We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot in Waikiki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Modern Honolulu to your Saves list
The Modern Honolulu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne. Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent three weeks on all the major Hawaiian Islands and were not that keen to visit Waikiki but had to for our flights home. We were so glad to stay at The Modern!

We loved the decor throughout the hotel and in our room - so "modern" and clean. Comfortable bed too. We had an ocean view - nice! I can imagine the rooms on the other side would be a bit noisy as the road seemed to be quite busy. The rooms had all the touches a Gen Y couple want like wifi and an iPod dock so we were happy.

The location was good - only a 5 minute walk past the lagoon and then you're on the main beach. We had dinner at Roy's in Waikiki (awesome) and that was a short walk too. Also, the hotel is close to the Ala Moana shopping centre and like a 10 minute walk (max).

We had a great time hanging out by the pools which is not usually our thing. Great cocktails (particularly during happy hour) and every night there was different live music around happy hour/sunset - we LOVED it!

We never ate at Morimoto, but had brekkie by the pool. It was a bit expensive, but it is a hotel brekkie. Nothing mind-blowing for the brekkie menu but the usual suspects: granola, eggs benny, brekkie burrito, eggs on toast, etc. What we had was good though.

We would definitely come back if we were in Waikiki again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory C, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Aloha Xinnia,

Thank you for the great review on The MODERN Honolulu. Each of the islands in Hawai`i is very different and unique, yet they offer an assortment of sights sounds and tastes that no other island would have. I am so happy that you had a wonderful stay.

When you visit us again, I recommend going to our sophisticated bar/lounge called, The Study. It’s located mysteriously behind the wall of bookshelves fronting the concierge desk. The bookshelf revolves nightly at 6:00pm serving food and an array of cocktails that pay homage to classic novels and stories. My favorite is the West Thai Story. It’s a pina colada that’s served on the rocks with hints of sweet fresh basil that bring a twist to this classic tropical cocktail.

Mahalo for your kind words and honest review which highlighted the elegance of our rooms, the ambiance of your dining experience and the convenience of shops and restaurants close by. We look forward to welcoming you back to The MODERN Honolulu.

Aloha,
Rory Cosma
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    371
    115
    38
    27
See reviews for
267
839
96
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the beginning to end the staff was very friendly and upbeat. The hotel was exactly as it name suggests very "Modern". If you are looking for a quiet place to stay and relax then look nowhere else. I never heard anyone running through the halls or people on either side of our rooms. We were upgraded on our room without even being told which was a nice surprise. Only downside is no hot tub or waterfalls anywhere which is really just an opinion. My brother and sister in law recommened the hotel, and I would recommened it to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After a long flight from NYC DIRECT to Honolulu (10HOURS!!!), once we found out where to hail a cab at HNL airport (note,,2 floors down, there is a specific area to get cabs), it was a limo ride to the Modern Honolulu.

Once our cab drive took our carry-on bags out of the truck, we went up the steps to the front desk. (A few bell-hops were out front and greeted us, but did not pick up our bags. I am guessing if we had more bags or bigger luggage, they might have). Joshua at the front desk then proceeded to check us in and it was rather quick. He then told us we were upgraded to a Partial Ocean View on the 10th floor. It was room 1035, right in the corner. Now, mind you, anything free is great. The partial ocean view on the terrace lets you see other Hotels, traffic down below, the Marina, and if you have a camera with zoom, you get the ocean. We did not come here for the terrace view though.

Now here is the tricky part. Joshua had mentioned to us that the room key also serves as the key to use in the elevator to get to your floor. You are supposed to insert your key, wait for a green light then hit your floor. The keys are very sensitive as we would get a lot of red lights, before we get green. This happened with a lot of other travelers as we would see them on the elevator, struggling with this. Maybe this is something Hotel Management/Maintenance would need to look at.

The hotel itself seemed pretty quiet. I have read reviews about noise, but I would say it was perfectly fine by us. Corner room maybe helped with this. The room itself, albeit a little on the small side, was very nice and clean. You enter to a closet, equipped with safe, then turn left to the bathroom (which was also on the small side). The shower has its own door and a clothes line in it. I am not sure all the showers have this, but we did. You pull a knob on the back wall and connect it to the other wall. This came in handy as we were able to dry out bathing suits on there.

