We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location for waikiki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
new hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great location for waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

the Ilikai Hotel was the perfect stay for the week before the Christmas holiday. The location is super, alittle out of the way of the mass of Waikiki hotels. There's a beautiful walkway along the beach that leads in front of the other hotels. The deck of the Ilikai overlooks a marina and is just plain gorgeous and so restful. As it is so easy to get around the island it was a bonus to have a bus stop right in front of the hotel. My stay was just plain perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city are treated to a rainbow quite often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    635
    148
    41
    26
See reviews for
541
598
75
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

everyone is so friendly and they go out of their way to make you feel: Special
We stayed on a high floor for 3 weeks last November and found the location of the Ilikai was great for walking the beach and shopping --then this year we spent several days just before Christmas and we had the same excellent service and friendships as we celebrated our 50th anniversary
Planning to return again
C&D Texas

Room Tip: high floor overlooking the sailboats and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Ilikai while attending a conference at the Hawaiian Hilton Village, which worked out perfectly. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. We arrived a few hours early and they were able to put us in a great ocean view room high on the 23rd floor. The housekeeping staff (same woman each day) was wonderful and friendly -- not only did she do a great job cleaning, but did some extra small things that we really appreciated. The rooms were large and very bright, and the balconies are huge.

The price of the hotel room was about $220 incl. per night, and included free high speed wifi, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, beach towels and beach chairs. Although the hotel is not located directly on the beach (the marina is right in front), there is easy access to the beach and lagoon in front of the Hilton Hawaiian Village.

The only downside was noise. First, a group of young adult/adolescent basketball players were in rooms around us and above us and one night were partying loudly on their balcony from 1:00 until 2:30 when I finally called security. The young people were so loud that there was no way that security could not hear them if they were checking the halls and patrolling outside. Second, the hotel seems to be doing some work on the grounds all day long, which meant if you were in your room, you could hear jack hammers and other such loud construction noise.

Otherwise, we really enjoyed staying at this hotel, preferred the location (close to Ala Moana shopping center, as well as Ala Moana park), and felt that it provided a good value for the money. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

As an aside, having stayed at both the Ilikai and the Hyatt on this trip, and visiting a friend in their room at the Hilton Hawaiian Village (Diamond Head Tower), it seems that the high-end hotels here are not as swank as you might find on the mainland or in other major cities in the world. All the bathrooms were small and outdated, although some a little better than others. It would be important to set your expectations when you come to Hawaii, if you're used to more modern and updated hotels!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Ilikai seems to be a bit older hotel, but it is still nice and pretty clean. We had booked 2 nights originally but my wife came down with food poisoning from a restaurant and couldn't fly the next day. Thanks to the help of the staff we were able to book another room for cheaper than my travel agent could. The staff was very friendly and efficient, specifically Chester at the front desk.

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a room with full kitchen. Not sure why but we took it anyways. The rooms are very spacious. The second room (w/o a kitchen) we were put in was actually more open and had a bigger bathroom, which I think we would of preferred to have originally but oh well.

The only thing I would of wanted differently is to have central AC. The AC units are mounted high on the walls and have a remote (which is pretty cool) but don't seem as efficient.

Overall a great stay, minus the food poisoning.

Room Tip: We had a partial view and it wasn't that great, would of rather paid extra for full view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We(Wife and I) spent a total of three nights, two nights in a row interrupted by a one day stay up north, then back down to Ilikai for one night. Both check ins went smoothly and they even worked hard to get us in our rooms with early check-in at no extra charge. The hotel staff, from front desk to baggage room to cleaning staff were all seemingly happy, professional and helpful. Our rooms had exceptional views of the beach and ocean, the balconies were huge, lots of room. Our rooms were very clean and well kept. The location of the hotel itself was perfect for our needs, dinning and shopping is all near by. This was our first trip ever to Honolulu and we strongly suggest staying at the Ilikai Hotel. In our opinion, this was one of our best "bang for our buck".

Room Tip: we strongly suggest a "ocean view room!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is our 3rd visit to the Ilikai and I can't speak highly enough of the staff, the location and the rooms. This end of Waikiki is far more pleasant and relaxing. I like the closeness to Ala Moana Mall, walking in the evening by the Marina is quite lovely. Transport right at the door, trolleys and The Bus. 6 elevators plus the bathing means you never wait too long. The foyer and grounds are well maintained and security is always on hand. Well priced, clean and good position. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a privately owned condo, the room itself was very spacious and great ocean views but it can do with and major update. I think the oven was back in the 70s but still works. Overall we enjoyed the location with the lagoon for swimming and beach there too. We were situated between Main Waikiki Beach and Ala Moana Shopping Centre (15min walk for both).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.4 mi away
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk
0.5 mi away
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,414 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#20 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,834 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.