We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mochi on Earth!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bubbies Homemade Ice Cream

Bubbies Homemade Ice Cream
1010 University Avenue, Varsity Center, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96826
808-949-8984
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 1,945 Restaurants in Honolulu
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Franklin, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Mochi on Earth!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had the pleasure of stopping by Bubbie's while we were in Oahu, luckily we did this early in our trip and were able to return multiple times during our stay. I would highly recommend this to anyone thinking of stopping by. We only tried the Mochi however they had many other good looking offerings. After we got back home to the mainland we found out that Whole Foods carries Bubbies and frequently by the frozen versions however we always crave the fresh Bubbies Mochi we enjoyed while on the island. Must go!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    44
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Must try Mochi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

After reading reviews and it on one of top must go, so I decided to check this out. I went on Tuesday late lunch and no customers was there. I ordered 6 different flavor Mochi and oh boy... all 6 of them are really delicious! It ice cream in the soft shell like Yatsuhashi treat from Japan. They have over 12 different Mochi flavor. I bet you won't find this elsewhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waianae, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent place for Mochi Ice Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have found this place to be the best for variety and quality of mochi idea cream. I don't find their regular ice cream to be the best in the world. I would rather go to cold stone creamery for scoops and such, but it is hard to beat the the little mochi ice cream squares and all their great flavors. I recommend the mint chocolate and the raspberry while mom and dad get some of the interesting coffee and ice cream concoctions.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great first!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I had never tried mochi before and after seeing all the reviews for this place I thought we had to check it out. The ice cream was great and they had a huge variety. Line was out the door and place is very small.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
634 reviews 634 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
455 helpful votes 455 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream - but no restroom!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I mention the no restroom fact simply because I bring friends and guests here often and their second comment is, "Where is the restroom?"
The ice cream is delicious and why I enjoy treating first time visitors to the island to Bubbies.
Yes , you can get the treat on the mainland, but it always tastes better at the store.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubbies Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Bubbies Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubbies Homemade Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.