We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ocean views, service very average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Hilton Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Hotel Credit/Night
Ranked #17 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great ocean views, service very average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After a 9 hour flight the only thing I want to do is a have a shower and freshen up. Did I feel welcome when I checked in, no. Very average front office service I did ask for an rough time when the room is ready to go, however no one could tell me. After 3 or so hours later the room was ready to go.
Rooms are clean and modern, the bed's very comfortable and house keeping very friendly. Free wifi at the lobby, a decent gym with free weights. A bit disappointing with the pool area, the bar seemed to be sticky and run down. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    864
    771
    218
    75
    23
See reviews for
327
813
138
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The rooms are pretty small. We stayed in one of the nicest rooms on the property with ocean view and it was still really small. The location of the property is terrible. This hotel is a block or two from the beach. I knew this before booking it. But its not like staying on the beach walk where the Embassy suites is. The hotel is in a dirty nasty part of town. Its pretty smelly on the streets near the hotel. For how expensive this place is, its a terrible value. After a few days we decided to move hotels. I was nervous about moving hotels but I am glad we did. We got a room at the Hyatt down the street. At the Hyatt I felt like I was at a real resort. They have people serving drinks and towels at the pool. The rooms were much bigger and we got an ocean view and we didn't have to look as some nasty building before seeing the ocean. The hotel is right across the street from the beach. Not sure why so many people rated this hotel so high. They must have not had anything to compare it to.

Now the good. The hotel itself is very clean as it was recently remodeled. The overall property is in great shape. The pool is and pool area is really nice and the hot tub is really hot (which I like). The staff and management of this place is really great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay with us. I would like to send my deepest apologies that our property wasn’t up to your expectations. I would also like to say, I am happy that the rest of your vacation turned out well. Aloha.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Pros:
- Short walk to Waikiki beach - about two blocks away from the beach. This property is not right on the beach.
- Clean rooms (once they find you one :-)) - Took us 45 mins to get one, after we checked in late at 9pm.
- OK breakfast.

Cons:
- Poor customer service
- Not as close to the beach as others; for example, Hilton Hawaiian Village has its own beach and lagoon.
- Expensive parking; Only Valet

We booked a seven night stay at this hotel and as a Hilton Diamond member I had high hopes. In fact, everyone deserves great customer service, not just preferred members. Well... not so much; not at this property. This was my worst experience with Hilton. If you're looking for a recommendation, Hilton Hawaiian Village (has a beach) is much better and worth it.

Not sure if this happened because the property was super busy due to the Marathon event but the staff couldn't keep up but inevitably this property lacks what others have to offer in the area. Issues we ran into were... 1) We were first checked into a room that was not cleaned, 2) Took a long time to find another room, 3) Didn't get the courtesy bottles of water (never had to run to the grocery store after checking in) 4) No apologies offered...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Aloha, thank you for staying with us and being a loyal Hilton guest. Additionally, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and provide us with valuable feedback that will help us to better ourselves for future guests. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of service that you received during your stay. We strive on a daily basis to provide the best possible customer service, and it upsets me to hear that is not what you experienced. I will be sure to discuss these situations with the housekeeping and front office staff and figure out why this occurred. Please do not hesitate to contact me so that we can rectify this and show you that we are worth giving a second chance. Mahalo

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just departed this hotel on Dec. 4. Once again a wonderful trip, great hotel and the staff, including housekeeping, are always friendly and happy to help out. I'm not sure if the staff is always happy or if it is the environment they work in but it is always a nice experience for the hotel guest.We come back to this hotel time after time because of the people, the rooms are great and the location works. You are not right on the beach but being one block away has it's advantages.Number one is you are not on the mainstreet oposite the beach which can be noisy, day and night if you get a city facing room(about half of all rooms).Number two, the hilton seems to a little less expensive than the beach hotels but is only a 3-5 minute walk away. Three, a lot of the hotels with big physical properties charge extra resort fees, which this hilton does not.And finally, location,location and location. Your in the heart of Waikiki, a few minutes walk to restaurants, shopping,the zoo and anything else you can imagine. If you do not rent a car which can be difficult and expensive to park, the city bus takes you over the entire island and they have daily and weekly passes for tourists which you can buy at the abc stores. These stores are on just about every street corner including the one opposite the hotel on Kuhio Blvd.My go-to person at this hotel is Nick Casabar. He always has a friendly smile, always tries to help with any requests and goes out of his way to make sure the hotel guest is happy. You cannot ask for more and that is why we keep coming back!

Room Tip: Mac 24/7 banana split, the best six dollars you can spend on a hot day. Mountain facing rooms are co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I just wanted to send out a Big Mahalo for being a return guest of ours and also for your amazing review! We are delighted you enjoy staying with us whenever you come back to Oahu. Thank you also for the great tips about our property for other TripAdvisors. Aloha!

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Waikiki Beach for 8 nights with my family. We had four rooms, two people in each - two rooms were mountain view and two were deluxe ocean view.

The rooms are great! They are spacious, sparkling clean, modern and the bed is so comfortable! They are also super quiet - couldn't hear a peep!

With five elevators, we never waited more than a minute for the elevator. The pool on the 10th floor is beautiful, especially at sunset. The pool is refreshing and the spa feels amazing after a day on your feet.

The only improvements that could be made are to the gym and the restaurant Mac 24/7. The gym is quite small and smells a bit damp. The food at the restaurant is great, the only downside is the timing of service. We would order our breakfast promptly each morning and it would take at least 25mins just to have cereal served. One morning it took the staff 15mins after I ordered for them to advise me that they didn't have the cereal I'd ordered.

Apart from those two minor issues, the hotel is great! The hotel staff are very courteous and helpful. The location of the hotel is ideal - within easy walking distance of the huge strip of shops and restaurants along Waikiki Beach. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone! :D

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so very much for your 5 star review! I am excited to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed the rooms. I do want to apologize about the service in the restaurant, we are currently working on that to better ourselves for our future guests. Mahalo!

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in early November and had the best time while here. Staff were friendly and very helpful, rooms beautifully furnished, and standards of housekeeping very high. Location is great, only a couple of minutes walk to beach, and close to all the action of Waikiki. Everything is only a few minutes walk. After arriving on a very uncomfortable overnight flight from Sydney, we were at our hotel by ten in the morning and our room was ready - so from the start, a fantastic 6 day stay with ocean views on the 19th floor. We ate in the cafe a couple of times and food is great! Great bathroom products and fantastic beds - would certainly stay at Hilton Waikiki again! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Mahalo for your fantastic review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed every bit of the property. We can't wait to see you again. Aloha!

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Reception staff very friendly and helpful. In fact all the staff were friendly. Our room was lovely. 29th floor with balcony. Great views of Waikiki Beach. Restaurant, Coffee Bar, and Market Shop. Hotel is in a great location. Minutes from the beach and main shopping, restaurant area. If we were to return we would stay here again. Enough said !

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better view of the Sea. Very low floors would not be good. Check to make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I just wanted to send out a Big Mahalo for your excellent review. I am thrilled that your enjoyed our property and location. The views really are amazing! Aloha

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. An exciting new addition is MAC 24-7 featuring modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.