We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Hilton Waikiki Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Hotel Credit/Night
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed for 12 days, business and pleasure. Located a couple of blocks away from the beach, on the more quiet end of the Waikiki "strip." Had a room with ocean view on the 29th floor. The room was of decent size and clean. Bed was comfortable. Balcony a little scary at first due to the height, but once accustomed to it, it was fine. Sunset views were amazing from the room. General service was very good, valet parking somewhat slow at times, mainly due to the small area in front of the hotel and not due to the personnel. Only had breakfast in the hotel once, and the portions were huge (as always in the US) and pancakes very nice.

Extra positives: Complimentary botttle of wine and fruit plate on check-in. The bed headboard had a few tears in it, but this was changed on the second day without mentioning it to the staff.

Overall: Slightly worn hotel, and the hotel itself was nothing extraordinary, but just as expected from the price and from the pictures, 3-4* hotel. However, the staff definitely made up for it, and exceeded what I would expect from a 5*.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    958
    267
    85
    29
See reviews for
423
1,024
170
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Although not on the beach, thus a less than "excellent" location rate, this hotel is located near the less crowded end of Waikiki with great Bus service, close to Kapiolani Park and shopping. Good ocean view from the south elevation or mountain view from the north. Restaurant is open 24 hours with great food, reasonably priced. Room was great with 42" flat screen TV. Hotel underwent $64 Million renovation a few years ago when Hilton took it over. Pool deck is large with salt water pool, whirlpool and Pool Bar. Staff is great and attended to our every need with Aloha. We have spent 2-3 weeks here every year for over 10 years and will continue to choose it whenever we travel to Honolulu.

Room Tip: South face has good ocean view 2 blocks away but above a busy street (Kuhio), however noise is not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel has all the right stuff. Near the beach but not on the main road so it was not noisy. The room was very nice, with a really top notch bathroom and shower set up. The decor was tasteful and modern. My room faced the mountain which was really nice. The lights at night were really pretty. The staff was very friendly and I have to give big shout out to Ryan at the valet/bell desk. That guy works so hard and is charming and helpful to boot. He helped me with cabs, directions, bus travel, luggage etc. The "Mac" restaurant has THE best pancake breakfast you will ever have. If you are going to Waikiki, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are quieter and have lovely views of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from spending the weekend at this property and loved it! We live on Oahu and decided to spend a couple nights in Waikiki while the kids were on Spring break. We usually try and stay at the bigger, Hilton Hawaiian Village Resort but their availability was very limited this weekend. They suggested their other two properties and we chose this one because of its location and price. We were not dissapointed! Room was clean with modern furniture and decor, the tub/shower was of good size, rooms were average size, enough for our family of four, we also requested a crib for our baby and was quickly accomodated. Linens, towels and bath ammenties were of great quality. Hotel is close to the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium as well as Waikiki Beach which is a must do for our kids..although not directly on the main Kalakaua Ave., it is a quick 2 minute/1 block walk inland..no big deal..and no beachfront price tag either!! Just a few negatives..one being it is valet parking only with a $25/day valet fee..which was a little steep, but we've noticed that a lot of hotels these days are moving toward that direction of valet only..also, because it's on Kuhio Avenue, there is quite a bit of morning noise..garbage trucks, busses, etc..not the hotel's fault but if you're a light sleeper or like to sleep in it may be a minor setback. We originally booked for a city view, being that we wouldn't be in our room very much to enjoy any ocean view..but was pleasantly surprised when they upgraded us to a ocean view room..definately a plus and a nice touch! Service was friendly, housekeeping service was great..We ate both breakfasts at the MAC 24/7 restaurant downstairs and absolutely loved it!! Great ambiance and food..pretty steep prices for breakfast, but being in Waikiki, you're not going to find many deals anyway!! Overall..we loved our stay and would definately book a room here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We did like this hotel. It is clean and modern.It is great shape. Close but not on the beach we never found the short walk a problem. In fact, we liked being on the quiet end of the beach. The staff is excellent and very friendly. We had a small issue with the hot water when we first arrived and it was solved right away. We felt the staff was the very best part of the hotel. They seemed to be genuinely glad you were there. Our son made fast friends with the pool bartender who also had a son his age.He told him about a show at the convention center that helped make the trip really memoriable.
The rooms are nice but not large.The bathrooms are modern but the glas panels and glass door are kind of dumb. If you use the bathroom at night it is just like turning on the room light.Not a big issue but not sure who thought it was a good idea. The big problem is that the front of the hotel, the side with great ocean views is on a very busy Kuhio Ave. We were on the 21st of 37 floors. The noise through the patio doors was constant. Especially in the morning. Garbage trucks, buses and fire trucks were very loud. Don't expect to be able to sleep in once the traffic starts. To be fair it was quiet at night and I never had a hard time falling alseep due to any noise. Maybe it would be better higher up and very definetly better on the back side or mountain view side. We did hear the people above us at times which was disappointing. As well if people are talking on their balcony you can hear that just like they were inside your room.

We hated to say anything bad about the hotel because we loved the location, the staff, the restaurant is excellent, nice enough pool, it is easy to get around with all the buses stopping in front of the hotel.But the noise was an issue that seemed to get worse the longer we stayed. Don't expect a resort because this is a business hotel close to the beach. It is small enough that the staff recognized us at the bar and restaurant.And we liked that.

I don't think you can beat the value but if you like a quiet room you need to be very sure where you are in the hotel before you book.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the top or on the mountain view. The ocean view is excellent and help take away the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here one night while in transit. The hotel is lovely, and located just a few blocks from the beach. My room was a good size, comfortable, on a high floor, clean & modern. I could see the ocean. Ate dinner in the restaurant - had the night's special, some type of fish - and it was delicious. I found that some of the staff members at the front desk who assisted me at check-in and with questions were efficient, but not particularly friendly, enthusiastic, or happy-looking. For a Hilton hotel, I expected a little bit warmer welcome & customer service. (On the other hand, the waitress at the restaurant was excellent!) During the night - about 11:30 or 12:30, the hotel fire alarm went off. Not what you want to hear when you're sleeping... especially when you're high up. But I waited in my room - instructions came through the in-room speaker that they were checking things out. And then that it was a false alarm, all was OK. Overall, a very nice place - and with some happier faces, it could be excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, tx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Thanks to Hilton's GM, Thomafriend and his very friendly and efficient staff for a most memorable week. It was my husbands big birthday and we enjoyed some extras like an ocean view, wine, candy, extremely efficient housekeeping staff and the Honolulu Festival fireworks from our balcony. What a great location to enjoy a holiday. We could walk everywhere or take the bus (it stops in front of hotel). I highly recommend this to all.

Room Tip: We requested near elevators (which were quick). Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.