We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tour with one caveat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanauma Bay Private Dive Tours

Hanauma Bay Private Dive Tours
460 Ena Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
+1 800-505-8956
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 356 Activities in Honolulu
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hanauma Bay Dive Tours offers a guided snorkel tour and scuba diving at Hanauma Bay. Tours are offered on Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. Groups are small. The guided snorkel tour has a maximum of five people with one instructor. The beginner scuba dive has a maximum of four people with one instructor. We go to the best areas of the bay where you can see turtles and schools of tropical fish.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good tour with one caveat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Rather than repeating many of the previous comments I would recommend reading Aubepine12's review. It is spot on and exactly what we experienced. Allen (sp?) does a good job of picking up and transporting you. Safety is an important goal also. He helps the weaker swimmers and covers a lot of ground. That is my warning. I prefer to linger over a group of fish and take videos. Allan seems intent on covering most of the Bay in the hour you are in the water. You will see lots of fish and we did see turtles in 2 different locations which is a consideration. If you are like me and want to take your time in an area then don't choose this tour. If you want to cover a large area and see lots of fish and probably turtles it is a good choice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    4
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Don't Even Bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Booked a scuba diving package with these guys and they didn't even show up at the hotel for the pick up. After waiting more than half an hour, I gave them a call and was told that the tour had been cancelled and that they were sorry that nobody had called to let us know.

Based on my experiance, Hanauma Bay Dive Tours are not reliable and I wouldn't recommed them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBDT, Manager at Hanauma Bay Private Dive Tours, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We are sorry that you had a bad experience with our company. However for the record, you booked our afternoon boat dive on the internet three hours before the pick up time. All of our tour confirmation emails asks for customers to call us us 24 hours before the tour to reconfirm the tour. If you would had called us we would not of had this mix up. Once again we are sorry about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dive right in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Efficient pick up from hotel. Tour allowed our group to skip queue at the nature park as well as a free trip down to the bay and back. Detailed safety briefing too. Snorkelling took 1 hour and was a fairly casual journey across the entire bay. We even saw a giant green turtle! Snacks were provided and we were back at our hotel with plenty of time to enjoy the rest of our day

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Snorkel tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very good tour saw a lot of amazing fish only five people can go n the tour so it is ideal for some people that maybe nervous or first time snorkelers . All instruction and equipment e is provided, so along with perfect setting of hanauma bay it was totally amazing

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I had a great time on this tour. We saw tons of fish and two turtles. Our guide Allen was wonderful and made sure that we had an awesome experience. Everything was included (transportation, quality snorkel gear, tram ride down and back up the big hill) except for the $7.50 park admission fee. They even had snacks and cold water for you after we were done. I was impressed. Thanks Allen and Hanauma Bay Dive Tours!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanauma Bay Private Dive Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hanauma Bay Private Dive Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanauma Bay Private Dive Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.