We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ilikai Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ilikai Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The Ilikai is a little old and tired however the rooms are very clean and still in good condition. We had a 2 bedroom suite and it was a great size. Really good value. Beds very comfortable and everything very clean and tidy. The view on the ocean side is amazing.
The front desk service staff were a little grumpy and unfriendly but were helpful. Concierge staff info very helpful and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Ocean front and ocean view almost the same- not worth paying the extra for the Ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    569
    138
    37
    26
See reviews for
470
552
68
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed in a renovated condo, so I can't speak for all the units; however ours was beautiful and had amazing views. The location was awesome and conveniently located to everything, no need for a car. Within minutes you can be at the Ala Moana Mall which was huge, great bars and restaurants around, and ABC stores. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We rented a condo for the week and stayed in Unit 1531. It was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I spent a week at this beautiful hotel. The rooms are twice the size of most hotels, two very large closets, sitting area, dining area, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, a king bed that was very comfortable, balcony with table and chairs and the bathroom was to die for!! The first half had a large vanity, tub with hand held shower, the second half had a shower and toilet (each half was the size of most upgraded hotel baths). The lobby and connecting walkways were spectacular with granite and teak flooring, beautiful flora and fawna, a bar and grill that was wonderful and enough food on 1 plate for 2 people they are so large and wonderful. The pool is beautiful and you are on the Waikiki beach. Most importantly, the staff went out of their way to accomodate any request and they did it with a smile. I was also able to attend church right in the hotel - an interdenominational service with beautiful music and good minister. This hotel is within walking distance of Red Lobster, the Outback, the largest open air mall and so much more. I hope to return someday and visit all the islands, but you can bet this will be my choice of hotels on Oahu!

Room Tip: 25th floor on the beach - ability to see so much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I came to Oahu for my wedding and spent two nights in a 2 bedroom suite in the Ilikai with my family before moving to the Hilton Hawaiian Village after the wedding. They are right next to each other, and I will be posting a review for the HHV as well. The Ilikai is definitely more reasonably priced, but the property is somewhat outdated for sure. That's not to say that it isn't clean or well-maintained, which it is both; but it does give off somewhat of a 70's vibe as it is an older property. The rooms were very spacious (even a regular room with two single beds which a couple of my friends were in). Everyone working there was very pleasant, and there were no problems with the service either.

The location is fantastic, right on the western edge of Waikiki. The beach is a short walk away, as are a lot of great restaurants (Nobu, Morimoto, Roy's) and shopping (Ala Moana Mall). I don't have any complaints about this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Waikiki. Sure, the HHV was nicer as we stayed in a brand new tower there, but for the value and location, the Ilikai is hard to beat!

Room Tip: Splurge for an ocean view - it is worth it with the huge balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We chose to stay in Ilikai Hotel for our HoneyMoon trip to Hawaii. We were there for 2 nights before embarking our cruise ship Pride of America. We took an Interior view room and were upgraded to Ocean View. However they gave us two twin beds instead of one King. A little oversight on their part but then they quickly in 30 mins aggranged another room for us with king bed. Overall its a good hotel for the price they charge.

Room Tip: Top Floor Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This place was a joy to walk into after a long trip from Oz. Well appointed, the location is great as it is a short 10 mins by trolley car ti Waikiki and just a few mins walk from a huge shopping centre with Macy's and other dept stores as well as hosts of restaurants. With 1 min walk is Maccas, IHOP and other eateries. Large apartment with kitchen and great view over the mariner. Good value for money and for families just fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for one high up and facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Our stay was very enjoyable and pleasant. No bad surprises. Staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed for eight days in this excellent location close to Waikiki Beach. It's away from the busiest part of the Waikiki and you can walk there in ten minutes or less. The hotel is right next to the Hilton Complex which has a lagoon and nice beach.There is a firework show every Friday at the Hilton and the best spot to view is at the raised promenade walkway, we had seats watching the performance outside the hotel restaurant before the fireworks starts. If you are planning to rent a vehicle to tour around the island, which is an excellent idea, you can park your rental car at the marina just behind the hotel which you can park there for $12 for 10 hours during weekdays and $24 for 10 hours on weekends. I would highly recommend Pearl Harbor for at least half day as there are many attractions there. You can miss the west side of the island as there is not much to see there and the crime rate is higher there also. Be sure to check out Hanauma Bay (http://www.hanauma-bay-hawaii.com/) even if you are not snorkelling, the scenery is out of this world but make sure you get there early as the parking lot fills up really fast and there is no parking on the highway. After the short hike from the beach to the parking lot, you should grab some shaved ice at the concession stand, perfect on a hot day! All in all, we truly enjoyed our stay in Honolulu and the Ilikai and we can't hardly wait to go back there sometime soon.

Room Tip: Try and request a room facing south west towards the marina, lovely sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Suites

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ilikai Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Ilikai Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilikai Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.