We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Modern Honolulu to your Saves list
The Modern Honolulu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Best Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here with three friends and not one of us could fault it. Friendly/helpful staff, nice modern and clean rooms. The pool was great as well as the service. Even the Eco cabs at the front were a plus :) I have travelled a fair bit and i could say it is probably the best hotel ive ever stayed at. All four of us would not even think twice as to where to stay next time we visit hawaii.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,721
    472
    142
    43
    29
See reviews for
350
1,095
118
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Super modern, clean and relaxing. Great to be a small distance away from the craziness of the main beach but very easy to walk there. Loved being near the calm, beautiful harbour.The hotel is very modern but finds nice ways to make it feel homly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Modern. Our first room (city view room) was a bit too noisy for us, although reception were happy to move us to a quieter room the next night, where there was no noise at all. The pool areas are exceptional, and it was great to have iced water and sorbet brought around without having to ask for it. The rooms were tastefully decorated and spacious The hotels restaurant was also exceptional, the Peanut Butter dessert is a must try! Overall the Modern is a great choice if you want to stay somewhere thats contemporary, modern and a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki.

Room Tip: The first room we stayed in was a city view room on level 4 which was a bit too noisy for us. Recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As a 12 Year old girl my exquite time in honolulu, I stayed in the magnificent Modern Honolulu it was by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in, and i have travelled a fair bit staying in 5 star hotels but The modern was the best. During my time in hawaii it was my first time there and i didn't know what to do so i got up from my beautiful luxury hotel room, down to the concierge where i met Miss Stephanie,she was so helpful telling me all the different types of attractions you could do in hawaii. One of the many things we discussed was how i had a little puppy back home that i was missing so much, Miss Stephanie as a special treat for me, organized to bring in her own puppy for me to play with which i enjoyed a lot. One thing i really enjoyed was sitting by the pool watching the sunset over the harbor enjoying the music above water and underneath the water with my strawberry smoothie in one hand and my spicy fries in the other. At the Modern Honolulu you could not fault the staff at all, from the bellboy Henry to the pool attendant Justin and Derek who made the best strawberry smoothies in hawaii, even to Jocelyn who drove an "echo cab" giving me Aloha hugs every morning as you can see i had the best time in hawaii.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great contemporary hotel with all amenities of a world class hotel especially Morimoti Restaurant.
super hip place to be seen, pool has great vibe to it. Staff were great, and would recommend to any young person looking for something in Waikiki thats not the old fashioned cheesy places

Room Tip: I did hear loud music from my room and cars on main road i stayed in room 624
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Staff (especially concierge and pool) where fantastic. Mostly young professionals. Great pool area and lovely clean rooms most with a decent view. Enjoyed every minute of our stay would definitely recommend...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Il
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Modern for two nights.Our first room was on the street side so I asked for a quiter location, without hesitation the young lady at the front desk changed our room and it was great! The staff where all very nice, beds great and would definitely stay again. Oh and location is good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#4 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#21 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,825 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Honolulu

Address: 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Modern Honolulu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE MODERN HONOLULU introduces cosmopolitan chic for leisure and business pursuits in Hawaii. We deftly combine sexy and sophisticated in everything we do. Every element is original; authentic or custom-designed to enhance your experience. Gourmet pleasures, vibrant nightlife, intimate pool settings, exhilarating spa treatments and all that Oahu has to offer - luxury shopping, beaches, nature - blend to create a feeling of progressive luxury, as refined as it is relaxed. We invite you to make the most of every moment with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Modern Honolulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Modern Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Modern Honolulu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.