We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to understand the hype...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Save Saved
You added The Modern Honolulu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Modern Honolulu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Deal w/ $200 Credit
Ranked #2 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Trying to understand the hype...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I'm trying to understand the hype with this hotel. It's beautiful, clean, neat, the staff is friendly but the rates seem insane for what you get...which is very little.

I like good staff but at this point I think every hotel - even the Motel 6 - should appreciate the importance of good staff. I enjoyed the rooms but they were cookie cutter, contemporary rooms in a cookie cutter hotel. The pool area was nice but again, not extraordinary. For all the hype surrounding the opening of this hotel a short time ago I would have thought there would be more to it. What I received is any hotel, on any corner or other prime location in Miami... I was not impressed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Aloha HelloGorJess,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. I’d like to extend sincere apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations during your stay. It is our hope that our guest rooms, unique pool experience and sleek hotel ambiance allow our guests to find something that appeals to their desire for tranquility and romantic time as well as having fun with friends. Unfortunately, we did not meet this standard during your stay, but will certainly utilize your review as an excellent learning tool to improve.

Mahalo, (thank you)

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
The MODERN HONOLULU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    976
    306
    97
    34
    25
See reviews for
212
651
72
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon last year and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The room was fantastic, comfortable bed, very clean and plenty of room. We had a partial view of the ocean which was actually quite good, looking out over the swimming pool of the hotel next door.
The food was very tasty and the staff were extremely helpful. We had some issues with a couple of bookings and the concierge and other staff were fantastic in helping us get them sorted out.
Also, the restaurant downstairs, while very pricey, has fantastic sushi and sashimi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Although not located in down down honolulu (but walking distance, 10 mins), this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed. The staffs were extremely friendly, attentive and helpful. Rooms were nice and Modern :) Amenities were well maintained. Overall, great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Aloha Danny B,

Mahalo for your review on our sleek boutique hotel. It’s great to read that you had an awesome stay. I’m pleased you enjoyed our friendly team members, nice rooms and great amenities. It certainly has been a pleasure assisting you during your vacation. Thank you again for your wonderful review!! We look forward to welcoming you back to MODERN paradise.

A hui hou, (until we meet again)

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
The MODERN HONOLULU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My Husband and I (from Adelaide, Australia), stayed at The Modern for our honeymoon. It was our first stop and was absolutley fantastic. When we were searching for accommodation prior to our trip we kept coming back to The Modern. We stayed in a partial ocean view room with a balcony, upgraded from a city view room. The room was very clean, contemporary and lovely. Not anything over the top but very beautiful. The staff were absolutley excellent. Very friendly. Have nothing negative to report about our stay at The Modern. Both pool areas are stunning and relaxing. The pool with the undergound sound system is great. Although overlooking the harbour... the beach is only a 2 minute walk. A nice walk too. The gym is great also. Very clean and a variety of machines to use.

As we were on our honeymoon, our first or second night we received 2 beautiful notes, from concierge and the pool girl, congratulating us and some champaigne and dessert cookies. Was so lovely.

The concierge were so easy. Obviously not knowing what transport to take and what to do every day, they were able to tell us the best and most efficient way to get to places and the cheapest including snorkelling, pearl harbour, the outlet shops, etc. We called up most mornings and they would book everything.

Were told also during our stay that many celebrities stay there. That was exciting news :)

Had a fantastic time at The Modern and would recommend it to all. Good luck with your planning :)

Ash & Brad

Room Tip: We stayed at The Modern twice during our travels. Our first stay was on level 17 (I think top level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First, the good stuff. The location is super - close to the beach, Ala Moana Center, and all kinds of transportation. The desk staff and concierges were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean, with excellent beds and furnishings. Morimoto's restaurant is amazing. Both pools are lovely and relaxing. And the whole place has a sharp sense of style to it, with some very classy touches.

Only a couple of negatives to mention, but they might strongly affect someone's stay. The first is the noise from inside the building. The hotel nightclub, "Addiction", runs from 10:30PM-3AM from Thursday to Saturday. We stayed on the 4th floor, and the bass from the nightclub bled up into the room to the point where we needed earplugs to sleep. Not only that, on the Wednesday night we were there, the hotel rented a conference room to a party of some kind that, again, resulted in bass pounding into the early hours. We asked for a change of room, but unfortunately, no comparable ones were available, and even the ones available were not much higher. Earplugs did the trick, however. Secondly, we found the service at the "Passageway" and "Grove" dining areas, and the pools, to be a mixed bag. We forgave the service at the pools, as it is a more relaxed atmosphere, but we almost never got served in the Passageway and Grove unless we physically approached a server and gave them an order. Finally, the turndown service was a little inconsistent, with turndowns only happening once or twice over the course of our stay.

We got a discounted flight\room package, and I think it was good value for the price we paid. And really, despite the issues mentioned, our overall experience was still positive.

Room Tip: Avoid lower rooms because of bass from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Amazing hotel with beautiful views from our ocean view room
The pools are also very nice and the food and service at the lower pool was fantastic!
The food and drinks are expensive and can add up quickly.
The service at the upper pool was not great.

Room Tip: get a ocean view room ...view are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Aloha millers_11,

Thank you for your review on The MODERN HONOLULU. We’re happy that you had a wonderful stay. I did want to apologize for the service you received at the Sunset Bar. Thank you so much for bringing your experience to my attention. It’s truly thru your feedback that we’re able to see them as celebrations for our success or windows of opportunity for growth. Your review will certainly serve as an excellent training tool for us to use to better serve you and other valued guests in the future. Mahalo again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to MODERN paradise. Until we meet again.

Mahalo, (Thank you)

Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
The MODERN HONOLULU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything was great. Loved dining at Morimoto's. It was the perfect business stay. The staff was great and the accommodations were terrific. Loved my corner suite with view of the Marina. Loved the pool and the outdoor bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MODERN HONOLULU introduces cosmopolitan chic for leisure and business pursuits in Hawaii. We deftly combine sexy and sophisticated in everything we do. Every element is original; authentic or custom-designed to enhance your experience. Gourmet pleasures, vibrant nightlife, intimate pool settings, exhilarating spa treatments and all that Oahu has to offer - luxury shopping, beaches, nature - blend to create a feeling of progressive luxury, as refined as it is relaxed. We invite you to make the most of every moment with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Amex, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Modern Honolulu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.