We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Effortlessly Chic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Modern Honolulu to your Saves list
The Modern Honolulu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Effortlessly Chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Modern for 4 nights on our way through to Maui, then for 1 night before flying home. Everyone who worked there were friendly and helpful, and made lots of accommodations for our 9 month old daughter. Suki was especially fantastic, but we couldn't fault anybody.

The location was far enough away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Honolulu, but close enough to walk there. The pool area was lovely, and very relaxing. The amenities were modern, clean and stylish. It was a very "cool" hotel, that wasn't even trying. We loved it, and will stay there again.

Our only issue was the noise. On our initial stay, we were near some kind of service corridor, with the customary bumps and bangs that go with it. On our 2nd stay, we could hear/feel the vibration/noise of what I assume was the night club "addiction", but it might have been from across the road or something. A bit of an issue with a 9 month old, but if you're without kids, who cares, right?

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,722
    474
    143
    43
    29
See reviews for
350
1,098
118
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

OMG, I totally wish I was here again. I loved the service, I fell in love with the modern look and this resort was extremely clean, which is really important to us. I think it cost almost $400 a night. It was worth it, I loved the bar by pool and The Study. I would recommend this, again, again, and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Travelled with kid during summer holiday, stayed 4 nights there.
We're so impressed with the decoration, the view from our room, the food, and the warm help from all hotel staffs.
We really enjoy our stay there.
Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

i stay with my family for 4 nights, i'm really enjoy the stay, from the arrivel (they upgrade our room to keep our family in the same floor:), and the gold key reception boy(name's marc) help us find the shuttle bus to the pearl harbour,.

i spend 2 afternoon and sunset pool, the view, the service is really fantastic, and you can find a cute shop nearby.

no wonder they also have one of the best japanese restaurant in the town, well you have to book it in advance.

the location is great, bit far from waikiki beach, but still walking distance, and i like the beach park next to our hotel, bigger and less people than waikiki.

i'll come back for sure.

Room Tip: sea view definitly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What an amazing hotel. We were so impressed with the staff, the decor, the atmosphere and everything else! Coming back to the hotel after a day out at the beach or the shops, felt like coming home. You will not regret staying at the modern. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Clean, great location & great staff, we will be back!
Perfect for walks on the beach and sunsets.
Miromoto restaruant and great room service.
We found this place on Trip Advisor and will be returning every year as aprt of our Spring vacation.

Room Tip: Free fireworks on Fridays on the ocean side views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing reception we got at this superb ver modern hotel
Suki at the front desk made us so welcome as did all the staff.
We stay in partial ocean view and loved the experience
Beautiful pools and the Morimoto Resturant was first class.
The position is perfect just away enough from the take Waikiki beach
Go to this hotel it's perfect

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#4 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#21 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,828 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MODERN HONOLULU introduces cosmopolitan chic for leisure and business pursuits in Hawaii. We deftly combine sexy and sophisticated in everything we do. Every element is original; authentic or custom-designed to enhance your experience. Gourmet pleasures, vibrant nightlife, intimate pool settings, exhilarating spa treatments and all that Oahu has to offer - luxury shopping, beaches, nature - blend to create a feeling of progressive luxury, as refined as it is relaxed. We invite you to make the most of every moment with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Modern Honolulu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.