We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Side Street Inn Kapahulu

Side Street Inn Kapahulu
614 Kapahulu Ave, #100, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
808-739-3939
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Side Street Inn Kapahulu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #116 of 1,911 restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Date St.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Upon arrival to Waikiki, we were greeted by our cab driver and taken to our hotel.

Along the way he pointed out several of his favourite food locations with suggestions we may like to try. One of the restaurants we decided to try was Side Street Inn on Kapahulu. We were told that this particular restaurant
fills up very quickly at super time, so decided that perhaps we would beat the rush and arrive at 4:30
The portions served were huge....One order of rice alone could service about 4 people (no kidding). The service was great and food was delicious. The owner of the restaurant came over to our table, introduced himself, had a chat, and a few minutes later, we received an extra entrée at our table, complements of the owner.
Needless to say, we were very impressed with the great food, location and atmosphere of Side Street Inn.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    64
    43
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Family style tasty food...huge portions so bring appetite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Found this restaurant on Yelp but of course cross referenced TA. Went on Sunday night and even though there was a wait 45 min we had our table within 20 (just enough time to enjoy a nice drink at bar). We ordered the corn chowder, 1/2 order, which was enough for two decent bowls. Followed by their famous fried rice and the short ribs. Both were fantastic! Our waitress wasn't the friendliest but she was on top of things. Only complaint I have is on myself...I kept looking at the other food being ordered next to us and I definitely had plate envy, especially on the house special fried pork chops. I wish they haf a sampler platter. I'm trying to convince my wife to go back before we leave. It doesn't look like I will win. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Kapahulu location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is off the beaten path, inside the basement of an office building, so you aren't going here for scenic views or atmosphere. It is noisy, busy and fast paced. However, we were looking for an informal restaurant with good food that we could get in and out of. While Trip Advisor reviewers recommended this restaurant, I was skeptical. However, from the appetizers to the desserts, we were blown away. The quantity of food alone is unforgettable, but the quality is comparable to the quantity. We had the sauteed mushrooms, escargot, fried rice, baby back ribs and sent back the pork chops because we had ordered too much food! The food is served family style, so be prepared to share the last piece you love! We were stuffed and happy. Great food, fast, busy atmosphere, but a good place to know about if you are in a hurry and want good food fast. BTW, we saw several parties turned away because they did not have reservations, so make yours now!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Break from overpriced Waikiki restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

So happy to have found this place. Great food, reasonable prices. Kyle was our waiter. What a great guy. Pork chops, fried rice, teriakki beef. Family style with lot's of food to share

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Fun family style restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We went with a group at the kapahulu location and it is more upscale than the other location downtown. Gett ready to share lots an lots of great tasting comfort food from Sashimi to rice and noodles to the incredible pork chops and seasoned steaks. It was a blast and definitely a great change up from the sit down high end restaurants in Waikiki. Mel and company, just a great job from someone who had dinners on this trip at Alan Wong's and Wolfgangs. Keep up the great work. We'll be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Street Inn Kapahulu also viewed

 

Been to Side Street Inn Kapahulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Side Street Inn Kapahulu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.