We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Hilton Waikiki Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Hilton Waikiki Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Hotel Credit/Night
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
christchurch
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stay at Hilton Waikiki Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights before, then 1 night after, a 7 night NCL cruise of Hawai'i in December 2012. It is also known as the Hilton Prince Kuhio. It is a couple of blocks from the beach, but this suited us fine. Close enough to shops and restaurants. Rooms good. Second one quieter - overlooking the garden, rather than the road, which tended to be a little bit noisy. Staff very pleasant and helpful. They let us checkin about 10am on both occasions, even though on the second visit our allocated room was not ready when we arrived. They went to lengths to change our room to one that we could access straight away. Free wi-fi in the lobby very useful. Didn't eat inhouse so can't comment on the restaurants. Would use this hotel again if we ever return to Hawai'i.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    956
    267
    85
    29
See reviews for
423
1,022
170
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, SK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Waikiki Beach for 8 nights starting Jan 10, 2013. The hotel is located on a quiet part of Kuhio, one of the two main roads through Waikiki.

The rooms are excellent and only have a few quirks. First off, why do hotel designers want to make bathrooms more visible? There are beautiful glass windows that look into the bedroom area from the bathroom. There are blinds you can close but otherwise the other people in the room will see you using the facilities - kind of odd. Also the main closet is located in the bathroom - also unusual. The last downside - there is a lanai but it is so small to render it really not usable. If you want a lanai, look elsewhere.

Wireless internet is now available in guest rooms but its a $50/week charge PER device! I'd rather it be lumped into the room rate - who DOESN'T want Internet in this day and age? This is a big annoyance.

Having said that, the rooms ARE modern and comfortable. The service was really good and we loved the location. We had a room on the 18th floor facing the mountains and it was beautiful. It is worth the cost for upper floors. If you can find the money for a high floor ocean view, we'd highly recommend it.

Bus service is literally outside the door of the hotel. A trolley or The Bus will take you anywhere you want to go.

We used the concierge a couple of times and she was really helpful. They also allowed us a room for an hour the day we were leaving so we could freshen up after having been out and about after checking out. This allowed us to get ready for the long flight home.

Next time we are in Honolulu we will consider this property again. Its amenities and locations are considerable and we thought we got good value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The staff and hotel was amazing. Everything was a breeze and clean, we had the executive suite and loved it. Bar has amazing specials and the Max 24/7 is open all night and serves great food. Prime location close to everything, beach, food, shops!! We will be back Hilton Waikiki

Room Tip: The higher you go the more elite you feel. My friends had the president suite and that was beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our vacation this past summer. The location of the hotel is great. It is about 2 blocks from the ocean front (about a 5 minute walk). What I like about this hotel is that it is right in the middle of the “Waikiki Beach Strip”. So, all of the attractions of the beach are to the left and right and you on not stuck on the end. This hotel is well worth the savings for not staying “beach front” as the walk is really no big deal. It is still really easy to go back and forth from the beach.

The amenities of the hotel are great as the rooms are very modern. The beds, bathrooms, and TV’s are up to date. They even have hook-ups for your car if you have an electric car. Note, that they only have valet parking, no self-parking. It takes them a little while to retrieve your car so make sure you call down about 15 minutes before you are ready to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as you can still get ocean view rooms even though it is not ocean front but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice hotel. Recently renovated. Has a normal type pool area spacious with a bar and sun beds. Buildings nearby can block a bit of afternoon sun. Hotel is one block back from beach. Quiet nice hotel. Noticed a few business people and some families..not many because it doesnt have over the top kids stuff its not really a party type hotel either. A typical good Hilton. Rooms are lovely and comfortable, bathrooms are spacious and nice.. Higher floors are less noisy because of traffic noise. Short stays I would recommend. Beach directly at front ( one block) is good.

Room Tip: Higher floor or rooms facing inland are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Four of us are just back from a week at this hotel which we booked as part of a package deal. Check-in was easy, and we were able to get two rooms on the same floor with a mountain view. The rooms were as shown in the photos; neat and clean. The bathrooms were large with semi-translucent glass partitions between the bath & sleeping area. These have blinds for complete privacy. Our room with a king bed had a large glass shower instead of the regular tub & shower combination found in the standard room with two double beds. Everyone found the beds comfortable & the air conditioning adequate. We would often sit with the door open in the evenings, if it wasn't too windy.

There is no mini-bar, however there is a fridge and the hotel is directly across from one of Waikiki's ubiquitous ABC Stores. There are no bathrobes, which would be a nice-to-have addition to the room.

The first two nights we were woken up by whining pipes quite early in the morning. The sound only lasted for a few minutes. The staff was very apologetic and refunded our internet. The problem was fixed and we heard no more of it.

While the hotel is not on the beach, it is conveniently located only a short stroll from everything, including the beach, without being right in the centre of the commotion of Kalakaua.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Bc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for an amazing deal, great bang for buck if your okay with walking. If you want to do cheap, but still nice enough room/mattress and feel safe - I think this hotel nails it. Your close to the Waikiki beach (over-crowded) which has lots of eateries near by a crepe place & mcdonalds for cheap breakfast. We went to Ala Moana Beach everyday since the money we saved in hotel was enough for a rental car. We drove the island the whole week since we saved so much money. Wifi is questionable, i sometimes I could leech onto other wifi's in the area.

Room Tip: water view is nice, but don't pay a huge premium. Get a high floored room if so. We had the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.