The bed was king-sized and the linens were very clean. The TV faced the bed, more towards the right side, if you have looking at the bed. Then there was a fridge, and we requested an empty fridge so that we can store our own drinks, aka water, milk, etc. and they obliged. Not sure if there was a way to control the temperature or not, because our drinks started to freeze. No big deal though. After you pass the tv/desk, there is a chair plus a small round table. Next was the terrace. Two lounger chairs on the terrace.

Next to the bed, on both sides are little wood tables, I believe attached to the wall. One had a dock for your ipod/iphone. The other side had a clock and their phone. You can also request use of an ipad, which we did, and this was very helpful. We were able to map out places, view restaurants, etc. I recommend anyone do this, because the ipad came in very handy. FYI, you are responsible for it, so if you break it, you bought it.

There are two pools. One is an adults only pool on the 2nd floor and this was more of a wading pool. Like a few inches of water. I guess this is just for sunbathers as you can lie on the chairs around the pool or lie on a floatie and get sun. The pool on the 1st floor is about 5 feet deep and has chairs on either side. One morning we went to the pool early and Justin set us up with the towels and told us where is good to sit to catch the sun. He seemed very knowledgeable and helpful. After a few hours, the sun came up and hit us right where we were sitting.The chairs never seemed fully packed either, which was nice, because at some resorts, people "claim" their chairs by leaving their towels on it. This was not the case. If you left towels there, the staff picked them up and it was available again. We ordered food and drinks by the pool one day, and this was not cheap. It may look cool, but save your money.

We used the concierge twice. The concierge is located on the 1st floor, opposite the front desk and to the left. One day we went to Aloha Stadium and the concierge, blonde gentelman, sorry I forgot his name, helped set up a shuttle service, which was round-trip from the stadium back to our hotel. This saved us a few dollars as it was $16 per person. Of course, you have to go to the other destinations, in our case, several people were going to the airport. They pick you up at specific times and have specific times for pick-up. Our driver told us where we would get picked up and we scheduled a time. If we wanted to get picked up earlier then we just had to call them and request an earlier pickup.

The hotel is walking distance from Ala Moana shopping center and YOU NEED TO GO HERE. The food court is quite nice. Very different options than we New Yorkers are used to. Korean BBQ, Pho, Filipino Fried Chicken, etc. We went here twice on our trip, just for the food.

Back to the hotel, the 2nd time we spoke to the concierge, was to print out our boarding passes. Katherine, I believe, was very helpful, as we told her our information and she printed them out for us.

There is also a pretty clean gym (we didn't use), a souvenir store (we looked) and the famous Morimoto restaurant (too $$ for us). We chose to walk around and eat at other restaurants. The nightclub Afflicition is right next door, but I did not see this.

The turndown service was really good. We would leave a tip and a note, ie, if we needed more tissues or more toiletpaper, etc and whenever we came back to the room, the beds were fixed, clean towels were provided and our requests were answered. They suggest leaving dirty towels on the bathroom floor, and any clean towels stay hung up. They provide you with new towels, etc, under the bathroom sink.

Overall, I would say that the Modern was very clean, the people were very friendly and it was a good experience. Minor issues with the elevators and the size of the bathroom/room, make it good not great, but I would definitely recommend this place to couples or young people. Mostly we saw couples by the pool, occasionally a family. This place is not in the heart of it all, but well within walking distance of everything. You get peace and quiet and no one seemed to bother us.

We asked Katherine if we should use the shuttle again to drop us off at the airport, when we were leaving and she recommended a cab, because the shuttle picks up at certain times and we are not really going to save much this time. Cabs are generally hailed by the bellhops outside or you can ask the front desk. Eco-cabs have a contract with the Modern, so you will always see one or two parked in front of the hotel, by the nightclub.

Hope this review was helpful!! Mahalo!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Rory Cosma, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha AngryBirdRed,

Thank you for the detailed review on your recent stay. I hope your first time to our magical islands was memorable and everything you expected! Your review on our botique hotel offers valuable insight for any guest who would be interested in staying with us.

On your next visit to The Modern, I would recommend utilizing our brand new taxi service. Guests traveling to and from the Honolulu International Airport are charged a flat rate of $30 per way. This option allows guests to arrive sooner, worry free and ready to start their vacation.

