We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for the Honolulu Marathon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Hilton Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Waikiki Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Hotel Credit/Night
Ranked #18 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stayed here for the Honolulu Marathon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

It's within short jogging distance from the Honolulu Zoo (finish line of the Honolulu Marathon). I was able to head over there for the shuttle to the start and walk back to the hotel after the race. Everything I would expect out of a Hilton property.

If you have a car, park next door it's much cheaper than the valet.

Room Tip: If you have a car, park next door it's much cheaper than the valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctaylor1, Director of Sales at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your 5 star review, I am glad that you enjoyed yourself while you were here for the Honolulu Marathon. Also, thank you for pointing out our location. Hope you had safe travels home and hope you stay with us for the next marathon!

Aloha and Mahalo!

Christopher Taylor
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    933
    836
    237
    76
    25
See reviews for
359
883
151
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My review will focus almost exclusively on our room, because we stayed here only one night (our last leg of our multi-island trip) so we did nothing more than sleep here. That being said, the room was amazing! The interior of the hotel is a little bold for my taste, but the room itself was much bigger and nicer than I expected. I pictured a "typical" Hilton room, but this room was huge, with very modern and nice furnishings, and an extremely large TV. The best part was the bathroom, which was truly lux in its size and finishings (the shower itself could have fit a dozen people in it!) The room also had a nice view (I am attaching a night picture). I certainly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctaylor1, Director of Sales at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your great 5 star review. I am glad that we exceeded your expectations with the room layout. We receive quite a bit of positive feedback about our bathrooms. Too bad you only could stay with us for one night but that means you have a good excuse to come back and stay with us a little longer. Hope you had safe travels home.

Aloha and Mahalo!

Christopher Taylor
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

It was the first time visiting Hawaii for our vacation. The location of the hotel is good, a block away from the waikiki beach and shops. When we arrived there the staff at the front desk was not so friendly and we are gold members at the hilton.. With that we could access the executive lounge and we asked one of the maids and she told us to go to the very top of the hotel which wasn't the case! So we made our ways back to the main level and it was in the basement. Nobody asked us how we are.. Not so much of aloha experience! The breakfast that was included in our stay was good and the staffs there were friendly. When we checked out again the staff did not even ask how our stay went or anything.. Overall the hotel was ok I really liked the fact it was very clean but the customer service was very poor which doesnt really make us wanna come back to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctaylor1, Director of Sales at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments and thank you for staying with us on your Hawaiian vacation. I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations while staying with us. We generally receive positive feedback when it comes to front desk service, and I am sorry that you didn’t get to experience that Aloha spirit that we strive to offer. We have just changed the offerings in the Executive Lounge and I am glad to hear your breakfast was good. I hope you had safe travels home. Mahalo.

Christopher Taylor
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I have stayed at Hilton all over the world with no fear of having anything stolen. While I stayed at the Waikiki Hilton a $125.00 Swim Suit was stolen. I contacted the hotel and they said "Housekeeping did not turn in a swim suit". Seriously? do they think Housekeeping is going to say I found a swim suit but stole it? I am really upset at their lack of caring. Not even as much as an apology.

Room Tip: Stay away or lock up everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctaylor1, Director of Sales at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments and bringing this to our attention, as we take these matters seriously. Please accept my sincere apologies for the loss of your swim suit as this is not something that happens here. After reading the review this morning, our Loss Prevention Department conducted a thorough investigation dating from January 1st through today and has found no record of a lost or found swim suit. Again, I do apologize for this occurrence and if you would like, please contact me directly so that I may get detailed information to investigate further. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again so that we can make it up to you.

Christopher Taylor
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln,California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in 1981, when i was fairly new. Fantastic! We came back last for our 30th celebration. Again,Fantastic!
Very clean rooms.Great beds! Everything was brand new!
Obviously it has been remodeled.
Many people who write reviews here complain that it is noisy. It is on a main street! When you close the sliding door it is very quiet!
I would stay here on future trips! Only two blocks from the beach and a wonderful ocean view!
The restaurant downstairs,MAC 24/7 was amazing! Huge portions you could split,and for Hawaii,a great value! Check this hotel out! If your not a rich snob,you will be pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctaylor1, Director of Sales at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Congratulations on your 30th celebration! Thank you very much for your great review. I am happy to hear that you got to experience now, what you got to experience in 1981, FANTASTIC! Also, thank you for pointing out the great things about our location, only two blocks from the beach yet still with wonderful ocean views. Hope you had safe travels home and please come back to see us soon or at least on your 50th!

Aloha and Mahalo!

Christopher Taylor
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Had a great time in Waikiki despite some rainy weather. Stayed at the Hilton Waikiki Beach right on Kuhio Ave which is about a 3 minute to the beach. Fantastic hotel, great staff, great value.

A word of caution however about getting there. Stay away from Speedi Shuttle. They are a terrible shuttle service. We prepaid for our return trip to the airport and they were supposed to call us the day before to confirm the pick-up time....no one called. They were supposed to pick us up at a time THEY specified....they were more than 30 minutes late, and no one called to let us know what was happening. It was only after persistent calling that we were able to get information about where our shuttle was, and as a result, we were late getting to the airport and missed our flight.

Hilton Waikiki Beach: EXCELLENT
Speedi Shuttle: TERRIBLE

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctaylor1, Director of Sales at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your great 5 star review. Sorry about the weather, but I am glad that you got to enjoy yourself. I hope you had safe travels home, please come see us again in the near future. Also, sorry about missing your flight – I know that could be a headache.

Aloha and Mahalo!

Christopher Taylor
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed at this property at the end of February for 3 nights.

The rooms are exceptional and spacious and the higher floors afford a view of the beach and diamond head.

The bathrooms are very large. The lobby restaurant is open 24 hours daily which is a great feature and the food is okay quality. The room was extremely clean and the bed exceptionally comfortable.

We enjoyed happy hour and the entertainment.

I would rate this hotel highly because of its location near shopping, beaches, restaurants.

Room Tip: floors 18 plus afford the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctaylor1, Director of Sales at Hilton Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for your great 5 star review of the hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful 3 nights with us and that you were able to enjoy one our rooms with a view of the ocean and Diamond Head! Please come back and see us again sometime.

Aloha and Mahalo!

Christopher Taylor
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikiki Beach

Address: 2500 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikiki Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel, featuring NO resort fee, is located in the heart of Waikiki, is just steps from Waikiki Beach. This property is a blend of modern, understated elegance combined with true Hawaiian character. Hotel is 100% smoke-free and offers valet-only parking as part of its top tier service. Our world-famous restaurant, MAC 24-7 features modern American cooking influenced by fresh local ingredients, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Nightly live music in our lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Prince Kuhio
Honolulu Hilton
Radisson Waikiki Prince Kuhio
Hilton Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.