We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner....amazing desserts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JJ's Bistro & French Pastry

JJ's Bistro & French Pastry
3447 Waialae Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
(808) 739-0993
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 1,945 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 9th Ave
Auburn, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great dinner....amazing desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The lobster appetizer was tasty.....all of our dinners were beyond our expectations....and the dessert menu was beyond belief. I didn't count but there must have been 50 different desserts to chose from. My husband had pistachio cherry brandy, other guests choose chocolate Mac tart, strawberry cheesecake and raspberry framboise ....all were well presented and flavorful. This small hard to find restaurant is well worth discovering.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We selected the 4 course menu. The selection was very good and the meal was great. The desserts are wonderful and I had a hard time choosing which one I wanted. The service was wonderful and the place was clean. Would highly recommend this restaurant. The only downfall was, I wish I saved room for 2 desserts.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Excellent dining we selected the Four Course Menu for $24.70”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have dined here twice on our Vacation as we do each year and are not disappointed.
The set menu is great value with an interesting selection of tasty Entrees including steak, fish, Lobster and Lamb rack, with a soup or salad first and a trio appetizer which is great.
The fourth course is a selection of delectable desserts the raspberry tart is highly recommended as is the Chocolate Pyramid but the selection is vast.The Illy Coffee is good too. B.Y.O.no corkage
This Restaurant is patronised by Locals but Tourists do not be deterred check the Bus timetable it is well worth the half hour trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Set Menu starting at $24-70 for 4 Courses, wide choices too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have dined here twice in 4 days! thats how good it is, lovely food, and desserts to die for.
The set menu has options to upgrade for a little extra,Family owned and well organised, smiling service, B.Y.O. no corkage.Well patronised, reservations taken,but lots of tables available,
There are 42 desserts to choose from,the owner has won awards for his pastrys. All up a very nice dinner with prompt service, we will return as soon as possible. Highly Recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Pastry and Nice Dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Nice indoor decor. Service very nice with kindness and politeness. Meals were good and very tasty. However, the Pyramid Chocolate/Raspberry Pastry was the best. Excellent quality including latte.

If you are in the area of Waialae, Honolulu--recommend to visit this location.
Lots of local recognition awards received over the years for service and the specialty -- pastries.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Bistro & French Pastry also viewed

 

Been to JJ's Bistro & French Pastry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ's Bistro & French Pastry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.