Mahalo for your wonderul review! We look forward to assisting you in the furutre.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband had a conference to attend at the Hilton, so our 5 month old son and I tagged along for the short trip. We are SO glad we decided to stay at The Modern for our very first family vacation and first trip to Hawaii! Prior to becoming parents, we were accustomed to staying in some chic hotels on our travels. We didn't want to let parenthood force us to choose more "family friendly" accommodations. The staff at the Modern was extremely friendly and made our first foray into vacationing with a baby much easier. From the crib set up with the blankie and teddy bear in our ocean view room to the pool guy who always made sure we had a spot with adequate shade to protect our baby's skin, it was clear that the hotel was, in fact, very family friendly!

Loved the decor...it was clean, sophisticated and modern - think Crate and Barrel on the beach. The food on site was great...enjoyed Japanese breakfast at Morimoto, and the food at the pool was delectable! The coconut lime mojitos were very refreshing. The beach and shopping were only a short walk away from the hotel. The only drawbacks were that the beach was not immediately outside the hotel (but to be honest, Waikiki beach is not so impressive anyway - kinda rocky and crowded) and there was one morning during our stay when a workers union was protesting at the pool. A short disruption that did not detract from an otherwise wonderful stay.

Thank you, Modern Honolulu! We would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a great hotel!
The Modern is away from the main touristy area on Waikiki beach, but that's what made it appealing to us. Check-in was very quick and smooth however our bags didn't reach our room until an hour later which was a little upsetting as all I wanted to do was shower change and relax. We had arrived at the hotel around 10am and after a bad night's sleep on the flight sleeping next to a sick woman, all I wanted to do was shower, change and relax.
We stayed in the Ocean front suite (corner) on the second highest floor which was fantastic!! I loved the simple, modern decor and furnishings but there was small worn or tired areas on some of the furniture. We had great ocean and mariner views from this room, with two balconies however we never used the balcony facing the block of apartments opposite.
We don't normally watch movies on our holidays but I came down with a cold on day 3 and so wanted to order a movie. Unfortunately though this wasn't working in our room and wasn't able to be fixed while I was confined to indoors for 48 hours.
The walk to Waikiki beach around the lagoon is really lovely and you're on the north end of the beach within 5 mins.
We dined at the Morimoto restaurant on the first night and although I was still feeling tired and ate quite lightly, the restaurant and food was top class! The wait staff were super helpful and friendly too.
Breakfast in the pool area is lovely and the service was again of the highest level. Nataly is super lovely!!
Pool lounging was a regular daily routine (when we weren't sight-seeing or shopping!) and it's got a great funky vibe - super cool background music too!
Cannot really fault this hotel though and I highly recommend it, particularly if you're a couple looking for a little more privacy and be away from the busy touristy crowds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Arrived early at HNL airport which is always a plus and got a cab which was a bit confusing at first. We werent sure where but theres a taxi line outside the arrival gate. Just be sure to take the wiki wiki bus shuttle to terminal 2 and go 2 floors down to get this this taxi line. Lucky us we got a limo taxi for us two! We arrived at modern honolulu in ab 15 mins and paid $34. Pricy but i thought itd be more since it was a limo haha.

First impression: definitely nice place!

Joshua checked us in and let us know that we were upgraded to a partial ocean view which still was a 3/4 city view w/ a lanai. It was free so cant complain I guess. Room 1035 is a small corner room but Honolulu is a city much like NY. Very minimalistic and modern for sure. Id love to have my house as simple and clean like the room! Customer service so far has been great. I emailed and live chatted prior to arrival ab having an empty fridge, an ipad and having a room away from the elevators. All were granted!! They did forget my ipad but they came right up after calling concierge.

The staff here are very attentive. Props to Justin by the pool who helped set towels for us up and the ladies who served us drinks. Katherine of concierge also helped us set up an alternative method to going to the Aloha Stadium using Reliable Shuttle for $16/pp round trip. Not bad since a cab is about $34. Much rather prefer the cheaper option. We also asked another lady at concierge to print out our tickets as well. We noticed also a bathroom wall light went out so my bf left on the lights in the bathroom to let the housekeeper know that it was broken, and when we returned to the room, it was fixed!

