We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surf adventure for first timers from Vancouver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaiian Surf Adventures

Hawaiian Surf Adventures
7192 Kalanianaole Hwy, D100B, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825
+1 808-396-2324
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$68*
and up
Ranked #19 of 356 Activities in Honolulu
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience ADVENTURE away from the crowds!!! Hawaiian Surf Adventures offers Surf Lessons (which include a boat ride to an un-crowded surf break), Stand Up Paddle Lessons/Rentals, fabulous Adventure Boat Tours AND the beloved Hawaiian double-hull Canoe Tour! Specializing in beginners, we keep our classes small and our instruction is sincere.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great surf adventure for first timers from Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was definitely the highlight of the trip for our kids ranging from 17 to 20. Saw the deal on Groupon but we only had a few days left on the island so I wanted to make sure we could get reservations before I made the purchase. When I called them, Lisa informed us that they happened to have a half price deal so we skipped the groupon purchase. Luckily they could fit us in on the last day of our stay on Oahu. Our kids had never surfed before and the water was quite chilly that day but they were provided with wet suits which was a plus. The kids had a blast with Jonathan and Matt. They were very friendly and funny which put the kids at ease. And they really got to surf and we have pictures to show for it! Glad we chose this option. It was very worthwhile seeing our kids thoroughly enjoying themselves! Highly recommended for those heading to Honolulu.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Aloha and thank you for surfing with us! I'm so glad you had a great time and we really appreciate the 5-star review! Hope you'll surf with us again! With Aloha, Trace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    16
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great canoe adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We bought a Groupon for a canoe trip with Hawaiian Surf Adventures. Nobi, our instructor, is from the North Shore of Hawaii, and a very proud Hawaiian. He was so incredibly interesting and very knowledgeable in regards to the history of the Hawaiian islands. He also remembered everyone's name on our tour (eleven people!), which was very important when giving instructions to all of the paddlers.

Paddling in the canoe is somewhat strenuous, and getting in and out of the canoe might be a bit challenging for some participants. During a break in paddling, the canoe was tethered in the bay, and everyone jumped into the water. It was a refreshing change from all the work!

The excursion is about two hours, but ours was three because we were the only tour on Nobi's schedule that day. We were all having such a great time and learning so much from him that we all wanted to stay out in the water. By the time we got back to the shop, we had been out an extra hour. This is a must-do in Hawaii - if for nothing else than to learn about the history and culture of Hawaii. A great experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
THANK YOU so much for the great review of the canoe tour :) We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. All the best to you, Trace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great experience of something you can only do in Hawaii!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Had a wonderful time doing outrigger canoe with Nobe. He is so proud of his Hawaiian heritage and we learned so much about Hawaii while having a fantastic time canoeing. I highly recommend this for all ages and abilities. Getting in and out of canoe may be difficult for some older folks but everyone in our group managed fine. So glad we did this the first day as it gave us a great frame of reference as we travelled around the island.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Aloha and thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed the tour and were able to reference what you learned on the rest of your vacation! Please visit us again if you come back to Hawaii! Thank you, Lisa :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
“Awesome Canoe Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was definately one of the highlights of our trip..the insight and history of Hawaii given by our incredible instructor Nobi was fascinating..even if you are not into canoeing part so much you will get so much out of this tour. So glad we did it..

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a nice review of the canoe tour :) Thank you for joining us and hope to see you again! With Aloha, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hawaiian canoeing was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time with Nobi. Great instructions, interesting information and a very pleasant time. The female part of the family also appreciated Nobi's great looks...The canoeing was a bit of an exercise, but we had two pleasant breaks when we jumped in the water from the canoe. The kids saw a turtle as well. Beautiful area as well and away from all the noise of Waikiki.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSASurf, Owner at Hawaiian Surf Adventures, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Aloha Johan! Thank you so much for the great review :) So glad you had fun and we hope you'll come back and see us again! With Aloha, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Surf Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Hawaiian Surf Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaiian Surf Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.