We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard 2 bed bedrooms” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Hilton Waikiki Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Standard 2 bed bedrooms”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed on level 3 which overlooked the back area of the hotel. There is no guest security on this level as part of the floor is available for functions. Noise from the bathrooms directly above kept us awake for much of the night and to ensure that we could not sleep, an emergency light flashed iridescent green every 5 seconds. If anyone went to the bathroom during the night, even with the blinds closed, everyone who may have nodded off, woke up with the light flooding the bedroom. There were 4 of us booked into the room, but we only had 3 towels, we asked twice over 2 nights for an extra towel, but in vain. Frequently the air conditioning smelt of cigarette smoke and the AC could not hold the nominated temperature. Reasonable location, but if you are on a budget and book a standard room, look elsewhere before booking.

Room Tip: Pay for other than a standard room and it may be OK, but check out other hotels before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Hilton Waikiki Beach while staying in Honolulu and I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We take all reviews into serious consideration to better ourselves for future guests. Please accept my sincere apologies that the room design and décor did not meet your expectations. Additionally, allow me to apologize for the noise from other rooms and the lighting arrangement. They are not comments that we often receive, but we will most certainly monitor for the future comfort of our valued guests. Lastly, I am very sorry that our housekeeping department did not provide you with the correct amount of towels, even after asking twice. I too find this unacceptable and will address this with the staff. Again, thank you for staying with us, and if I may be of further assistance in the future, please feel free to contact me directly. We would love another opportunity to create a far improved experience for you!

Mahalo

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    1,030
    290
    93
    33
See reviews for
453
1,109
181
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here mid-nov 2012, executive level room on 36th floor away from the lifts. Stayed for 5 nights. Didnt hear any other guests in our room at any stage. Housekeeping did a great job, always left them a $5 tip and always came back to a spotless room.
Cant rate the beds highly enough, probably the most comfortable sleep I have ever had.
I actually chose this hotel for its location, as we prefer to walk and Waikiki isnt that large anyway. Cant really understand why people rate this hotel down for its location, Google Maps would have alerted you to the fact its a block from the beach with a minimum of research. Its pretty much halfway between the Ala Wai Canal and Wakiki Beach, and with trolleys and The Bus stopping basically at the front door you can get anywhere you need to even if you dont feel like walking. ABC store located right across the road so very easy to stock up on snacks and drinks whenever you needed.
I found all staff to be excellent from the front desk, to the wait staff to housekeeping. Everyone had a smile on their face, and dealt with all queries efficiently. Ate at MAC24/7 twice, once for dinner and once for a late breakfast. On both occasions the food was great, in fact their pancakes are among the best I have tasted anywhere.
Only (very small) gripe I would have would be with the executive lounge which is nowhere near big enough (even in Nov there was a wait to find a spare seat for breakfast).
If travelling as a couple would definately stay here again, however if coming as a family I would probably have to compare with some more child-friendly venues before making a decision.
You pay a little less with the hotel not being on the beach, however its still a Hilton so its a great option if you want to spend some money on more luxurious accomodation without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Corner executive rooms have a large lanai enabling you to see both the mountains and the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is not on the main drag of Waikiki but just a short walk to the beach. We are HH members and there was a slight misunderstanding on check in but was quickly resloved. My only issue with this hotel is with the executive level perks. Light Breakfast and Afternoon Snacks are served on the lower level of the hotel. It is rather small and had little or no air conditioning with no view (City view, Ocean view would have been nice). It was tucked away almost in the basement. As a Hilton Gold member I would think this would be on an upper floor with seating and some sort of view. When we went down to the lounge there was no where to sit with our food and beverages and some were on the stairs or sitting on the ledge in the computer area. Not executive style to us so we left and ate elsewhere. The room was wonderful..clean confortable and well appointed. Yes we did have an ocean view and it was spectacular. We would stay again on our next visit to Hawaii and would hope the executive level lounge would be relocated out of the basement area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Not very happy with this hotel. One of the "old school " Hiltons i call them. Poor design, Staff helpful, but the results arent very good because of (management ???) ie. Helpful waiter, but the restaurant food was extremely dissapointing. Had a couple meals there and not happy with anything. To summarize the food - someone thinks that making EVERYTHING "special" ; like smoked pepper bacon, with potatoes with some sort of red spice coating, with ...... you name it- will add up to a great breakfast. It doesn't.
The elevators and the restaurant entrance are in the same ten square feet despite a massive lobby. You end up fighting your way through a crowd of every other guest to get to one or the other. the room- not well laid out or restful, and the color scheme was a slap in the face. Bright yellow and red/purple walls and carpeting in the hall.
Room design average or worse- A fellow traveler almost walked into the glass window in the bathroom wall in the middle of the night. Shower water flow not even close to adequate.
Work out room is small. Pool is small. etc. I think it's basically an overflow hotel for business personnel from other sites.
As for location, it is on Waikiki- but a couple blocks from the beach and Kalakaua Ave. They claim one block, but it's a Loooonnnggg block If you want to be at a Hilton and near a beach, make sure you're at the Hawaiian Village.
Once you've stayed at the Hyatt or Marriott, or one of the hotels right on the beach, it's a pretty big let-down......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HiltonWaikiki, General Manager at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We regret we were not able to provide you with the dining experience you expected. We are constantly updating our menu offerings and your comments will help us improve in this area. We will also keep your comments in mind as we work to update and improve our property to provide the best guest experience possibly for all guests. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.

Thomas Foti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The first 2 days of our trip were at the Hilton Waikiki. It's a great location to walk anywhere in Waikiki. Our first morning,we walked Waikiki Beach. Then we walked to Honolulu Coffee for a wake up. The balcony overlooking the beach was great and the side view of Diamond Head was great at sunrise.
The cafe in the hotel is open 24 hours. Try the Pho style soup. Room service to get the day started is great. Don't forget the coffee maker in the cabinet, as we did for the 2 day stay. Kona coffee awaits.
2 blocks away is the Honolulu Zoo,it's a great place to go.

Room Tip: Don't get the "city view". Go for the "mountain view" or "ocean view&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel was very nice and the location is only one block away from the beach. The staff were also very friendly

One thing that annoyed me was that you had to pay for wifi unless you went to the foyer. I think that wifi should be free to all guests as it should no longer be considered a luxury. I have stayed in hotels that charge 1/3rd of what the Hilton charge and the provide free wifi, so it seems like a bit of a revenue earner to milk some further cash from patrons.

Also it is possible to have the shower screen glass perfectly clean without soap build up. Maybe the cleaning products need to be adjusted.

However having said that it is still a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very nice hotel. Great location. At about 1 block away from Waikiki beach you get the closeness of everything without all the noise of being right on the beach. Beautiful room with a small deck, comfortable bed, nice tv and really nice shower. Only negative was the showerhead. For a nice glass and tile shower, I would expect a nicer showerhead.

Really nice pool located on the roof, it was big with a hot tub and bar and lots of chairs available. The restaurant was great. The restaurant has a pancake challenge that was features on Man vs. Food. While it’s way more pancake than is needed, they are absolutely delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful when asked about questions things to do, bus routes and restaurants.

Only other negative comment is that they charge for internet access. It’s free in the restaurant and the lobby, but it’s not available for free in your room.

Would definitely recommend the Hilton Waikiki beach to my friends.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have less noise than lower rooms, we had a mountain view room, which was very nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.