We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Executive Lounge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Hilton Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Hotel Credit/Night
Ranked #19 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Poor Executive Lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in total; spread over two weeks. We took the cruise in the middle of our stay. Our executive level rooms (Levels 35 & 36) we perfect on each occasion, but the executive lounge leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to food and beverage and the lounge did not provide access to beverages for the entire day. I think someone forgot that people actually pay extra for the executive lounge access and it would be good to have a little more for our money in that respect.

However, on the upside, this is a very comfortable and relaxed hotel and the staff go out of their way to be helpful without sacrificing their professionalism. The executive level rooms do provide a fantastic view of the beach or mountains; depending on your preference and rate. Another bonus is they have a 24/7 cafe and although choices may be limited (if you are into healthy eating) it is handy if you come back late from a tour or need to leave very early. An alternative to eating at the hotel is the ABC store on the adjacent corner which has snacks and alcohol; as well as all the touristy rubbish you can imagine.

Kit on Reception was particularly helpful and went out of her way to put us into a room early, after we returned from the cruise; we really did appreciate her efforts. I would stay there again but probably not pay for the executive level.

The name is confusing to some tour operators and taxi drivers, so be sure to emphasise that it is the Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel. Some operators still call it the King Kuhio/Hilton, don't panic; they haven't caught up with the current name. Just make sure they understand it is not the Hilton Village but the "other one".

Room Tip: If it is your first time in Honolulu, go for one of the higher level rooms with an ocean view. Unli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    955
    867
    243
    80
    25
See reviews for
385
907
155
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just a long block from the beach and all the shops. Pricey but was the only place we could get on short noice.
They have a restaurant which we ate at several times. But went across street for special dining.
Over all the rooms were nice and looked like updated. The staff were all helpful. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views. Lower ocean views get all night car noices. We had both ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAWAII
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is NOT the Hilton Hawaiian Village which has its own private beach, this is the Hilton Waikiki Beach which is on Kuhio Street (dealers and prosties galore) and is six blocks from the ocean......check out the google map location. That being said, it's a nice, clean hotel with all the amenities. IT IS NOT A RESORT. It is just a hotel. You want quiet aloha atmosphere, stay at the Hawaiian Village. You want a nice hotel in the honky tonk area of Waikiki, stay at the Hilton Waikiki Beach. One thing that bugs me is their website saying they are a few steps from the ocean. That is a lie! Again look at the map.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at Hilton Waikiki Beach from 17 to 28 January 2013. We had two rooms. My husband and I had an ocean front room and our two daughters had a mountain view room. As requested, they were both on the same floor. In this case, we were on 24th floor. The lobby is very spacious so various groups are able to sit together( yet apart from others) quite easily. Our rooms were very nice and spotlessly clean. Plenty of towels of all sizes and high quality toiletries. From our balcony we had a lovely ocean view. Yes, there is one building between the hotel and the beach but it did not detract from the view. The balcony accommodated two chairs and a small table and whilst not enormous, was fine for a cup of coffee and a relax. Having multiple lifts minimised wait times to go up to or down from our rooms. There are trolley and bus stops right outside the hotel. A one block walk will take you to the waterfront strip and the hotel is situated towards one end of the strip. It is a longish walk to the other end, near the Hilton Hawaiian Village, but with plenty to see it does not seem arduous. It is a much shorter walk to the vicinity of the Outrigger and the International Market Place and lots of eating places. We would stay at the Hilton Waikiki Beach again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in England
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Asked airport taxi to take us to ‘Hilton Waikiki Beach’ , and he charged us $33 (£20.62). Went to check in and were told we were at the wrong hotel – taxi driver had taken us to Hilton Hawaiian Village! (NB: Be sue to say Kuhio Avenue!) - They found us another taxi and gave him a taxi voucher to take us to the correct Hilton in Kuhio Avenue. He dropped us round the corner at the roadside next to the car ramp, and said someone would come to help us with our bags, but no sign of anyone! No-one came to help us up the main entrance steps with our bags, either! Bad start!

Left bags, after checking in at 10am, as room would not be ready until 12.