Negatives were the wifi, the elevators/room keys, overpriced food/drinks, bathroom vent, noise. Wifi was so spotty, either it would be really fast or really slow. While using the ipad, I noticed that if you wanted premium, you would have to pay $10. I feel like hotels should offer free, fast internet. Using the elevators and entering your room, you have to swipe your card. We, along with many others, had problems with this. We would be stuck in the elevator until the sensor read the cards. I know this is a good safety precaution but get it fixed!! Like most hotels in Waikiki area, the food/ drinks are $$$. My tab for 3 drinks + fries = $40. We couldn't tell if our bathroom vent was broken or not but if you are doing #2 in the bathroom, your mate could hear it. We had to turn on the tv super loud LOL. If you are not a city person, you will realize that there is alot of traffic noise that comes up from the street. The windows aren't very soundproof in terms of this. So if you are a light sleeper, I suggest earplugs or drink lots of booze.

Room Tip: Ask for a ipad (if needed) and an empty fridge to put your snacks/ drinks in! Stay clear of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHmgr, Guest Experience Manager at The Modern Honolulu, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha bubblingtruth,

Thank you for your review! I love how your review highlighted every aspect of your experience, beginning with transportation from Honolulu International Airport to our hotel. I'm very pleased that you had a great time. I'd like to thank you for bringing the in room vent, elevator keys, overprived food/drinks, wifi service to our attention. I sincerely apologize if you experienced any kind of inconvenience during your stay. We are continuously striving to ensure that the happiness, saftey and well being of our guests remain at the very top of the priority list. It's your reviews that enable us to see areas of improvement to strengthen our services to you and other valued guests in the future. Mahalo for your review on The MODERN Honolulu. We certainly look forward to assisting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Modern Honolulu is a boutique hotel at the west end of the busy Waikiki strip that tries hard to be a 5* hotel although misses the mark in some respects. To put this review into context, we have travelled around the world and stayed at many hotels, including fabulous boutique hotels. I will list the pros and cons here of the Modern Honolulu. We stayed here for 10 nights at the end of March 2013. It feels like this hotel would have been top notch about 2-3 years ago; however, many areas feel like they are in need of a little TLC now. The hotel guests were mostly couples, aged 28-38 years old. While staying at the hotel, there were loud poolside protests by many of the workers at this hotel for lack of a signed contract. The protests lasted a while and were definitely disturbing to all guests; definitely turned us off from returning.

Location: The MH is at the far west end of the Waikiki strip and because of this, you don’t hear as much noise as you would amidst busy Waikiki. It is a 15 minute walk from the centre of Waikiki. We are very sporty, active people but we found this to be a bit far while on holiday, especially if you wanted to dress up (and wear heels!) for dinner and because it rained a lot while we were there, instead of walking, we ended up cabbing most evenings. The Hilton Hawaiian Village and the Duke Lagoon are on one side of the MH, while on the other side, it is a 10 minute walk to Ala Moana Beach park (which was awesome for swimming and water sports) as well as the large open-air mall – Ala Moana. There is also an ABC store (they are everywhere in Waikiki) for all needs (food, gifts, alcohol, etc.) across the street. MH is not right on the beach, but is only a five minute walk until you reach the beach.

Hotel: The MH strives for a very, of course, modern, minimalist décor; so much so, that the décor is very cold, as a previous review had mentioned. I definitely see what they are trying to do, and each to their own tastes, but we found it to be very white, plain and lacking in personality and therefore, seems quite pretentious in some respects. The lobby is plain and minimalist – it has broken surfboards on the back wall which was awesome and a neat touch! The lobby had a large bookcase that swivels around at night to reveal “The Study” – a chic bar with some neat, classy cocktails and drinks. There is also “The Addiction” nightclub onsite, open Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights; we didn’t go, but it was VERY busy and LOUD on weekends. The MH has two pools, one adults-only pool that is ankle-deep and a small heated salt-water pool, open 24 hours that has speakers beneath the water – which was awesome! The poolside chairs were situated around the pool in such a way that everyone seemed to be staring at each other all the time; this part of the hotel was VERY pretentious to us. The sun lounger mats are stained and in need of replacement; they felt quite gross to lie on, even with a towel. The pool decks are sun-bleached and in need of refinishing. From our room patio, it was evident that some areas required a good scrub. The hotel is 17 floors and has three elevators which were VERY FAST! There is valet parking at this hotel – we didn’t use it because it is $28/night; however, right behind the hotel, there is parking at the harbour for $1/hour.

