We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of a life time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Rigger

Waikiki Rigger
2161 Kalia Road, Between the Waikiki Shore and the Halekulani Hotel, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Outrigger Catamaran) (Waikiki)
(808) 922-2210
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #79 of 281 activities in Honolulu
Type: Boat Tours
Attraction Details
Melbourne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“An experience of a life time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The turtles are amazing, and you get so close! Pay the money for an experience of a life time, you won't regret it. Plus a bit of sailing to top it off - perfect!

Bring your own flippers - these aren't supplied and there's a strong current off Waikiki.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    21
    5
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
LaSalle, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome afternoon adventure for the family...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great to do in the afternoon if you have children, as opposed to the sunset or dinner cruise which charges for each person even if they drink or not. Fun if you love to do a relaxing sail with views of Honolulu and lighthouse.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not what I expected.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Lets see choppy water and unable to walk around. The boat went out then in. Older folks scared. Lol ok it wasn't bad if you are the adventure type but I thought it would be smother and more party opposed to white knuckling the net I was sitting on.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Timesaver! - 2 'Must do's' in 1 package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We had planned partial days fir a boat ride & snorkle session but these guys allowed us to do both in 1 shot.

We went out on a mid-morning combo snorkel / sailing excursion for a total of about 2.5hrs of fun. Not sure if we lucked out, but we booked our trip the same day.

They provide everything you need, including instruction for 1st timers (which we were). We saw number of different reef fish but the stars of the show were giant sea turtles. We got to swim around & even under these magnificent creatures. Unforgettable experience that was about the perfect duration it should be.

Tips: Bring a hat, sunscreen, &
a beach towel (optional but handy). Flippers would be another optional item, especially for thI would consider bringing next time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You want to see turtles? This is where!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

They bill it as a snorkel / catamaran trip and it was a blast. We saw a bunch of very large green sea turtles getting their shells cleaned by trigger fish. The crew gave the snorkeling rookies in our group great instruction and kept a close eye.
After what I felt was a very adequate time snorkeling with the turtles, we went sailing. Our catamaran was a former racing boat and Captain Dave gave us a great ride. As a added bonus, a large pod of dolphins raced along our bow wake. We had a blast.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikiki Rigger also viewed

 

Been to Waikiki Rigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Rigger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Waikiki Rigger to your Saves list