We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why I keep going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Ilikai Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ilikai Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #14 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Port Stephens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Why I keep going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recently had the opportunity to return to Hawaii for a very special occasion and again stayed at the Ilikai Hotel.
The remodelling had added more charm and warmth to this elder statesman of Hawaiian Hotels. Yes built in over 40 years ago but its in a great location water,shopping,transport and now a great range of in building stores.
I have stayed there several times as I believe if you find a great place backed by always great service from friendly staff from Concierge, house keeping, front desk and all in between lead by their general manager Mr Terry Dowsett, why go anywhere else? They make it feel like home away from home.Beds are super comfortable.Will be back again next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    567
    500
    122
    33
    21
See reviews for
406
497
64
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

we enjoyed staying in this warm and well maintained hotel. the facility's in the room are simple and basic but they are enough to feel comfortable and relaxed. the shower is too basic and need renewing. the kitchen is nice and practice. the balcony is big with a nice view of the marina. overall we really liked the hotel.

Room Tip: room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

“...`O ka hali`a aloha i hiki mai ke hone a`e nei i ku`u manawa = Sweet memories come back to me bringing fresh remembrances of the past...” The Ilikai hotel was as we expected – great. It has been a special place for me since 1983, when I was a Honolulu resident. I used to come for the special weekend radio broadcast breakfasts at the Top of Ilikai with Larry Price and Michael Perry. Then, twenty six years ago I met my husband at the Ilikai and since then we have visited Ilikai many times. This has been our comeback after fifteen years (I flew 24 hours from Europe for a week stay, my husband joined me from Australia) on the occasion of our 25th Wedding Anniversary. For that reason I have booked far in advance a room in our favourite Ilikai Tower with the Marina View and was quite disappointed to get a Diamond Head View instead. The next day we were able to move to the room with the desired view, where we stayed the following eight nights. Apart from this unnecessary hiccup everything was wonderful. We will be back again, the feeling of Ilikai has still that same old magic, - like us, it hasn’t lost its Aloha spirit at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Room was nicely decorated, upscale furnishings, spacious and quite clean. Having a separate shower from the bathtub was a nice plus. Wifi was free! We had a King room with an ocean view. Bed was pretty comfortable although a bit bouncy (when one person would turn over the other was "bounced" around a bit. Also there was a bit of music noise from outside but, earplugs more than did the job to cover up the sound. Maintenance was very prompt when my parents (in another room) miskeyed their safe & locked their belongings in it accidentally. The bellmen were outstanding. Overall we would highly recommend and definitely return here again!

Room Tip: I might go with 2 beds instead of a King next time to prevent the bouncing bed syndrome! Ha ha!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Ilikai isn’t your typical hotel. Portions of it are traditional hotel and portions are privately owned condos. We were visiting with family and each person reserved something different. Normally I would give the Ilikai 3 stars but will give it 4 today because it has so many options.

We had a traditional hotel room, reserved through the Ilikai. It was a basic 2 doubles room with an ocean view. The room itself was quite large and there was plenty of room to move around. We did not get a room with a kitchen. The view was remarkable and it was great to sit on the balcony in the morning and drink coffee or watch the sunset in the evening. A man goes out onto the patio at sunset and blows a conch shell to signal the end of the day and we easily heard it in our room. The room could have used a little refreshing as far as décor went; it was bit dated and starting to show a bit of wear. The rooms were clean and bedding was fine, nothing spectacular. The staff was very friendly. While the hotel did offer free Wi-Fi, the ability to log on and do anything more than basic surfing/email checking was hit or miss. I tried to Facetime with some family on Thanksgiving Day and email a couple of photos (several times) and was unable to do either. The location is fine, the lagoon and beach is fine although we preferred to walk down the beach a bit for a less rocky area. Additionally, we chose to use the valet parking. Initially we were not excited about the $25/day cost and family members raved about the $10 spot they got at the Red Lobster down the street but after a day or two of walking to and fro and/or hunting for free parking it was universally decided that the convenience factor was well worth the cost. We did not go to the pool, it was small and basic we opted for the ocean instead. While there is access from the patio to the pool at the Modern next door, I was told Ilikai patrons were not permitted to use it.

The Ilikai has a nice coffee shop and café downstairs. The food was reasonably priced and tasty. Additionally there was a drug store downstairs that we frequented on more than one occasion and I remarked that the prices were not as outrageous as I expected. There are a number of fast food options directly across the street as well as a wide variety of restaurants located next door at the Hilton.

