We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again GREAT whichever location you choose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morimoto Waikiki

Morimoto Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu, 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
+1 808-943-5900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Morimoto Waikiki is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 1,906 restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Hobron
Transit: Morimoto Waikiki is on the Red Line for the Honolulu Trolley, exit Discovery Bay. If taking TheBus, the following lines are avaiable 8, 19,20,23,24,42 and E, The Country Express.
Description: Famed Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto brings his seamless integration of Western and Japanese ingredients to his newest restaurant, Morimoto Waikiki. With a focus on top-quality fish and fresh ingredients, everything is prepared in-house from ingredients flown in from Japan four times a week. Our seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations feature the best seafood as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Our refreshing and vibrant ambiance is the perfect backdrop for the remarkable culinary experience that is Morimoto Waikiki. Welcome.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Once again GREAT whichever location you choose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have been to Morimoto in NYC and Napa and now Waikiki and all are great. The food is amazing!! The wagyu carpaccio is such a great dish it is worthy at any location you are at.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    358
    149
    66
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful restaurant for an elegant evening in Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

After coming here several time over the past few years, I am still impressed every time I walk into this elegant atmosphere. We have eaten here both as a couple and with small groups of 5-8 people. The whole crispy fish is a must, but ask for it as soon as you sit down as it sells out quickly. Presentation is part of the whole experience here. Each dish is a work of art and the ingredients are always fresh and top quality. Service is attentive and professional. Toro tartare appetizer at $28 is tasty, but the presentation of the tartare spread thinly on a piece of wood disguises the fact that you are getting about a tablespoon of fish. We usually get some good wine and lots of dishes, so our check adds up quickly, but worth every penny. We enjoy eating indoors and then moving out to the patio for after dinner drinks and dessert. Iron chef Morimoto has done a great job with this place with a creative menu and well trained staff.
As we usually stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village, this is just a short walk from the hotel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Tasty sushi but gimmicky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a highly hyped more-or-less Japanese restaurant in a more-or-less hip hotel at one end of the Waikiki strip. The food was very good, excellent sushi and some fine side dishes, but somewhat uneven and the menu and presentation were too gimmicky for my taste. Takoyaki made with abalone and Hamakua tomatoes isa great idea but the execution was, um, far from flawless. Outside overcooked and batter slightly raw inside. Ditto on the chirashi -- looked great in the dish and the fish was excellent, but the rice had zero flavor. The members of our party who had the omakase raved about it, but again presentation gimmicks were strained and overpowering. All in all though a good, though expensive, meal. I'm not rushing back, given the many other fine dining options in Honolulu at this price range. If someone else is paying, sure, why not? Not on my nickel next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good but very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Although located in a fairly old hotel, the restaurant had an interesting menu with good food and service but very expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went there for lunch and sat outside. The view was magnificent and the whole setup(decor) was very impressive. I had the lunch special - the one with cod. It was very tasty (very small portion) and instead of white rice, there were some sushi. I know this place specializes in sushi but I really would've appreciated a bowl of rice for my fish. My girlfriend had mini burger and she said it was awesome. We shared the tofu cheesecake for dessert and this was the best I ever had. I would love to go back for dinner (to see the sunset) but since the price is pretty costly, I'd have to save up some $$$$, but it's really worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Morimoto Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morimoto Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.