We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Saloon

Pioneer Saloon
3046 Monsarrat Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4485
808-732-4001
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 1,940 Restaurants in Honolulu
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Thank you Honolulu transit system for not running the busses very often on Sunday. We decided instead to walk back from Diamond Head trail to our condo in Waikiki. We happened to walk past this restaurant. The smell coming out of the door was fantastic. Having just done the hike we were hungry.

I had the chicken Matsu while my friend had the Ahi tuna and both were superbly cooked and had wonderful flavour.

The place was full and rightly
So. It is a bit of a walk from Waikiki beach but well worth it.

My friend and I highly recommend it.

Check them out on Instagram! I asked the guy running the till if they were on tripadviser and he didn't know. I told him I was going to immediately recommend their place.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant near Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If your interested in eating more like the locals this is the place for you. Just outside of Waikiki between the Honolulu Zoo and Diamondhead. Full plate dinner plus drink for $12. The Garlic Grilled Ahi was great. Worth the short cab ride from Waikiki

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place was recommended to us by a local and did not disappoint. All of the food was fresh and great. It was a little hot/stuffy inside for my taste but not unbearable. Prices were really reasonable as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottumwa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here for lunch, and we are so happy we did, as it was one of the best meals we have had in the Waikiki area. Excellent seafood with accompaniment of rice and pasta salad...and drinks cost a mere $1. Full of locals too so you know there is good food at a good price. Wish we had discovered it earlier and not wasted our money and taste buds on typical tourist food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Maine
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Holy Tuna Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I ordered the garlic ahi plate and WHOA! The tuna steak was HUGE! I could barely eat half of it. The tuna was super fresh and prepared absolutely perfectly. The plate was $12, and you could easily split this between two people.

The atmosphere, as others have mentioned, is super fun. Western, with antiques thrown in too (at great prices). Fun times!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.