We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!`” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koko Crater Trail

Koko Crater Trail
Koko Head Park Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825
(808) 522-7060
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$41*
and up
Diamond Head & Oahu Coast Half-Day Tour
Ranked #6 of 123 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
walnut creek, ca
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wow!`”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Don't forget to bring water!! It gets very hot on the way up, but the view is amazing and so worth it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    188
    31
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I made it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

That was a tuff climb in the middle of the day, great workout for your legs and cardio.It also gives great views of Hanauma bay and the west side of Oahu. This climb is not for everyone, but even if you only make it half way up they view will be worth it. Take lots of water.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Challenge overcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Koko Head Crater was on my list of things to do while I was in Oahu several weeks. I set out to climb it one Saturday morning and was a little intimidated by it at first glance. A third of the way up I thought, "I can't finish this!" two thirds of the way up I though, "This is going to kill me!" and at the top I was glad to be alive and to have finished. I did sprain my wrist on the way down because the gravel and dirt is very loose and the train tressel is gappped. This is NOT AN EASY CLIMB. Only for healthy and determoined people. No shade and only a straight dusty uphill climb. Take a hat and plenty of water.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Accomplishment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I was taken here by a friend who used to live in Honolulu. I read up on the reviews before the hike and to be honest thought all the hype about the hike being really difficult was just a bunch of whingeing by lazy american tourists. How wrong I was! The hike is actually quite difficult! Hard, in fact.

Ive been on 7 hour treks up mountains but in a way this was tougher because it is relentless, steep, stairs that burn your legs and get your heart racing. And it gets steeped the further up you go, cranking up the pain right until the end. There were some fit military guys in our group and even they had to stop several times along the way. You will encounter others along the way in alllll sorts of pain battling their way up. Facial expressions you didn't know existed haha.

Having said all of that it has been a real highlight of the trip so far. The views were fantastic and it was the perfect counterbalance to lying by the pool all day. You will leave with a real sense of accomplishment knowing that you conquered look head!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Bucket List!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you are an avid trail hiker, you MUST put this hike on your bucket list! There is nothing else like it anywhere that I am aware of! Be warned, you better be in good shape before you attempt it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koko Crater Trail also viewed

 

Been to Koko Crater Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koko Crater Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.