Service: This is where the hotel excels – the front desk staff and the concierge staff are amazing and cater to your every need. They make restaurant suggestions for you as well as reservations, excursion bookings, etc. – whatever you need! They are pleasant and welcoming. There is poolside bar and food service; but this was very hit and miss. They seemed to cater more toward the big-spenders and forget about others. The poolside staff would lay down towels on loungers for some people and not for others. Again, very pretentious to us. Upon arrival at this hotel, you are supposed to receive a cold drink and cool facecloth (which we saw many guests receive); however, because we arrived at 9PM at night and we were the only two people from our flight coming to this hotel, they felt it wasn’t necessary and didn’t provide this service to us; definitely a nice touch on part of the hotel, but disappointing that this was hit and miss and not offered to us. Another disappointment was that after a long flight and travel to Waikiki, when we arrived at the hotel no one offered to take our bags on arrival, which we saw many people receive. Upon checking out though, we had fabulous service from the bellboys.

Room/Housekeeping: Modern and simplistic; however for a 5* hotel, it felt like the furnishings were quite cheap and the housekeeping was very sub-par. We had an ocean-view room on the 15th floor; although, it faced the Illikai hotel next door more-so than the ocean (so unless you book an ocean view “suite” you don’t have a full ocean view). However, having a room facing the lagoon and harbour was much quieter and pleasant than a city-view, so I would highly recommend the extra money spent to have an ocean-view room. The biggest complaint we had while at this hotel was our room cleanliness. Our fridge had not been cleaned out from the previous guests and was very dirty; it was very small and didn’t work that well – items were not very cold. The carpets, because they are a grey/white, were stained, dirty and torn in some parts. The shower tiles were filled with black mold on the floor and I hated standing on this while having a shower. We found that our bed linens had several blood stains on the top cover from a previous guest and immediately had to ask the staff to remake our bed. For a 5* hotel, this is simply UNACCEPTABLE. The room had a king size bed, soft linens and pillows and safe to secure important belongings and they provide two small bottles of water every day which was great. The room has no drawers or cupboards, so I had to still use my suitcase for some belongings. Rooms do not have a coffee maker upon arrival; you have to call Guest Services and ask for one; which was fine because it is all a part of the attitude the hotel is trying to create (i.e. waiting on you hand and foot, so-to-speak). However, there were no coffee makers available the first morning, so I had to be put on a waiting list……for a coffee maker!!! They forgot to call me when one came available the next morning, so I had to keep calling. The coffee maker is a Keurig coffee maker with all of the accessories needed, which was very cool! Every morning, the hotel also has complimentary coffee in the lobby and the coffee was great! They have turn-down service each night around 5:30pm and deliver a bucket of ice, which was a nice touch.

Restaurants/Drinks: We never tried any of the restaurants onsite, but Marimoto’s has great reviews. There was also poolside food available as well as food in “The Study” in the evenings. The drinks are very expensive onsite at MH ($14/drink), but tasty and of great quality. Next door at the outdoor patio of the Illikai Hotel, we had the best drinks at only $7/drink! We went to many restaurants around Waikiki, so if you’d like suggestions, I’m happy to help – just drop me a message.

Hotel gym: We used the hotel gym several times. We are avid weight lifters and for a hotel gym, this is definitely the best hotel gym we have seen on our travels. Lots of cardio equipment with TVs on each machine, weight machines and even free weights (although not the heaviest) which many hotels do not even have. They also have filtered water, apples and cold peppermint-scented facecloths for gym-guests – nice touch!

All in all, I would give MH a low 4*. The hotel is in need of TLC (a good scrub, refinishing, replacing sunloungers and decks and most of all – refinishing and cleaning the hotel rooms!), the housekeeping needs to be improved big-time, service is hit and miss and we found the poolside manner to be quite pretentious. The front desk and concierge staff are the gems of this hotel – this is where the MH excels. Would we return? No; missed the mark for us.

Room Tip: Ocean-view, higher floors to avoid noise (email them in advance for your preferences); we were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MODERN HONOLULU introduces cosmopolitan chic for leisure and business pursuits in Hawaii. We deftly combine sexy and sophisticated in everything we do. Every element is original; authentic or custom-designed to enhance your experience. Gourmet pleasures, vibrant nightlife, intimate pool settings, exhilarating spa treatments and all that Oahu has to offer - luxury shopping, beaches, nature - blend to create a feeling of progressive luxury, as refined as it is relaxed. We invite you to make the most of every moment with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, BookIt.com, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Modern Honolulu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.