We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More challenging than expected, but great feeling of accomplishment at the top!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koko Crater Trail

Koko Crater Trail
Koko Head Park Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825
(808) 522-7060
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$41*
and up
Diamond Head & Oahu Coast Half-Day Tour
Ranked #6 of 123 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“More challenging than expected, but great feeling of accomplishment at the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Any pictures I had seen prior to this hike did not do it justice. Standing at the base looking up, you might think your idea to climb this is just stupid, but if you power through, it's worth it at the top for the 360 views of the island. Wear running shoes, bring lots of water, wear sunscreen and don't attempt this in the heat of the day. I consider myself to be in decent shape and this took me just under 30 minutes to the top, with breaks. The trail is old railroad tracks and there's a bridge section where you could slip through so be careful. The bridge is only about 50 metres long, thankfully. The views at the top are amazing, and checking everything out is a great opportunity to catch your breath! The way down is also challenging due to the grade of the crater, but you can get down much faster than you go up!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    190
    32
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extremely Challenging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hike to the summit is well worth the view, even on a cloudy day. However, I wouldn't recommend going on a day when it's been raining. The trail is not maintained and can get very slippery at times. Definitely bring water and rest often. If you're not in shape, this trail is not for you.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Not for everyone... can be treacherous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you're out of shape this hike is not for you. Trail is steep and sometimes dangerous. Bring water along as you'll be sweating by the time you finish.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“research well before going”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I woke up this morning planning in going to Koko head. One thing i was not aware is that it takes 1 hour 1/2 by bus to get there. I was staying in Waikiki and was informed to take the number 22 bus which was 40 minutes delayed - quite a few people waiting for the same bus. So i gave up. i really wanted to go and I am just writing this review to give a tip for tourists wishing to go there. It is a long bus drive, plan accordingly and expect bus delays. it seems like the bus 22 doesn't run very often, i actually ended up walking along the bus route and only saw the bus a couple of times. Be aware that although the hike is not very long, better to get well organized about the transportation and your schedule.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience...have done it about 8 -10 times and will do it again if I ever get a chance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had the opportunity to work in Honolulu for about 8 months. While there, saw just about every corner of the island, but have to say, climbing this trail ("a natural stair stepper") was probably the most fun I had. Very strenuous workout as the inclination at some points is as much as 50 degrees and part of the trail is actually a railroad tressel over a 20 foot deep gorge on the side of the mountain. First time over was one of the scariest feelings ever, but when you do it, you have such a great feeling of accomplishment! The views at the top (where there is an abandoned lookout post [from WWII] are amazing...HOnolulu to the west, Hanuma bay to the south. Just phenomenal. BTW its free. Plenty of parking at the base of the trail. Usually a bunch of people on the trail so if you need some help, there's usually someone there. Just do it if you want a challenge and are physically active.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koko Crater Trail also viewed

 

Been to Koko Crater Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koko Crater Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.