We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“USS Bowfin Submarine and Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park

USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park
11 Arizona Memorial Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96818-3104
808-423-1341
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$12*
and up
USS Bowfin Submarine Museum and Park
Ranked #8 of 254 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pearl City, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“USS Bowfin Submarine and Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I highly recommend you take the time to check out the Bowfin. I believe it was the cheapest area to visit in Pear Harbor. (And there's even a local's discount) They have an audio tour of the sub with a very comfortable headset and the best material I've ever heard on an audio tour. I didn't spend a lot of time in the museum, but it seemed well set up with lots of cool models and pictures to accompany the historical information. Overall I'd highly recommend you check it out!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank wwjdwyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great museum and a real sub too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The museum has many different parts. The museum has a lot of displays and unique mementoes of US submarines in WWII and later. The Bowfin is a beautifully restored WWII submarine with a famous legacy. In addition, there are outside displays including a sub conning tower, 40 mm antiaircraft gun, torpedoes, missiles, and a Japanese mini-sub. There's also a small snack stand and eating area, and a gift shop. If you're going to Pearl Harbor, you have to see this, the USS Missouri, the Pacific Aviation Museum, and the Arizona Memorial. Plan on spending most of the day here!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walt813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, Ca
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The chance to visit the submarine fulfilled one of my husband's boyhood fantasies having grown up on World War II movies. It is so hard to imagine living in those closed and cramped quarters and performing one's job. It was narrow and dark, but that is how the men aboard it lived and it would make no sense to beautify it to make it more comfortable for tourists.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank knitsforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“One man suicidel torpedo there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was not to pleased by the submarine,we were tripping over every inch of it,it was too narrow,dark and stinky of gasolin?paint? chemicals? Lots of torpedos at the park,especialy was scary the one man suicidel torpedo.It is crazy what people would do.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kaviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sub Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Really enjoyed this part of the tour and have a new found appriciation for the men and women who serve at sea

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing