We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual with Great Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kani Ka Pila Grille

Kani Ka Pila Grille
2169 Kalia Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
808-924-4990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 1,918 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Milwaukie, Oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Casual with Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We are staying at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach hotel, so this is located right in front of us every time we get off of the elevator. We decided to eat there one evening when we wanted something nice, but casual. The big added perk is that from 6 - 9 pm they have Hawaiian themed musical entertainment. With about a20 minute wait for a table, we opted for seating at the bar. Wonderful spot with entertainment from the musicians, hula dancers, sports on TVs overhead, and the ballet of the two bartenders as they worked. One of the mist efficiently run bar I've seen. Really friendly service and great food my wife loved her Cobb salad. I had the Monte Cristo sandwich. Not quite like the ultimate Monte Cristo in Disneyland, but still tasty. Even with 2 drinks each the cost seemed reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    110
    24
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't wait on other places, walk in, sit down NOW and enjoy a nice reasonable cost breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We've been eating breakfast in Waikiki every morning for a week now. Lots of decent places. Eggs and things (about a 5 minute walk from Kani Ka Pila Grille) is nice too, same quality of food, as long as you don't mind the 40 min to hour plus wait EVERY DAY (unless you are there EARLY!). Three times now we've walked up the street to the beach (it's in the Outrigger hotel) to this grille, which has very nice outdoor/covered seating. Nice ocean breeze, nice atmosphere, fast and courteous staff, and the breakfast's are served reasonably quick and are a GREAT value and quite tasty also! I've had the pancake special and the fried rice special, both highly recommended. One of our group had the fruit bowl, and I should have taken a picture...it was awesome (what she didn't eat she took with her to go, it was that good). Lots of tasty coffee, just a great no-wait breakfast place. I'd eat there every day from here on out. Not one complaint from our group after 3 trips. Save your time, don't wait at other places and go here, you won't regret it. I only gave it 4 out of five stars becasue it's not a "five star" type of place. But as I said, for a breakfast place with low cost (considering you're on the beach), you can't beat it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Food here is pretty good. Happy Hour is great - half price drinks and discounted appetizers. Ate here twice (not including Happy Hour) and no complaints. Big thank you to two of the servers Angela and Mark...super friendly and very professional.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

each morning near the pool and garden waterfalls area. They had 2 excellent breakfast specials each morning for $7. We also had POG with spiced rum at the bar each afternoon which was great!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good drinks and appetizers but VERY expensive for what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were staying at the Outrigger Reef and came in from the airport STARVING. We didn't even go to the room before hitting the Grille at the pool on the ground level after checking in. We should have walked around just a little bit more and would have saved a bunch! My son got a little flatbread pizza ($12) that was maybe worth $5, if that. My husband and I shared a kalua pork quesadilla which was delicious but I think $14? Drinks are $10 flat. Plus tip we were around $60 for basically a snack and a drink. That's Waikiki for you (unless you do some research first!). ;)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kani Ka Pila Grille also viewed

 

Been to Kani Ka Pila Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kani Ka Pila Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.