We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trendy Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Save Saved
You added The Modern Honolulu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Modern Honolulu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Deal w/ $200 Credit
Ranked #4 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Trendy Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just as expected, I enjoyed my stay with The Modern over the Christmas/New Year period. A clean, spacious, modern and comfortable hotel located less than a 10 minute walk to Ala Moana mall. We stayed at the Ocean View room but found the Partial Ocean View room to be more suitable.

A special shout out to the Front Desk as they were very accomodating and very friendly.

The highlight of my stay was sitting a table in front of President Obama and the First Lady whilst we had dinner. However, the Secret Service prohibited me from taking any photos so I couldn't show you any of the restaurant as the food was fantastic.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay with them again but at low season where room prices would be lower.

Room Tip: Partial Ocean View has quite nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    789
    259
    85
    34
    25
See reviews for
161
552
58
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the modern for 4 nights at the end of December 2012.
We had asked on our booking reservation to have a room on a higher level but unfortunately this did not seem get through to the hotel and we were placed on the fourth floor, this does mean that you do have a lot more street noise should you be on the balcony.
The rooms are very nicely decorated, relaxed feel with all the comforts needed. They have a system which involves you calling up for anything you need, instead of stocking the mini bar. There is a very good coffee machine which you can have delivered to your room for your stay, although there is free coffee and tea in the study on the ground floor in the mornings.
The pools are small but well designed, although I would imagine that the sun loungers would get very full in high season.
The food was delicious, we were expecting large portions but were pleased to find that the portions were well sized and the food very fresh and tasty.
The gym is one of the best I've used in a hotel.
Our only major gripe was the fact that even when we had a "do not disturb" sign on our room door we still had staff knocking on the door.... Very frustrating when your trying to sleep and suffering from jet lag. I did bring this issue up with the hotel and they have promised to rectify this.
All in all the hotel was a nice haven away from the bustling Waikiki with very helpful staff but may feel a bit cramped in high season.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level, probably 6 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISBANE
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Luxury
Modern
Stylish rooms.
Well furnished. "Copenhagen Chic"
Ultra clean
Super confy bed
Great location at quieter end of the 'strip'
Beuatiful freebie toiletries
Only stayed one night before international flight
Stylish chilled swimming pool area
Chci interiors
Very helpful and friendly staff - when I arrived the doorman looked at the tags on my suitacase and called me by name... how cute!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights after Christmas. The location was a short, scenic walk to the beach and the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon. The room was surprisingly spacious and relaxing; and it was very clean and new. We weren't able to get a balcony but we could still open up the large sliding windows, so it was the same as if we had one. We had a partial ocean view even though we were closer to the road. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The drinks and food at the bar were great, recommend the margherita pizza. Absolutely no complaints about anything! Mahalo nui loa to the Modern!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here six nights and enjoyed it! For those who like it stylished and modern i can recomend this to everyone! As many hotels in Honolulu are old this one is very new and nice. Rooms where clean. I will stay here again next time i go to Honolulu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nothing beats warm, welcoming and sincere hospitality...which is exactly what we got at the Modern Honolulu. Every single staff member went out of their way to make our stay as perfect as possible. And it was all done with the friendliest of smiles and perfect grace!
Service aside, the hotel itself was spectacular...all bleached wood and colourful accents. Our room was spacious and serene.
By far the best feature of the hotel was the pool terrace, with big soft white beds lining the water's edge and a gorgeous restaurant serving mouth-watering morsels, including poke ahi (traditional Hawaiian appetizer)
We also enjoyed the fabulous Morimoto restaurant for dinner, and were blown away by the quality of our meal.

Our holiday in Waikiki can only be described as restfully romantic.
Two enthusiatic thumbs up for effortless chic - Mahalo to the Modern Honolulu!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I usually like to stay in beach houses on the windward side when visiting Oahu, but if you must stay in Waikiki, the Modern is in my opinion the best hotel to stay at. Beautiful rooms, beautiful pool area/bar, and best of all, beautiful location (just enough distance from the huge crowds in Waikiki). It doesn't have the overly commercialized feel of the other hotels and the prices are much more reasonable. The decor is stylish but still grounded enough and delivers an open-air island feel that makes Hawaii so wonderful. The pool area is gorgeous during sunset, and the live performance is great too (and not cheesy). Just know that the hotel is by the harbor side of Waikiki, so the pool area is not on the beach. But honestly, waikiki beach is so over crowded that it's infinitely better to venture to beaches in Kailua, north shore, or even the lagoons in Ko'olina instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii
Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MODERN HONOLULU introduces cosmopolitan chic for leisure and business pursuits in Hawaii. We deftly combine sexy and sophisticated in everything we do. Every element is original; authentic or custom-designed to enhance your experience. Gourmet pleasures, vibrant nightlife, intimate pool settings, exhilarating spa treatments and all that Oahu has to offer - luxury shopping, beaches, nature - blend to create a feeling of progressive luxury, as refined as it is relaxed. We invite you to make the most of every moment with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Tablet Hotels, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Modern Honolulu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.