We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food with aloha smile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Cafe

Protea Cafe
2045 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
808-942-0999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 1,792 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Nebraska
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Very good food with aloha smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Start with the service...simply very nice staff who take good care of you. The breakfast was great, and prices were the most reasonable in Waikiki. The Acai Bowl was wonderful, and a friend really enjoyed the omelette. I had lunch another day, and it was just an average sandwich. The atmosphere is like a tight shoe...painfully snug. They are trying to make a sit down restaurant work in a space barely adequate for a takeout counter. Why not put this on the Mezzanine, where there's plenty of room and just use current space for coffee shop!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pipestone, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We ate at this cafe every morning we were at the Outrigger Luana Hotel. They have amazing food and it was enough to fill you up. The staff was so friendly! The prices were great!! We will definitely go back here the next time we go to Honolulu! Wish they were open for dinner too!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Easy breakfast and or lunch . Nice ambience . Liked the convenience and the efficiency, would also have liked it to be open for light evening meal

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
covington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went here to have breakfast at 7am. The place was soooo freakin hot. We decided to take it togo and go back to our room, where there is actually air conditioning. The service was mediocre. The food on the other hand was very good, the potatoes were awesome. The prices were pretty average for the Waikiki area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for the gluten intolerant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Tiny little place next to a hotel. Several options for the gluten free diet. Some for vegetarians as well. We had lunch there after a hike up Diamond Head, so we were tired, hungry and thirsty. The waitress was very helpful. But the food was only fair. Would likely not return just due to food quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Protea Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Protea Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.