We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Garden Cafe

Siam Garden Cafe
1130 North Nimitz Highway #A-130, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96817
808-523-9338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #290 of 1,940 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
WA
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Good - Great food. We ordered Basil chicken and Tom Yum soup.
Plenty of parking.


Bad - Little far from Waikiki unless you have your transport
Extra charge for rice
Dont accept reservations

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aiea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Very tastey Thai, reasonably priced in a nice cozy atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This restaurant is a smallish place in a strip mall on Nimitz Highway. Parking is limited in front but there's more in the garage. Siam Garden is decorated nicely and is a cozy place to dine. The food is excellent. I'm a Penang Curry freak, and theirs is thick and tastey. Can't get enough even though the portions are adequate. I can't speak for the other dishes, but those with me liked all of it. It could be a romantic spot for a date. It's a great place for a group of four. Larger groups are a little more awkward because of the size. If it wasn't so far from my house, I'd eat there once/week. The service is good, not great though. But, the draw is the food and the atmosphere, which is better than any of the five other Thai restaurants I've been to on Oahu.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good restaurant for a simple family dinner.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We dined here on a week night and it was busy as usual but luckily we didn't have to wait. We started with the stuffed chicken wings, spring rolls and fried shrimp rolls. For our entrees we ordered the fish fillet, yellow curry with chicken (mild) , Siam Jungle Curry with pork (medium) and of course sticky rice. I think you need to specify that you want the appetizers before the entrees. I always assume that appetizers arrive first. We got the wings first then the fish, spring rolls, curries with rice and when we were almost done eating the shrimp rolls arrived. I actually thought they forgot about the shrimp. It would have been fine if they did. We enjoyed the Jungle curry a lot more than the yellow curry. I used to enjoy the yellow curry but the potatoes were too undercooked this time. We all agreed to just order the Jungle curry next time, no crunchy potatoes. Overall the food is good and I think the price is reasonable.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best place in Hawaii for authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Siam Garden was recommended by some close friends who spent a lot of time in Thailand in the past few years.
The food is awesome! Authentic Thai food that is well-priced and delicious. We’ve been back almost every other week and everything we’ve tried so far is great. My personal favorites are the spring rolls, green papaya salad and any curry bowl. The portions are such that two people can share a dish. We typically order family style when it’s my husband and I, or with a small group of friends.
The service is above average. The servers are attentive, friendly and very helpful. The kitchen gets their dishes out quickly, even when it is crowded and there is a constant stream of takeout orders.
It is not that large and it has always gotten busy. If there is a line, the wait will be worth it. If you are tight on time, then do take out. Free parking is plentiful with some right outside the entrance.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mybellyisfull
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food off the beaten path!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

This was a recommendation by a friend. The selection is standard Thai, and the prices are reasonable. Although the Panang curry was more peanutty than I've had at most places - the dish, and all the others we had, was very flavorful and portioned well. The fried calamari appetizer was very fresh and tasty. We had good service, but it felt like the waitresses were a little cold. All in all I liked the place a lot and would definitely go back when in town!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Garden Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Siam Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Garden Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.