We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Hilton Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Hotel Credit/Night
Ranked #19 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersGold level
sydney
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The location of this place is great. Very central, basic shops near by where you can get something for a quick bite or breakfast in your room. Just a short walk to the international market place and beach. The rooms are very comfortable,beds and pillows are wonderful. Excellent black out curtains and its quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    955
    867
    243
    80
    25
See reviews for
385
907
155
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Early check-in accomodated, clean, airy and upscale amenities and a great location. Room was clean and relaxing with a small veranda for sitting outside and relaxing and a new flat screen TV with HBO was available. No free wi-fi in the room was the only down fall; available for $10 per day if desired. Business center helped to meet business requirements of the trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Formerly the Prince Kuhio Hotel, the Hilton Waikiki Beach is an excellent hotel located just a few short blocks from the ocean, the International Market Place and the Waikiki shopping. We used Hilton HHonors points to pay for our entire stay (30,000 points per night, which I consider to be an excellent value for a top-flight hotel in a popular resort area). The hotel itself is gorgeous and, because I am a gold HHonors member, we were upgraded to an ocean view room on an executive floor at check-in. We were also given access to the executive lounge which provided complimentary hot breakfast and evening pupus. Our room was beautiful, and the bed was perhaps the most comfortable I have ever slept on in a hotel. The room was provided with a small safe and refrigerator, both of which we took advantage of. One very pretty aspect of our room was two "rain glass" windows that were between the sleeping area and the bathroom. These added a class and elegant touch to the room. We ate in the hotel restaurant one evening, and the food was quite good. Room service, however, was disappointing since the food was not hot when it was delivered. The hotel has a fairly large pool on the 10th floor. We only used it for a short period on the last day of our stay, but it was more than satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, Ca
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights and very impressed with the staff from the front desk, to the valet to the concierge. As a diamond member, was upgraded to an ocean view room on the 32nd floor. Room was immaculate and little balcony was cool. Food in the 24/7 cafe is good and reasonable priced - its not great but good. Pool was good and wind was not an issue. About a block from the beach, main part of Waikiki and that is not a bad thing - away from the crowds of tourists. On site gym is outstanding. 5 stars because of the friendly, world class staff, price and room we had on 32nd floor.

Room Tip: High floor above 15. Ocean view is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 3 stayed here for almost 3 weeks while my husband was in town for business. The hotel is clean and location is great. It's 2 blocks to the beach, which was an easy walk, and not on the main busier strip of Kalakaua Ave (the road that runs along the beach). We had Gold status so the complimentary breakfast in the executive lounge was a bonus and helpful when you have a little one. Don't expect anything fancy, but can't beat complimentary! They have an awesome coffee machine that makes cappuccinos, mochas, etc. which is essential "morning fuel" for our family. I recommend the scones; although probably not made in-house, they were pretty good! If you don't have access to the lounge, there's Mac2Go, which sells Starbucks coffee & items to go. I've heard great things about the giant pancakes from the hotel restaurant Mac 24-7, but didn't get a chance to try them. There are also evening appetizers served in the executive lounge which are great to tide you over if you're going to have a late dinner. The lounge was often busy when we were there but the staff is friendly and does their best to try and keep it clean and well-stocked. (Some people go in there with the mentality that it's supposed to be run like a restaurant..and it is not! It's a nice bonus that the hotel offers, so don't be snobby about it!)
The rooms are nicely kept, however as others have mentioned, the bathroom has frosted windows, so it was hard with a little one. I recommend bringing a night light so you don't have to turn all the lights on if you need to see when others are sleeping. Nice design, but probably not so practical ;) Storage was limited..there's one closet in the bathroom, but the dresser drawers were tiny..the kiddos clothes (as small as they are) took up almost all the space. The beds are pretty comfortable, and I personally liked the pillows. I actually considered buying one from the Hilton site!
Our room was a Mountain View on one of the executive floors. The view was beautiful, even though it wasnt facing the ocean, and we caught a few rainbows! :) We were close to the elevators but never heard that much noise. We got our "ocean view" every morning going out to the elevators. The pool is on the 10th floor and kind of in a "wind tunnel", so not that ideal for laying out, but that's what the beach is for! We walked everywhere, so we didn't need to use the workout facilities.
There are tons of places to eat within walking distance. Laundry is valet only, but there's a laundromat (Waikiki Laundry) just a block away.
All in all a great stay...probably not the top choice for families with young children, but we were blessed to be able to tag along, so no complaints here! Great location, comfortable room, good eats...you're in Hawaii..what's not to love? :)

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This is going to be a bad review but I will try to be fair. Our problems started with high pitched noises making our room uninhabitable on the first night. Staff moved us to a suite & told us we could stay there for the rest of our stay, but next morning someone else's bags were moved into the suite and we were asked to downgrade to a regular room. In compensation the manager offered to refund 2 of our 6 night stay, which we accepted. Our real problems started after we left. Having paid in full for our 6 night stay in advance, our final bill should have contained a credit for the promised 2 nights refund. Instead when I got home I found we had been charged for an additional 4 nights stay! After much difficulty, I eventually obtained an email contact and the 4 night the charge was reversed. Problem is we paid 6 nights in advance and despite repeated requests & 3 months waiting, the promised 2 night refund has never materialized. My biggest criticism of the Hilton Waikiki Beach therefore is that while the staff are superficially pleasant enough, they do not keep their promises and make communication very difficult after you have left. The hotel itself is ok, although I would recommend avoiding rooms next to the lifts as they are noisy, and miss the breakfast buffet which was truly the worst I have ever experienced (poor quality food, limited chioice and messy dining room).

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

First time at his hotel in Waikiki. Have stayed in several, including the high-priced Aston Tower Waikiki and Outrigger Waikiki. Good location, close to Queen park and the tennis courts there. The room I booked had a view east to the city/mountains, so for $20/night we upgraded to the ocean view. Well worth it! Make sure you're up high. The room was nice/clean with a desk for work. Bathroom was nice but a little strange, only fancy glass separating from the room, so at night, you turn the light on in the bathroom and it floods the room. I thought the staff was very friendly. Great, fast elevators, not like the slow ones at Outrigger. Pool area was fine, not a lot of character. Overall, I thought the price/value was good.

Room Tip: Up high with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.