We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaii Five-0” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ilikai Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ilikai Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hawaii Five-0”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Oahu. We arrived Dec 1 and stayed until Dec 12. As this was my 50th birthday, i had a whole Hawaii Five-0 theme going for the trip. :-) So it was quite exciting to find out this was the hotel where the opening sequence of Jack Lord from the orginal Hawaii Five-0 series was filmed. We had planned to stay at the hotel for 2 days and then rent a camper van to drive to the North Shore and camp for 5 days before returning to Waikiki for the final 3 days of our trip. Unfortunately, the camper van rental did not turn out but we were able to extend our stay at The Ilikai. The staff was great at accomodating us and we really enjoyed the hotel. It was clean and had a fantastic retro feel to it. The rooms were spacious. We stayed on different sides of the hotel after having to extend our stay. Both sides had views that were equally as beautiful. We enjoyed coffee on the lanai, used the fitness facitliy, walked to the mall, beaches and the military museum. Great value and history.

Room Tip: There is an nominal extra charge for "rooms with a view" but we thought it was well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    565
    138
    35
    26
See reviews for
466
546
68
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Ilikai for 11 nights from the end of November 2012. I was expecting quite a good hotel and I wasn't disappointed! Large rooms with everything we needed and a gorgeous lanai with ocean views made our morning coffee all the more wonderful. Check in was a breeze, we booked a tour with the concierge which was easy and cheaper than on line and we ate at both restaurants. The Grill was pretty good - decent food and service. However Sarentos was AMAZING and SO reasonably priced!! We couldn't believe how gorgeous the restaurant was even though we knew it was a Top 50. We went there for our wedding night dinner and they really looked after us.
The convenience store downstairs was excellent and there is an ABC Store, McDonalds, Subway and Red Lobster all within a 2 minute walk.
The walkway along the beach is gorgeous and a wonderful way to get to the main drag of Waikiki. Ala Moana Shopping Centre is a convenient 10 minute walk in the other direction. We hired a car and parked behind the hotel for about $10 for the night.
Great hotel, wonderful restaurants, excellent location, large clean rooms - what's not to love?!
We WILL be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Valet staff were very friendly and helpful, they even helped us find a coffee shop nearby for a super late night snack! We needed to print some stuff out to return a shipment, and the lobby staff helped us out with that too. Really appreciated the free wifi at virtually anywhere in the hotel.

Very nice views and very spacious room! Can only imagine what better views there might be in the other wing. Though surrounded by other tall hotels where we were, we got a nice opening (view) of the beach, and the nearby pools; you can even watch nearby performances (music/dance) from your balcony. Great air conditioning, very clean.

Room Tip: Awesome views on high level ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

the valet staff and bellboy were very helpful and friendly. the $25/day parking is way too expensive. overall, i liked the hotel and its services such as beach chairs, towels, fast internet, and spacious pretty lobby. the only complaint i have is the lady at the front counter was NOT nice at all. if you want someone to represent your hotel and treat your customers right, either you train them well or hire the right people. she was the only reason i did not like my stay here. other than that, i liked the view in my super spacious room (ocean view)!

Room Tip: ocean view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

There is a difference between the hotel itself (an Aqua property) and those units that are rented by a condo clearing house, so be clear that this a review of the hotel. We stayed in a room on the 23rd floor with a view of the Hilton complex and Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon. The room was spacious and easily acccomodated a roll-away for our son (which was a sturdy unit that felt more like a real bed than the more commonly used type that looks and feels like a rat trap set to spring). We booked here when we discovered the Hilton was pretty much booked and whose rates had become astronomical (we are locals who just wanted to stay a few days in town). We were pleasantly surprised at every turn (and after having a single, mobbed with people, stroll through the Hilton at 10pm, relieved by our choice). Great room with beautiful views of the ocean. The staff we dealt with, from the front desk to the valet, were all very pleasant people. Our roll-away was delivered within minutes of our arrival. While our unit did not have a mini-kitchen, it did have a fridge and microwave (what more do you really need?). A coffee maker with no charge for coffee, free wifi, and a local newspaper every morning (even on Sunday! Thank you Ilikai!!) rounded things out and NO resort charge. With five elevators, access to our high-floor room was convenient in a way that often isn't. We had a great experience without so much as a single gripe. It was the weekend before Christmas and one of the reasons we had wanted to stay in town was to check out all the Christmas decorations at other hotels. We were very surprised to find that the Ilikai had the best decorations of the many we visited (sadly, the Moana and Hilton seemed to have scaled back considerably). The Ilikai has a small garden area in the lobby that was full of lights and decorations that made it a warm and festive area to stroll through. The Ilikai is within quick walking distance of Ala Moana Shopping Center and has access via a ramp to the lagoon area and Hilton beach. The only thing that disappointed was the lack of a hot tub in the pool area (but this is sort of personal quirk of mine; most Waikiki hotels lack them, for whatever reason). We will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Ilikai’s location at the North end of Waikiki Beach makes up for any of its shortcomings. We really enjoyed walking down boardwalk and peeking into the other hotels lining the beach. It’s a pricey area in general, but there are some less expensive restaurants within easy walking distance.
As many other reviewers have noted, the rooms are spacious with mini-kitchens. We only used the coffee maker and refrigerator, but appreciated that we could heat something up if we wanted to. The convenience store on the ground level of the Ilikai was a pleasant surprise. It has a decent selection of food/beverages and sundries. While high, the prices weren’t as outrageous as we expected, particularly on alcohol.
We rented a convertible from Alamo (just across the street) and had a really great time driving around the island for two days. The hotel concierge got us a better rate for the rental than we could find online. The roads are easy to navigate and the island very manageable in size. It takes less than an hour to reach the opposite side of the island where there are long stretches of lovely beach. Don’t miss the great offerings of the roadside fruit stands and food trucks. For $12 you get a big plate of garlic shrimp or hulu chicken with rice and salad. Outstanding eats at a fraction the cost of most things in Honolulu.
The Ilikai’s pool area is nothing to get excited about, but it’s nice for taking a quick dip after a day exploring the island. I suppose it’s because of the congested high-priced land on Waikiki that none of the hotels have the massive resort-style pool areas that you find on other islands. Again, the Ilikai’s pool is perfectly adequate for a quick, refreshing dip—just don’t expect to be happy lounging beside it for hours on end (that would get depressing). We particularly appreciated having access to the pool and changing rooms after we checked out on the last day. We had an evening departure out of HNL so were glad to have a place to freshen up before our 8 hour flight.
I would definitely stay at the Ilikai the next time I go to Honolulu—excellent location, nice views from the rooms (especially higher floors), decent restaurants, and a really friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Condo was true to picture. It was very clean and met our expectations. There even had items for the beach like mats and sand pail. there was a city view, spectacular lights at night and rainbows in the morning.
FYI, there was no dishwasher, which did not bother us. There was no clearning service, but extra towles and bedsheets were provided.

Room Tip: Hourly parking in back of building by yacht club, 10 hours max parking, nice if you want to come and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Ilikai Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.