We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Hotel, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Hilton Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Hotel Credit/Night
Ranked #18 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, British Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Affordable Hotel, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Four of us are just back from a week at this hotel which we booked as part of a package deal. Check-in was easy, and we were able to get two rooms on the same floor with a mountain view. The rooms were as shown in the photos; neat and clean. The bathrooms were large with semi-translucent glass partitions between the bath & sleeping area. These have blinds for complete privacy. Our room with a king bed had a large glass shower instead of the regular tub & shower combination found in the standard room with two double beds. Everyone found the beds comfortable & the air conditioning adequate. We would often sit with the door open in the evenings, if it wasn't too windy.

There is no mini-bar, however there is a fridge and the hotel is directly across from one of Waikiki's ubiquitous ABC Stores. There are no bathrobes, which would be a nice-to-have addition to the room.

The first two nights we were woken up by whining pipes quite early in the morning. The sound only lasted for a few minutes. The staff was very apologetic and refunded our internet. The problem was fixed and we heard no more of it.

While the hotel is not on the beach, it is conveniently located only a short stroll from everything, including the beach, without being right in the centre of the commotion of Kalakaua.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    938
    850
    240
    75
    25
See reviews for
373
891
154
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley, Bc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for an amazing deal, great bang for buck if your okay with walking. If you want to do cheap, but still nice enough room/mattress and feel safe - I think this hotel nails it. Your close to the Waikiki beach (over-crowded) which has lots of eateries near by a crepe place & mcdonalds for cheap breakfast. We went to Ala Moana Beach everyday since the money we saved in hotel was enough for a rental car. We drove the island the whole week since we saved so much money. Wifi is questionable, i sometimes I could leech onto other wifi's in the area.

Room Tip: water view is nice, but don't pay a huge premium. Get a high floored room if so. We had the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent the first two nights of our three week Hawaiian vacation at the Hilton Waikiki Beach. I had chosen this spot for our initial stay for two reasons: I had won the two nights in a charity auction and the location was the furthest we would stay from the water during our entire trip. I knew that we would need at least two days to acclimate to the time change and to wrap up many unfinished business details we would be leaving behind.

As a business hotel, the property was perfect. Even though we were staying with the auction voucher, our Hilton Gold status was honored and we were given access to the Executive Lounge for breakfast, which we used, and evening hors d'oeuvres and dessert - which we missed. The Lounge also has a small number of computers with access to a printer. This also came in handy for us as to finish up our business needs.

The hotel is smaller than I had expected - with one tower, one 24/7 diner/restaurant, a lobby bar / lounge area and a small gift / sundry shop, there is little here that will distract the multitude of conference attendees that the hotel seems to cater to. For someone looking for a vacation resort property, however, there are better options nearby.

<b>Pros:</b>
• Walking distance to most of the best of Waikiki beach - two blocks from the ocean and the main drag of Waikiki with a multitude of entertainment, shopping and dining options.
• Very large flat screen TVs with High Definition service
• All around service levels were exemplary. Front desk was friendly and helpful, bell stand, valet and room service personnel were all prompt and extremely courteous
• Room service food was very good and the prices were very reasonable.

Cons:
• No bathtub in room with two double beds (Again - for a business traveler, ideal. For a family with small children, not so much)
• Executive Lounge breakfast was mediocre at best. Fresh fruit salad was pineapple, honeydew melon, cantaloupe and strawberries. Nothing we hadn’t already had that week in Salt Lake City
• Limited dining options on site. The one restaurant is open 24/7, but is very reminiscent of a diner.
• Gift shop is barely a convenience store - very small.
• Although we could easily see the ocean from our room, the only noise we heard, and heard loudly, was the traffic. Any thoughts of being lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves was squashed quickly when we opened our ocean view balcony door.

I would not hesitate to bring a conference to this property - it has everything in it I would be looking for in a meeting facility.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed at Hilton Waikiki in Dec 2012 and found the room and experience very good! I can't think of anything negative to say about the Hilton Waikiki Beach, only to say that we enjoyed the experience very much. The staff are friendly and helpful and location is great! Would recommend to anyone about to stay in Waikiki.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our final overnight after coming from Kauai back to O'ahu before our flight back to the mainland. The location at the end of Waikiki is easy to get to and the hotel proved to be a good option. We had two rooms on the 35th floor, which provides a stunning view out over the beach. Enjoyed dinner in the Mac 24 restaurant - big portion sizes, great menu, and good service.

As a Diamond Hhonors member, I had a complimentary breakfast in the executive lounge. To be frank, it was Hampton Inn quality. Disappointing. But it was free- so I guess I got what I paid for!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our first holiday in Hawaii, we selected the Hilton due to location and ocean view room. We were not disappointed the room was spacious, exceptionally clean, comfortable king size bed and fantastic ocean view room. The hotel location is great away from all the busy beachfront. Trolley bus at the front of the hotel also easy walk to the beachfront. We visited during the busy Christmas - New Year period and walked into the lobby areas of the beachfront hotels - so glad we choose the Hilton it was much less frantic and noisey.

Staff were all helpfull, polite and obliging. Concierge booked all our tours was very helpfull and efficient. Housekeeping staff are excellent, willing to assist nothing is too much trouble and greeted us whenever we walked by.

The only negative is the fitness centre, too small not enough floor mats or room to stretch. Would have loved a rowing machine.

Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will recommend the Hilton Waikiki.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 23rd floor ocean view - quiet and great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I recently spent 11 nights at this Hilton on Waikiki Beach. The location is great, although if you have ideals of beachfront Mai Tais on sunset, which I had, then this isn't the place for you. The hotel is one block back from the main beach, a short stroll, but frustrating once you have visited other hotels that are right on the beach. The rooms were excellent in terms of size, cleanliness and affordability. The fitness facility is also very good for those wanting to maintain their exercise on holiday. I do, however, criticise, a few things - merely so that readers know what they are getting with their rooms. Firstly, the lack of mini bar services in the rooms (although I soon learned this is common for most 4 star hotels in Hawaii). A lack of free in-room wi-fi (again something that is common for Hawaiian hotels). The room service menus were outdated leading me to have an argument over the phone with a service attendant when ordering something from the menu which was no longer available. I also had problems ordering, what sounded like a delicious coconut and pineapple muffin each day, for a myriad of reasons ranging from a New Years' Day shortage to simply not being something that should have been listed on the menu. My advice is to ditch the hotel food and get out and find some 'all American-sized local delights' anyway. Finally, the pool of this hotel, in comparison to its competitors, is disappointing. Very small, situated on the 10th floor facing away from the sunshine for most of the day. Thankfully, the weather beckons you to the beach front most days! I would say that if you are looking for luxury then this isn't the best choice - try the Royal Hawaiian, Sheraton, Modern or Haleukelani. But if you want affordable, 4 star accommodation, without the full range of luxury (and often expensive) trimmings then you can't go wrong with the Hilton.

Room Tip: The Ocean View Rooms are a must if you're in Hawaii for surf and sunshine. Given this hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.