We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true workout” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koko Crater Trail

Koko Crater Trail
Koko Head Park Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825
(808) 522-7060
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$41*
and up
Diamond Head & Oahu Coast Half-Day Tour
Ranked #6 of 124 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A true workout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is a hike for the toughest at heart. staright up hike to the top...you will lose the pounds.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    188
    31
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go early, bring water.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hike is an old railway track set up for the military (who had a lookout at the top) during WWII. There is very little shade so start early and bring plenty of water.The steps are far apart for shorter people. Many people run (are you kidding me? I think I hate you) up this trail so be sure to get out of their way. A great sense of pride and accomplishment ensues (at least for little old me) once you reach the top.The views from the top are amazing and worth the hike. Coming down is almost as hard as going up for those of us who are shorter, go slowly down and your knees will thank you. For some this is a normal hike, but those of you who don't do exertion well, the views and surroundings make this hike well worth it!!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Crossed that off my bucket list!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

The trail is beautiful, but not maintained. You're on your own basically. A local said so many people go up without water, do bring some with you, otherwise you'll be brought down by the ever present helicopter! :) After you pass the bridge the stairs become more steep, don't give up! It's totally worth making it to the top.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good hike, Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Did this hike with my wife the last morning of our month long trip to Hawaii. We started the hike around 6 am. The sun was just hitting the lower third of the trail as we finished.

I would reccommend starting early, as the sun would make this a lot hotter.

Well worth the time. A great experience.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very challenging hike but worth every step!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My husband and I hiked up Koko Head and though it was difficult, it was worth it to get to the top! The view was amazingly beautiful! Definitely do this hike while in Oahu!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koko Crater Trail also viewed

 

Been to Koko Crater Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koko Crater Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.