We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honolulu dream vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Save Saved
You added The Modern Honolulu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Deal w/ $200 Credit
Ranked #2 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Honolulu dream vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I am so glad my girl friend of over 30 years asked it I wanted to join her on a girls trip and stay at the Modern Honolulu, for my first trip to Oahu. We stayed here for 4 nights in a corner one bedroom suite with a fabulous oceanview from the 15th floor, and was really impressed with everything from the moment we arrived to the moment we sadly had to go home.The hotel was amazing! It's about a 20 minute walk to "downtown" Waikiki shopping area, or 10 miniute walk to the Ala Moana Shopping Mecca mall. The hotel has 2 pools, one of which is for adults only and about ankle deep... surrounded by sand (beach feel) The pool on the 1st level is salt water and is fabulous. The pool service was amazing & they offer you complimentary iced water with lemon wedges, as well as sorbets and frozen grapes to keep you cool as the temps rise!! It's only a 5 minute walk to the nearest beach around the front of the Hilton Village who have free fireworks on Tuesday nights (and Friday at 8pm). The lagoon is a great place to try paddle boarding (loved it). Every staff person we encountered from the concierge to the valets were soooo friendly and helpful and totally went out their way to make us feel welcome and chat with us, gave us suggestions of things to do, assisted us with a rental car through Enterprise (for our day trip to the North Shore) which we HIGHLY recommend!! and continued to give great service even after we checked out and we were hanging out killing time by the pool before our late flight home. It's refreshing that the management and staff of The Modern makes service and exceptional guest experience their priority, and it's really because of this that we felt so pampered and loved our stay there so much. Seriously looking at coming back in January 2014 with hubby and daughter... I know they would LOVE it! Aloha

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    985
    307
    97
    34
    25
See reviews for
214
655
72
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Modern both at the start of our Hawaiian trip and at the end. The first stay was so enjoyable it set the tone of our trip. The service was excellent from the front office through to the pool. The rooms were well presented and very stylish. The pool was one of the best we have been in and the poolside service was excellent.
The second stay was on our last night in Honolulu and was just as good; albeit tarnished with some poor service at 'The Study' that night. That said, when I provided this feedback via a survey after we came back, I was contacted directly by Hotel Management to find out more about my complaint and the follow up that was done was excellent.
I would very much recommend to anyone to stay at the Modern as it will be a great experience and one that will keep you wanting to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights and have been really impressed with everything about it. It's about a 20 minute walk to "downtown" Honolulu's main strip. This may not suit everyone but it suited us perfectly and the walk along the water front much of the way is both enjoyable and interesting as you get to see the other hotels and the activities available. You can eat at all the hotels for both lunch and dinner so choice is varied and plentiful but the lunch we had at The Modern was freshly prepared and represented good value for money and enjoyed around the lower pool. The hotel has 2 pools, one of which is for adults only but you cannot swim in it, it's a place to cool off only with water no higher than your ankles. The pool on the 1st level is fabulous but can get quite crowded during the day. The pool service is amazing and they offer you everything from complimentary iced water to sorbets and frozen fruit to keep you cool as the temperatures soar. The gym facilities are very good which is rare these days offering a full range of up to date equipment so you don't have to feel bad about indulging yourself. They have live music at the 1st floor pool area from 5pm most evenings which is a great way to watch the sun go down in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. I enjoyed a massage at the spa and although not the cheapest was one of the best massages I have received and Ivan managed to relieve the stress from my shoulders with ease. The rooms are modern with wooden plantation shutters, clean lines in whites and greys and comfortable beds. We had a partial ocean view with 2 double beds but would recommend specifying that you want a king bed with a balcony and sea view as we couldn't sit out of an evening to enjoy the views. It is not on the beach but overlooks the marina which I think is equally as lovely, it's only a 5 minute walk to the nearest beach in front of the Hilton Village next door who have free fireworks every Tuesday and Friday at 8pm. If you walk 2 roads back from the centre you can find local and cheaper food, breakfast for as little as $3.95 and dinner for $10.95. We loved the hotel and would definitely recommend it to others and would love to come back one day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was my family's first trip to Oahu. We enjoyed our stay very much at the Modern.
The Modern was excellent choice for us. The Modern's staff was very gracious and knowledgeable. The food excellent. I would recommend the Modern to others.
The Modern is conveniently located to many places of interest in Honolulu.

Room Tip: End rooms are quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Absolutely a high rating hotel with friendly staff from all departments. Hotel is always cleaned either in room or in common areas. Location is great with trolley and bus stop nearby. Walk to Waikiki beach within 5 mins and to the shopping centre within 15 mins. Front desk and customer service is very helpful and deliver your needs quick. The concierge make good suggestions for tours and connection arrangements. I have no complaint and recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here before and after a cruise. Before was fine as we were on the South side with partial ocean view and no noise. After cruise we stayed a Saturday night and had a 4th floor partial ocean view which was just above the entrance. We had to catch a flight back to Oz at 8.15 am meaning up at 4 am to get to airport in time for the 2 - 3 hour prior check in. We had absolutely no sleep due to the Hotel's constant nightclub noise all night/early morning and out of control crowd out the front (Addiction Nightclub). This was something that they have here which we knew nothing about - if we did know we would never have stayed here. Police coming and going all night. The noise was absolutely horrendous all night until we had to get up so no sleep at all. We should have just sat on the beach with our luggage for the night and saved the very overpriced charge for what we got. Just don't go there if you want to sleep unless they can guarantee you a room on the south side of the hotel high up.

Room Tip: South side high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff are some of the best you will encounter. The location is just outside the main beach but less than 10 minutes walk to the centre of Waikiki. We were considering here versus the Hilton Hawaiian Village and having met people staying there we made the right choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MODERN HONOLULU introduces cosmopolitan chic for leisure and business pursuits in Hawaii. We deftly combine sexy and sophisticated in everything we do. Every element is original; authentic or custom-designed to enhance your experience. Gourmet pleasures, vibrant nightlife, intimate pool settings, exhilarating spa treatments and all that Oahu has to offer - luxury shopping, beaches, nature - blend to create a feeling of progressive luxury, as refined as it is relaxed. We invite you to make the most of every moment with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Modern Honolulu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.