We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Hilton Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Hotel Credit/Night
Ranked #17 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good comfortable close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice hotel. Recently renovated. Has a normal type pool area spacious with a bar and sun beds. Buildings nearby can block a bit of afternoon sun. Hotel is one block back from beach. Quiet nice hotel. Noticed a few business people and some families..not many because it doesnt have over the top kids stuff its not really a party type hotel either. A typical good Hilton. Rooms are lovely and comfortable, bathrooms are spacious and nice.. Higher floors are less noisy because of traffic noise. Short stays I would recommend. Beach directly at front ( one block) is good.

Room Tip: Higher floor or rooms facing inland are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    863
    771
    218
    75
    23
See reviews for
327
812
138
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Four of us are just back from a week at this hotel which we booked as part of a package deal. Check-in was easy, and we were able to get two rooms on the same floor with a mountain view. The rooms were as shown in the photos; neat and clean. The bathrooms were large with semi-translucent glass partitions between the bath & sleeping area. These have blinds for complete privacy. Our room with a king bed had a large glass shower instead of the regular tub & shower combination found in the standard room with two double beds. Everyone found the beds comfortable & the air conditioning adequate. We would often sit with the door open in the evenings, if it wasn't too windy.

There is no mini-bar, however there is a fridge and the hotel is directly across from one of Waikiki's ubiquitous ABC Stores. There are no bathrobes, which would be a nice-to-have addition to the room.

The first two nights we were woken up by whining pipes quite early in the morning. The sound only lasted for a few minutes. The staff was very apologetic and refunded our internet. The problem was fixed and we heard no more of it.

While the hotel is not on the beach, it is conveniently located only a short stroll from everything, including the beach, without being right in the centre of the commotion of Kalakaua.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Bc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for an amazing deal, great bang for buck if your okay with walking. If you want to do cheap, but still nice enough room/mattress and feel safe - I think this hotel nails it. Your close to the Waikiki beach (over-crowded) which has lots of eateries near by a crepe place & mcdonalds for cheap breakfast. We went to Ala Moana Beach everyday since the money we saved in hotel was enough for a rental car. We drove the island the whole week since we saved so much money. Wifi is questionable, i sometimes I could leech onto other wifi's in the area.

Room Tip: water view is nice, but don't pay a huge premium. Get a high floored room if so. We had the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent the first two nights of our three week Hawaiian vacation at the Hilton Waikiki Beach. I had chosen this spot for our initial stay for two reasons: I had won the two nights in a charity auction and the location was the furthest we would stay from the water during our entire trip. I knew that we would need at least two days to acclimate to the time change and to wrap up many unfinished business details we would be leaving behind.

As a business hotel, the property was perfect. Even though we were staying with the auction voucher, our Hilton Gold status was honored and we were given access to the Executive Lounge for breakfast, which we used, and evening hors d'oeuvres and dessert - which we missed. The Lounge also has a small number of computers with access to a printer. This also came in handy for us as to finish up our business needs.

The hotel is smaller than I had expected - with one tower, one 24/7 diner/restaurant, a lobby bar / lounge area and a small gift / sundry shop, there is little here that will distract the multitude of conference attendees that the hotel seems to cater to. For someone looking for a vacation resort property, however, there are better options nearby.

<b>Pros:</b>
• Walking distance to most of the best of Waikiki beach - two blocks from the ocean and the main drag of Waikiki with a multitude of entertainment, shopping and dining options.
• Very large flat screen TVs with High Definition service
• All around service levels were exemplary. Front desk was friendly and helpful, bell stand, valet and room service personnel were all prompt and extremely courteous
• Room service food was very good and the prices were very reasonable.

Cons:
• No bathtub in room with two double beds (Again - for a business traveler, ideal. For a family with small children, not so much)
• Executive Lounge breakfast was mediocre at best. Fresh fruit salad was pineapple, honeydew melon, cantaloupe and strawberries. Nothing we hadn’t already had that week in Salt Lake City
• Limited dining options on site. The one restaurant is open 24/7, but is very reminiscent of a diner.
• Gift shop is barely a convenience store - very small.
• Although we could easily see the ocean from our room, the only noise we heard, and heard loudly, was the traffic. Any thoughts of being lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves was squashed quickly when we opened our ocean view balcony door.

I would not hesitate to bring a conference to this property - it has everything in it I would be looking for in a meeting facility.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed at Hilton Waikiki in Dec 2012 and found the room and experience very good! I can't think of anything negative to say about the Hilton Waikiki Beach, only to say that we enjoyed the experience very much. The staff are friendly and helpful and location is great! Would recommend to anyone about to stay in Waikiki.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our final overnight after coming from Kauai back to O'ahu before our flight back to the mainland. The location at the end of Waikiki is easy to get to and the hotel proved to be a good option. We had two rooms on the 35th floor, which provides a stunning view out over the beach. Enjoyed dinner in the Mac 24 restaurant - big portion sizes, great menu, and good service.

As a Diamond Hhonors member, I had a complimentary breakfast in the executive lounge. To be frank, it was Hampton Inn quality. Disappointing. But it was free- so I guess I got what I paid for!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our first holiday in Hawaii, we selected the Hilton due to location and ocean view room. We were not disappointed the room was spacious, exceptionally clean, comfortable king size bed and fantastic ocean view room. The hotel location is great away from all the busy beachfront. Trolley bus at the front of the hotel also easy walk to the beachfront. We visited during the busy Christmas - New Year period and walked into the lobby areas of the beachfront hotels - so glad we choose the Hilton it was much less frantic and noisey.

Staff were all helpfull, polite and obliging. Concierge booked all our tours was very helpfull and efficient. Housekeeping staff are excellent, willing to assist nothing is too much trouble and greeted us whenever we walked by.

The only negative is the fitness centre, too small not enough floor mats or room to stretch. Would have loved a rowing machine.

Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will recommend the Hilton Waikiki.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 23rd floor ocean view - quiet and great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. An exciting new addition is MAC 24-7 featuring modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.