We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I made it!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koko Crater Trail

Koko Crater Trail
Koko Head Park Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825
(808) 522-7060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 155 attractions in Honolulu
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I made it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

That was a tuff climb in the middle of the day, great workout for your legs and cardio.It also gives great views of Hanauma bay and the west side of Oahu. This climb is not for everyone, but even if you only make it half way up they view will be worth it. Take lots of water.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    155
    21
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Challenge overcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Koko Head Crater was on my list of things to do while I was in Oahu several weeks. I set out to climb it one Saturday morning and was a little intimidated by it at first glance. A third of the way up I thought, "I can't finish this!" two thirds of the way up I though, "This is going to kill me!" and at the top I was glad to be alive and to have finished. I did sprain my wrist on the way down because the gravel and dirt is very loose and the train tressel is gappped. This is NOT AN EASY CLIMB. Only for healthy and determoined people. No shade and only a straight dusty uphill climb. Take a hat and plenty of water.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Accomplishment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I was taken here by a friend who used to live in Honolulu. I read up on the reviews before the hike and to be honest thought all the hype about the hike being really difficult was just a bunch of whingeing by lazy american tourists. How wrong I was! The hike is actually quite difficult! Hard, in fact.

Ive been on 7 hour treks up mountains but in a way this was tougher because it is relentless, steep, stairs that burn your legs and get your heart racing. And it gets steeped the further up you go, cranking up the pain right until the end. There were some fit military guys in our group and even they had to stop several times along the way. You will encounter others along the way in alllll sorts of pain battling their way up. Facial expressions you didn't know existed haha.

Having said all of that it has been a real highlight of the trip so far. The views were fantastic and it was the perfect counterbalance to lying by the pool all day. You will leave with a real sense of accomplishment knowing that you conquered look head!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Bucket List!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you are an avid trail hiker, you MUST put this hike on your bucket list! There is nothing else like it anywhere that I am aware of! Be warned, you better be in good shape before you attempt it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love the views, definitely a vigorous workout.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Koko head trail is a somewhat short very steep trail made from a world war 2 era rail path. As you go up the trail it gets steeper and steeper. The railroad ties function as steps. There is a bridge about midway but you can use a trail to the side if your uncomfortable with the bridge. At top there are a few bunkers and places you can hang out to watch the beautiful views and take a seat to rest before steep descent down. Overall I loved it and would do it again. I made a day of snorkeling at Hanauma bay and hiking Koko head since they are so close to each other.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koko Crater Trail also viewed

 

Been to Koko Crater Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koko Crater Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Koko Crater Trail to your Saves list