We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort DeRussy Beach Park

Fort DeRussy Beach Park
Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 264 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The grounds here are absolutely beautiful. You are basically between Hilton Hawaiian Village(which I recommend walking through) and all the shopping on Kalakau Avenue. Not to mention you can visit US Army Museum for FREE

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    314
    56
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

On my free day, I decided to walk and take in the sights on my way to the Hilton Hawaiian Village, and I passed For DeRussy on the way. The park is enormous and very peaceful. It's a great getaway from all of the hussle and bustle of the traffic. I took the time out to sit and enjoy the scenery and bask in the peace. It was surreal!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An important of Hawaii's security”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

While this is a place one will pass frequently on Waikiki, it's real purpose may not be known to the general public. I was given to understand it is a lovely place for R&R for U.S. troops and their families when on leave. It has little to attract the general public but then that's not it's purpose.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice, relaxing park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Nice shelter for picnics and wonderful rentals for fun activities. The beach is nice in this area. Good place to pick up a volleyball game, too. Lots of space for families and groups

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nice & Quiet Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Luana and our room overlooked this park. In fact, I choose this hotel because of the green space around it. A nice buffer from all the Waikiki chaos. We walked through the park one morning to enjoy the beautiful landscaping and quiet. So lovely. The park opens onto a very wide beach with both the Hale Koa and Hilton Hawaiian Village nearby. There were all kinds of thing to rent - umbrellas, chairs, beach vehicles - and several places to get something to eat & drink.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort DeRussy Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort DeRussy Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort DeRussy Beach Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.