We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-par” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Hilton Waikiki Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Hotel Credit/Night
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sub-par”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

While our stay in Waikiki was awesome, we wish we would have stayed somewhere else. This hotel is extremely loud and I was hard to get a good nights sleep. If your planning on being up early for a tour forget about being rested. The street is loud with buses and motorcycles, which is to be expected, but worst off we could hear the music from the lobby in my room every night. It made for a poor experience and we will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review. I would like to apologize that you experienced such night sleeps. If you do happen to give us another try, which I wish you would, please let us know so we can place you in one of our quieter rooms. Again, I am sorry for the experience.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    954
    267
    85
    29
See reviews for
422
1,021
170
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here over the New Years period with my boyfriend. We picked it because it seemed to be one of the more renovated hotels in Waikiki Beach. Was happy with the room, it was new and clean which satisfied me alot, we got beach view which was pretty nice also.
The only thing that did disappoint me, was the price of the internet in the room, where if you were to go in the lobby it was free! and if you were going to pay for internet in the room you could only use one device which was disappointing! Other than that - our stay was pleasant for the 2 weeks we stayed and any disputes for parking were rectified immediately!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Situation: Stayed here for a business trip. Had to travel alot between Waikiki and, well, everywhere we went for business. I tried to break it down for you but I have to say overall the experience was excellent. So here are the specifics: PROS: No Resort fees to tack on to your stay which is really nice. It is two blocks from Waikiki Beach, but since HPD was forced to vacate alot of the homeless out of parks and other out of the way areas, alot of them have found there way to the beach. Not the fault of the resort however, so I digress. They feature Live Local Entertainment which I am absolutely in favor of, particularly in Hawaii. The talent that they have on display is very good. I was rather impressed by the obviously remodeled Shower Design in the bathrooms. This will sound weird but one of the things I look for in a good hotel is the forethought of shower materials and design. They didn't just throw a generic tub/shower combo in there as an afterthought. I appreciate that. Plus these bathrooms let light in from your lanai which is nice too. I constantly opened the lanai glass doors and let the winds come in from my balcony. The smell of the islands coming in all night was great. Helped me sleep. Not that I needed that much help, their comforters and pillows were top notch. Last, but definitely not least, is that they have one of the greatest breakfast foods restaurants in the hotel. MAC 24/7 is fabulous. Plus the portions of their food will make you cry and say 'Uncle'. They may seem a little pricey but it is SO worth it. Okay, so now that I have sung the praises here are your slight disadvantages: Ocean Views cost extra. That's standard in Hawaii but still a little disappointing. And the final one: Unfortunately they are somewhat badly situated to get out if traffic in Waikiki decides to come to a screeching halt, which happens more often than you might think in the morning. Particularly as their only exit from the parking lot is situated on a one way street leading to the Ala Wai. However as they are on the edge of Waikiki, you can escape slightly easier.

OVERALL: Great experience. Great Hotel.

Room Tip: Get the Ocean Side View. You will want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Aloha and thank you so very much for all the kind words you have said about us. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed yourself to the fullest. I would also like to thank you for reminding everyone that we do not have resort fees at the hotel...no hidden costs here. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. Aloha and Mahalo

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed one night at this beautiful hotel before we boarded the cruise ship for our 7 night cruise. We were treated like royalty by the staff and waiters. We had an ocean view and were mesmerized by the breathtaking view of the ocean. Even though the hotel is a block off the beach, it was a 3 minute walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Hilton has been our first choice several times whenever we visit the Hawaiian Islands. It has all the amenities one needs to make for a perfect stay - good restaurants, on the beach, stores to browse or shop to your hearts content, and the location is just a healthy walk to all the major shopping one could ask for.

We also found that since it is close to the water but well away from traffice that there is no "big city" noise to distract from your tranquillity.

We also found that all the staff do their best to make ones stay move along as smooth as possible.

Dave Duval

Room Tip: Even though most people choose (and pay for) ocean view rooms, any room with an ocean view is always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A group of 20 of us stayed here for a wedding (also held at the hotel). The area of the hotel is huge and there are ample facilities (supermarket, restaurants and bars) on site to keep you occupied. Tours of the island generally use the Hilton as a main pick up point which is convenient. Rooms were as expected to the Hilton standard with good views of the ocean. It is an easy walk to the main strip for bars, restaurants and shopping.
The hum of the Waikiki traffic is audible from rooms if you leave your balcony door open, but this is the price you pay to stay downtown.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

After staying several times at the Hilton Hawaiin Village on Ohua and the Waikoala Hilton on the Big Island we decided to try the Prince Kulio. It was a very pleasant experience. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and were surprised one evening with a beautiful bottle of wine and chocolates delivered to our room courtesy of Taylor, the wonderful young lady who checked us in at the desk. She represents the impeccable service that Hilton has always been known for over the years. The breakfast and cocktail hours were great too. Great ocean and Diamond Head views from our room.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.