We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food at an unbelievable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steak Shack

Steak Shack
2161 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
(808) 861-9966
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,906 restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food at an unbelievable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We checked out Trip Advisor again before returning to Honolulu and hunted out this little food shack on the strength of other reviews....Wow we have to say the reviews are absolutely spot on....The food is excellent, steak melts in your mouth, the portions for $6.95 are unbelievable. We rate this the best value for money of the eateries in Honolulu. To find it you have to walk down to the military beach park at the back of the military museum & it is up on a raised balcony in amongst a couple of other little food outlets - Don't let the appearance put you off the quality of the steak rivals Benihanas & you know their prices! They put your meal in a large square polystyrene box with your choice of steak, rice, salad & salad dressing so you can either sit on the balcony overlooking the ocean or take it to your sunbathing spot on Waikiki Beach. We bought lunch from there a few times during our stay...Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    187
    80
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guam, Mariana Islands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great find in Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very cheap but really good food. Satisfying meal. Get some sun, frolic in water, then walk over to this shack without even covering up to order your food. Go back to the sand and eat your meal. What could be better than that!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Boom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Cheap eats on the beach is a rarity. This place got it done real good. The steak was perfectly cooked and the rice and salad was awesome. If I wasn't planning to eat at another place after, I would've ordered more!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great find in Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Wow - dinner for two in Waikiki (with beer from across the way) for under $20! And it was good. So good that we ate there twice. We had steak the first time and chicken the second. Both were flavorful and more importantly, very tender. How nice not to worry about dressing up to be able to watch the sun set while dining on the beach. OK - not fancy - but sometimes in the middle of a trip you just want easy - and inexpensive. We told many locals about this place and it was news to them. I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheap and Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very good and cheap meal just a few steps to the beach.
Joe was good, but the woman (I don't know her name) who takes the orders must be more friendly and patient with no-native speakers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak Shack also viewed

 

Been to Steak Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.