Room 918 ‘de-luxe, king bed, ocean view’, after collecting our own bags from concierge. (No-one offered to help, although having managed on our own that far, we didn’t feel inclined to tip someone for taking them up in the elevator anyway!)
Large carpeted room. King-size bed with 2 bedside table/shelves. Chaise longue. Desk and chair. Unit w/ 4 drawers, fridge, safe and coffee-maker, under a large flatscreen, on wall opposite the bed. Suitcase stand. Tall mirror and pretty picture of yellow plumerias. Shower room : double-length shower stall, plenty shelves, another pretty flower picture, double wardrobe w/ 10 hangers (towels and toiletries replaced daily). Wrap-around balcony (as we were at the end of the corridor), w/ 2 chairs and small table, looking out onto St Augustine Church, and the ocean beyond.

- Excellent breakfast and dinner in ‘mac 24/7’, informal restaurant - pleasant staff.
- free unlimited wifi in lobby
- Hotel is located a block in from the ocean, but an empty lot in front of the hotel (used as a car park) allows ocean views. It is quieter than being on the main drag!.
- There is an ABC convenience store on the diagonal corner.
- Plenty restaurants nearby on the oceanfront Kalakaua Avenue.
- Street performers, fortune teller and artists at night on the strip.
- Free hula show 4 nights a week at 6.30pm, on nearby Hula Mound.

(We stayed here several years ago, when it was a Radisson and it is still just as good.)

Room Tip: Probably quieter higher up, but 9th floor gave us a more interesting view than higher up would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for six nights from January 27 to February 2. Originally the "Prince Kuhio Hotel", Hilton has renovated this property pretty thoroughly; our room, a mountain/city view one was on the 11th floor. Modern decor, flat screen TV, incredibly large 2-person shower (no tub), and other upscale touches like shampoo and conditioner from Mark Allen Roth. We ordered room service the first night as we came in late and were able to get quick service. There's a small fridge which came in handy to store the local Kona Fire Rock pale ale and it was incredibly pleasant to just sit on the balcony overlooking the gazebo or watching the city lights and feeling the breeze. Another nice touch - with the slider open, the A/C automatically shuts off and then automatically goes back on once the slider is closed. We also enjoyed the pool area on the 10th floor. My husband had one mean Mai Tai mixed by the poolside bartender. The pool is a nice break from the crowds at the beach. It's a saltwater pool, so you don't get the overwhelming chlorine smell and the temperature was surprisingly warm. We never had an issue with being too crowded, although it is not a huge pool area. Be warned, though - the hot tub is set to a pretty high temperature, so get in carefully and don't stay in it too long. The hotel allowed us to borrow towels for a day-long island tour and we saw others took hotel towels down to the beach. We also borrowed a crib for a one-night babysitting of our 11-month-old granddaughter. We found the staff friendly and accommodating and the concierge hooked us up on several tours - the best one being the Turtle tours for the round-the-island tour. As to wi-fi, our iphones are on AT&T, so they automatically tuned in but we had to purchase wi-fi access for our ipad; it was fairly inexpensively priced for the week. All in all, since you never spend that much time in your room in Waikiki, the hotel was a great place to "hang our hats" while in town. And since it was less pricey than a lot of the name hotels and less than Hilton Hawaiian Village, we were very pleased indeed.

Room Tip: Mountain/city views are over the gazebo and great at night for city lights. Lovely! Corner units h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This Hotel may not be located right at the centre of the action in Waikiki but it is just a short walk to the main strip and there is bus transportation just outside the hotel.

The foyer decor is a little dated, however it has all the amenities you need including free wifi in the lobby, business centre, friendly and very helpful concierge staff who helped us book some tours and a Luau. Check in staff were also helpful but there were often long waits to be served.

The rooms have been refurbished and are simple but clean, modern and well appointed. Big screen TV, balcony, and beds were comfortable. There are windows in the room looking into the bathroom from the bedroom however there are blinds to pull down for privacy.

We ate at the MAC 24 restaurant for breakfast and the food was good, not amazing but good. The staff were friendly there and a lot of fun.

There was a laundry nearby for washing clothes.

Overall I would say the hotel was good. Nothing amazing and definitely worth it if you secure a cheap rate. If you were looking for high end 4-5 star I would look elsewhere but this hotel served us well and we absolutely loved our time in Waikiki.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.