstairs and there it is. I don't think I've ever been that close to fireworks but it was such a memorable experience! All in all this hotel is great and is a bit cheaper than the other hotels but then again I think its because it seems to be a bit older and it is further from the "center" of it all like but isn't that far of a walk plus its nice with the Hawaiian breeze.

Room Tip: Great hotel on a budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I've stayed at the Ilikai several times throughout the past four years. I was born and raised in Honolulu (now living on neighbor island), so know the island very well. Although I have stayed at other outstanding hotels on Oahu, I prefer the Ilikai because of the following 1) special rates for locals; 2) parking is included in local rates most times and if not, parking is reasonably priced; 3) you can walk to two beaches; 4) Sarentos Top of the Ilikai Italian Restaurant provides one the the finest views of the ocean/sunset in Honolulu and the food/service is impeccable; 5) The Modern Hotel (sister property) adjoining the Ilikai boasts Morimoto's (exquisite service and Iron Chef meals at reasonable prices); 6) you are also in walking distance to other fun eateries across the street which locals frequent i.e. The Chart House; 7) Ala Moana Shopping Center is a 15 minute walk or 5 minute drive or you can take a free trolly service from the hotel to Ala Moana and other shopping establishments; 8) the hotel is at the "beginning" of Waikiki so there are many ways to approach it to avoid traffic in the rush hour; 9) rooms are very spacious and clean; 10) staff is always very polite; 12) rooms with full kitchens are available; 13) Rooms are very quiet if you get an ocean view or partial ocean view. The bottom line - the quality + price of the rooms, central location, ease to recreational spots/night life, ease of getting in and out of the hotel (valets are quick) make the Ilikai my favorite hotel on Oahu. I love the Ilikai because I can pull into the garage at night and not feel compelled to get in my car again to find fabulous food and entertainment just a short walk away. Beds are comfy, great pillows. The only downside is the air conditioner is usually aimed at the side of the bed blasting at the head - so you can try to request for another room configuration. Lastly, if you are not happy with your room management will find another accommodation. On two previous visits I was placed next to construction (renovating hotel) which was quiet over the weekend, however changed on Monday. FYI this is where the original Hawaii Five-0 filmed their opening sequence.

Room Tip: If you request an ocean view make sure you receive a full ocean view v.s. partial view. Also the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

...but that's about it. I love the proximity to the harbor and being away from the craziness of Waikiki. I liked how we were so close to Ala Moana Mall, easy to walk to. We were able to go back to the mall if we forgot to buy certain things. Foodland is at the mall, great place to get groceries.

Why the 3 stars? 1) parking 2) pool 3) laundry

Parking was valet only, $28/day with in/out service. Valet staff were awesome by the way, but who wants to spend $30+/day on parking (if you include tips)?! Parking at the next door Ilikai Marina was $20/day self park (i think it is in/out) or park in the street in the back about $1/hr.

The pool was super small and was crowded! No open chairs available when I went. The crowd was geriatric, not a very hip scene.

The laundry room was down the hall and required quarters. As a parent, being able to do laundry without planning and prep is a luxury and a must.

Although this dated hotel has it perks, next time I'll stay at a hotel/condo with free in/out parking, a nicer pool, and an in-unit washer/dryer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location but not really great hotel. Housekeeping was really poor. We had to ask for them to come back in and vacuum up sand in the bathroom. Mirrors and taps not cleaned well either. We had a problem with cigar smoke coming in from the room next door smoking on the balcony. They did move us into a better room which we appreciated. The pool was small and really enclosed felt claustrophobic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.