We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - Just what was expected !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ilikai Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ilikai Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
BC Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great - Just what was expected !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We booked a room with a partial ocean view, looking out over the lagoon, we were high enough up (Rm 2528) that we had a view of Diamond Head as well.
We've stayed there 4 times over the last 6 years and still love the hotel. New LCD TV's seemed to be the only upgrade and the upholstery on the chair was looking a bit tired as it has before.
The staff were great and the rooms are always large (600 sq ft incl Lanai). So yes we will continue to go back to the Ilikai, as it's at the entrance to Waikiki, it's far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, so you have the choice of the Waikiki beach in one direction or the Ala Moana beach in the other direction (way quieter)
We travelled in November but reserved in August, so the price was $152, the prices had gone up to ~$240 by the time we arrived for the same period.
What can I say we liked it and will return.
As an aside we flew from Bellingham on Alaska Airlines direct, price was great and service was great

Room Tip: 3 room types, City, POV and OV. City is noisey and cheapest, POV is nice, especially higher up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    570
    138
    37
    26
See reviews for
472
553
68
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a room with an ocean view (Marina). It has a nice size balcony with a table for two. Perfect for relaxing and viewing the sunset. The valet is $25/day, which isn't too bad since you have in and out privilege and the convenience. You would only save a few dollars if you park else where so it was not worth it for us.

It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the main Waikiki area at a moderate pace.

I'm a light sleeper so the negative is the noise that we heard from our room:

1) Our room was right next to the elevator, so we heard the elevator most of the night. The front desk was willing to move us to another room, but we opted not to since the other room doesn't have a nice view.

2) There was a loud ticking one of the nights. Don't know what it was, but it was very loud. Was too tired to do further investigation.

3) We like to sleep with the balcony door open for the fresh air. The nuisance with that is our neighbors like to hang out in their balcony and talk very loudly. Again, we could have moved, but that would not guarantee a quiet neighbor.

Overall, the hotel is fine for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is very welcoming and definately shares the Aloha Spirit.
From the greeting in the front driveway as we handed over our rental car right through to the room service staff everyone was wonderful.
We had an ocean view room and it was massive.
The large sliding doors opend onto a good sized balcony. the microwave int eh room was an added bonus.
Alos liked the separate dressing room and 2 large wardrobe areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a two bedroom condo with a city view/part ocean view. We were not disappointed. Great condo, with fab views. Decent size lounge, bedrooms & bathrooms. Only problem we had was the beds. Very soft mattress in both rooms. My Sister & her Hubby had the main bedroom, and we had the other. This had a queen and a single bed. If someone moved the other person was bounced around. But it is a small price to pay for a great condo. A bit noisy with with the traffic. But it didn't bother us. Great kitchen. Short on glasses though. Had breakfast on lounge lanai as this had the morning sun. We like the location as not in the hub of Waikiki. Nice to be at quiet end. Hilton lagoon next door is so lovely. Friday night fireworks are very good. Will return for sure. Booked via Waikiki Ocean Front Rentals. (recommend)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is an iconic landmark. The public areas have been updated nicely and celebrate the hotel's history. The rooms are spacious and have been nicely updated. An "ocean view" room may translate to a direct view of the Hilton Hawaiian Village, but a sliver of ocean is visible if you look to the right. Even so, it is a great value for the location. Some of the furnishings may be a bit worn (e.g. our sofa was a bit threadbare) but the beds and pillows are great. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The view was fantastic, and the price was right. We enjoyed our stay at the Ilikai. The privately owned condo we rented through homeaway.com was a real bargain. We were a party of three adults, and never ran out of things to do. Our condo on the 10th floor, had a view of the ocean, harbor, and Kahanamoku Hilton Lagoon. A birds eye view of the Friday night Waikiki fireworks, and a luau that took place nearly each night at the Hilton were also in view.
Located at the beginning of Waikiki beach, we were close to the action, without being in the middle of it.
Important info for your budget, the Ilikai has Valet Parking Only. You will want to keep that in mind for your vacation budget. We enjoyed the service.
There is other paid parking, a block or so off the property, if you don't mind the walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Ilikai Hotel for 10 days prior to our cruise. Our room on the 22nd Floor had a lovely view over the beach and the Hilton Lagoon. The room and lanai were huge. Housekeeping did an excellent job each day. We really appreciated the powder room off the bathroom and the desk.

There were several ABC stores within a minutes walk and the hotel was right on the trolley stop. We booked several tours through the tour desk and found them very helpful. We caught the trolley to Waikiki most nights and walked back along the beach. The coffee shop downstairs was excellent value. We took the glass elevator up to Sorento's for sunset cocktails and the view was outstanding.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Ilikai Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.