Two family members rented a room with a kitchen through Marina Hawaii Vacations. These are privately owned condo rooms and can vary widely. One was “economy” and the décor, appliances and furniture were all circa 1965. Marina Hawaii will admit that these rooms are not renovated. Another family member rented a partially renovated room that was a bit of a step up but still dated. Marina Hawaii has an office on the 2nd floor and manages many of the privately owned condos. These rooms consisted of a small kitchen, one or two double beds and a couch. They are the same size as the non-kitchen rooms, just more crammed into one area. We did have approximately 15 people in one room for dinner and it was crowded but we were able to move around fine.

Another family member rented a room with a kitchen through VRBO. His room was fully renovated and was pretty nice. It included granite counter-tops and new stainless steel appliances as well as Wi-Fi that was more reliable. Again, because these are privately owned condos the condition and upkeep can vary widely. That room (along with the 2 above) were city views that overlooked Ala Moana Blvd. The rooms were quiet despite being on a busy street. We have yet another family member who owns a fully renovated condo and obviously is quite nice. That is a mountain/ocean view room. The view is of the Hilton next door, Diamond Head and the ocean. You can see the fireworks from the Hilton on Friday nights.

Overall the Ilikai offers a lot of flexible options and a good but not great location. If you are looking for value, especially if you are staying for an extended period, this is an excellent choice. If you are looking for more of a “resort” type feel or luxury hotel this is probably not a good fit for you (unless you luck out on a VRBO room).

Room Tip: Ocean view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent four days at the Ilikai in Nov 2012. (definitely not long enough).
We arrived early for check in, our room wasn't ready so the put us in one similar that was ready so as not to make us wait. (said they would just swap us over with another couple and the other couple would get our room when they arrived). Good service, didn't find that everywhere!
The room was on 24th floor, absolutely fantastic - large with a nice sized balcony, a bar fridge, microwave and coffee maker and good size tv. The bed was very comfortable (and huge! King size.) We ate breakfast on the lanai (balcony) every morning and in the evenings sat watching the city lights after strolling back from dinner, mostly along the beach, sometimes through town and past the gardens - no bugs in sight! We didn't have a beach view but not complaining because the view of the city and the mountains was spectacular (especially at night).
The bathroom was a very good size and there was a bath! which was much appreciated after our walk up Diamond Head. A shame that I had to clean it before I could use it as it still had scum around the inside from someone else's previous use, and the grout in the shower was alittle bit grotty.
While we're on complaints, there was a really comfy armchair in the room,it would have been nice to have two of them since there were two of us. ( a toaster would have been nice too)
But I count those as only a few small complaints as overall we were happy.
The location is great for going anywhere - the beach, lagoon, Diamond Head, A la Moana.Speaking of which - I'm not that much into the shopping b but it is a huge impressive shopping centre. I would have to say that Foodland was my favourite here, such a variety of salads, meats and fruitsalads, yogurts and drinks( bread we got from a great little bakery a couple of shops up). You can pick up something to warm up in the microwave to have in room if you want to stay in, or better still grab a pick-nick lunch to have on the beach or in a park, inexpensive and really good.
We found all the meals we had were actually very good and good value. We managed to get into Dukes, also had dinner at Tropics, have fish Tacos at Maui Tacos, had lobster tail at the shrimp place in the international market food court, all excellent!
Loved Cholo's in Waliewa too. Took the bus around the Island and stopped great food, great atmosphere. Trip well worth doing, had a great day and met nice people. It was recommended to us to get a 4 day bus pass and I agree.
Just so much to do and enjoy. Great Coffee at Island Coffee, try one of their Acai Cups ,(breakfast , lunch or just a snack) you're in for a treat.
Love all the entertainment, music everywhere you go.
Love free WIFII at the Ilikai.
Love the bus drivers.(The ones that are not just for the Japanese only!)
Love the warm moonlit walks on the beach.
Staff at the Ilikai helpful and friendly, location is perfect, wouldn't think of going anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

At the Ala Moana mall end of Waikiki so I could walk to the mall or head in the direction of the busier section of the beach. Friday evening fireworks behind the Hilton Hawaiian village were a great bonus.
Liked the layout of our suite but it could have been better equipped. Yes, it was too noisy and too bright to sleep in but that's Waikiki!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai
Ilikai Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to AlaMoana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large 120 sq. ft. lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. Amenities include a heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.