We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable walk through the USS Bowfin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park

USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park
11 Arizona Memorial Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96818-3104
808-423-1341
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$118*
and up
Ranked #8 of 124 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Military Museums, Museums
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable walk through the USS Bowfin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

After touring the USS Arizona we had time to take the audio tour of the sub. It was an easy 30 min. walk through, not crowded, and very informative. You can really get a feel for how cramped it would be as a crew member on that ship! We had just a few minutes free to quickly walk through the museum, which is larger that expected with many artifacts, detailed models and more pertaining to submarines, and we needed a good hour or more to fully appreciate it. Admission is free with purchase of the USS Bowfin and worth visiting if you have time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    406
    66
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Learning more about historical events is a must for everyone. Take the time to visit. We purchased a ticket for Pearl Ha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Learning more about historical events is a must for everyone. Take the time to visit. We purchased a ticket for Pearl Harbour, Arizona, and Bowfin in one and its was well worth the price. And make sure you do the audio tours.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the self-guided tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

As a ex-Navy man I really liked the walk through the hull of the submarine. It's very similar to the setup in SF Harbor. Having the self-guided narration in the personal headset was a bonus, as I could make the tour at my own pace. Everything was up close and in great condition.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Very Good Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I love touring submarines and the USS Bowfin is very well done. The boat (it is a submarine so you can call it a boat) is right next to the USS Arizona visitor’s center. They provide an audio tour that is very well done. The tour is simply laid out and you can see everything quite easily. The only issue is that it is crowded and people trying to take 800 pictures get in the way. The area around the sub is nice and the memorial to all the subs the US Has lost is very well done. The museum is small and average at best. I recommend this tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice sub tour.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Grab the headphones for the self-guided tour. It will give you an appreciation for the cramped quarters of sub vets. Make sure you are confident you can squeeze through a sub door, as you will have to do this about 5 times.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.