We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, gorgeous common areas, sumptuous bathroom!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Hilton Waikiki Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Hotel Credit/Night
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, gorgeous common areas, sumptuous bathroom!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This property was previously the Prince Kuhio Hotel, and is just one short block away from the heart of Waikiki Beach. Far enough away to avoid the noise and challenges of the beach, but close enough for an easy stroll. The lobby and common area are gorgeous. My room on the 35th floor was very well appointed (not "OMG INCREDIBLE" but very nice) but the bathroom was GORGEOUS! No tub, but a very large and enjoyable shower (if you really want a tub, be sure to ask for a room with a bathtub). Staff was extremely helpful and accommodating - from the front desk, to the concierge, to the bellmen and the auto valets. There are only 2 drawbacks from point of view: #1. Parking. This is a valet only hotel, so you have to allow time for the valet to bring your car down. Not a huge deal, but keep that in mind if you have a car. #2. Executive Lounge is not "Executive". This only applies to guests with access to the Executive Lounge, but it looks and feels more like an employee lounge. Not up to par with other Hilton Executive Lounges at all. Two minor drawbacks. I will definitely stay at this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: I had a room that had a "mountain view", which was actually better than the ocean view. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    951
    265
    86
    28
See reviews for
420
1,014
169
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Arrived before checkin and was upgraded to Ocean view room, staff very friendly and helpful. Has a great view of the beach and is close walking distance to everything, only one block to the beach. The beds are so comfortable. Very good value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkersville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've been staying here for 5 weeks on business and the staff and facilities are great! Only a block to the beach. Ester in the executive lounge is one of the most friendly and cheerful people I've met she is truely an asset to the facility. Strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is very nice and the rooms are great.The pool is nothing special, rather small actually, but then again the ocean is 5 minutes away.The restaurants are good and the beach is lovely.I've never been disappointed when we've stayed at this Hilton and the value is very good for a beach front property on Waikiki.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

As my motto for all who know me is planning, execution and detail, this Hilton property actually is so perfect for my needs that it makes my life so easy. As this location, perfection starts at the top with General Manager Nick Foti and Guest Service Manager Nick Casabar, two gentlemen I had never met on previous trips, but made us feel like old friends which is admittedly difficult at big chain hotel. I mention them, not just because of their greeting(s), but their genuine sincerity and willingness to be of service that is found with every member of the hotel that we encountered.

Now for the details. The hotel is a long one block (less than five minutes) walk to the beach at the far east end of Waikiki near the zoo. For us the location is great, because the beach is so close yet you are away from the hustle and bustle of the beachfront. If you are fortunate enough to have a high floor facing the ocean so much the better. Sitting on the lanai watching the sunset is awesome. The rooms are nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable. A refrigerator, safe and flat screen HD TV are all in the room.

Also, if you are a Hilton Honors member (Gold or better I think) then a full hot breakfast and snacks in the evening are included in your stay. The pool area is also very nice. The gym is adequate (not a Precor fan), but fortunately there is a great 24 Hour Fitness at the beach near the hotel which is top notch.

If you want to save some bucks, and have a car here are some recommendations. Going back to the planning, execution and detail part, I have this trip down to such a science that we fly in from San Francisco to arrive just before noon on Friday. Parking adjacent to the Ala Wei Canal (two blocks) is free and street cleaning (tow away) is Friday and Monday 8:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m.), so parking is plentiful and FREE by the time we arrive around 1 p.m. We used the car almost every day and always found a spot on the canal. However, if you are not as anal (okay cheap) as me, the Banyan Parking lot directly east of the hotel is $14.00 for 24 hours with in and out privileges. I have used this in the past but didn't need it (parking karma) this trip. Both these options are better than the $25 (valet only) parking at the hotel, (sorry Nick).

One other thing. If you want to avoid the overpriced food on Waikiki this hotel is very close to a neighborhood on the other side of the canal (easy walk). There the food is amazing and cheap and authentic Hawaiian. We especially enjoyed Ono Hawaiian and Wailea Shave Ice, both within easy walking distance away from the beach.

In summary, a great place, with a great staff, in a great location. Did I mention great? Mahalo!!

Room Tip: Anything with an even number will face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svenfly2
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is very nice and the rooms are great. Big walk in shower, bathroom overall is great. The beds are comfortable, comfy comforter. The location is ok, but not great. It's a 5 minute walk to get to the beach. The hotel is located right behind the Marriott, but again it's close enough to all the restaurants and Waikiki Beach. The pool is nothing special, rather small actually, but then again the ocean is 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hilton Waikiki is a lovely hotel, but there are better options on Waikiki and much better options on Oahu. The resturants are good and the beach is lovely, but the hotels at the other end of the Waikiki offer better views and more entertainment options nearby. We've never been disappointed when we've stayed at this Hilton and the value is very good for a beach front property on Waikiki.

Room Tip: The view is worth the extra money. Look for upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.