We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean if a little sterile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Hilton Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Hotel Credit/Night
Ranked #20 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Clean if a little sterile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Moved here from the Sherton PK and it's newer but curiously sole less. There trying hard to be Hawain but struggle to pull it off. More corporate than I hoped. But don't let me discourage you. If your looking for this sort of thing it's fine

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    951
    861
    242
    80
    25
See reviews for
381
903
155
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hidden gem remains provides a respite from the nearby hustle and bustle of Waikiki, but still just steps form the beach. You will not find a more friendly staff or better service, even at resorts charging three times more. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable, and quiet with easy lobby access and no mobs at the elevators. Whether breath-taking mountain side or the heart-stopping ocean horizon, whichever view you choose, you will not be disappointed. I wish I worked here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This property was previously the Prince Kuhio Hotel, and is just one short block away from the heart of Waikiki Beach. Far enough away to avoid the noise and challenges of the beach, but close enough for an easy stroll. The lobby and common area are gorgeous. My room on the 35th floor was very well appointed (not "OMG INCREDIBLE" but very nice) but the bathroom was GORGEOUS! No tub, but a very large and enjoyable shower (if you really want a tub, be sure to ask for a room with a bathtub). Staff was extremely helpful and accommodating - from the front desk, to the concierge, to the bellmen and the auto valets. There are only 2 drawbacks from point of view: #1. Parking. This is a valet only hotel, so you have to allow time for the valet to bring your car down. Not a huge deal, but keep that in mind if you have a car. #2. Executive Lounge is not "Executive". This only applies to guests with access to the Executive Lounge, but it looks and feels more like an employee lounge. Not up to par with other Hilton Executive Lounges at all. Two minor drawbacks. I will definitely stay at this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: I had a room that had a "mountain view", which was actually better than the ocean view. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Arrived before checkin and was upgraded to Ocean view room, staff very friendly and helpful. Has a great view of the beach and is close walking distance to everything, only one block to the beach. The beds are so comfortable. Very good value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkersville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've been staying here for 5 weeks on business and the staff and facilities are great! Only a block to the beach. Ester in the executive lounge is one of the most friendly and cheerful people I've met she is truely an asset to the facility. Strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is very nice and the rooms are great.The pool is nothing special, rather small actually, but then again the ocean is 5 minutes away.The restaurants are good and the beach is lovely.I've never been disappointed when we've stayed at this Hilton and the value is very good for a beach front property on Waikiki.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

As my motto for all who know me is planning, execution and detail, this Hilton property actually is so perfect for my needs that it makes my life so easy. As this location, perfection starts at the top with General Manager Nick Foti and Guest Service Manager Nick Casabar, two gentlemen I had never met on previous trips, but made us feel like old friends which is admittedly difficult at big chain hotel. I mention them, not just because of their greeting(s), but their genuine sincerity and willingness to be of service that is found with every member of the hotel that we encountered.

Now for the details. The hotel is a long one block (less than five minutes) walk to the beach at the far east end of Waikiki near the zoo. For us the location is great, because the beach is so close yet you are away from the hustle and bustle of the beachfront. If you are fortunate enough to have a high floor facing the ocean so much the better. Sitting on the lanai watching the sunset is awesome. The rooms are nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable. A refrigerator, safe and flat screen HD TV are all in the room.

Also, if you are a Hilton Honors member (Gold or better I think) then a full hot breakfast and snacks in the evening are included in your stay. The pool area is also very nice. The gym is adequate (not a Precor fan), but fortunately there is a great 24 Hour Fitness at the beach near the hotel which is top notch.

If you want to save some bucks, and have a car here are some recommendations. Going back to the planning, execution and detail part, I have this trip down to such a science that we fly in from San Francisco to arrive just before noon on Friday. Parking adjacent to the Ala Wei Canal (two blocks) is free and street cleaning (tow away) is Friday and Monday 8:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m.), so parking is plentiful and FREE by the time we arrive around 1 p.m. We used the car almost every day and always found a spot on the canal. However, if you are not as anal (okay cheap) as me, the Banyan Parking lot directly east of the hotel is $14.00 for 24 hours with in and out privileges. I have used this in the past but didn't need it (parking karma) this trip. Both these options are better than the $25 (valet only) parking at the hotel, (sorry Nick).

One other thing. If you want to avoid the overpriced food on Waikiki this hotel is very close to a neighborhood on the other side of the canal (easy walk). There the food is amazing and cheap and authentic Hawaiian. We especially enjoyed Ono Hawaiian and Wailea Shave Ice, both within easy walking distance away from the beach.

In summary, a great place, with a great staff, in a great location. Did I mention great? Mahalo!!

Room Tip: Anything with an even number will face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.